We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An island delight”

Island Grill at the Mandalay
Ranked #23 of 136 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceanfront outdoor casual dining restaurant open 7 days a week! Join us at our new oceanfront bar everyday for happy happy hour from 4-6pm and we offer live music.
Hillsdale, Nj
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An island delight”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This spot right on the water with live music every day has a delightful menu. The service is relaxed as is everything in the island and the meals are large. A real bargain!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    241
    114
    72
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, okay food”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

First off it's entirely possible we had the wrong expectations arriving for dinner. If you're want to get drunk on at the bar, maybe this will be awesome. We were recommended to the Island Grill by our hotel, it sits on the water and could be really great. It was dark by the time we got there and the restaurant was a little over half full. There was a large, loud group nearby and a house band that was playing way too loud. If the food was excellent this would have been okay, unfortunately it wasn't. I ordered a poorly spiced seafood pasta dish (it may have been on special). The food was adequate for the price, and I'm generally not very picky. Perhaps we ordered the wrong things, or perhaps they hope that you come and get too drunk to care.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, great seafood.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A little tucked away, managed to drive past a couple of times before we found it, but it was well worth it when we did.
The restaurant is on a small jetty/pier over the water so you get a great view of the bay.
We are not really seafood people but both decided to go for fish sandwiches and they were both excellent.
The server was quick and efficient but we didn't feel hurried.
I really don't think you can beat a nice meal with a beer whilst watching the sea, very relaxing.
Will be back in August.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unforgiven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
661 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good food,nice waterfront location”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We recently ate at the Island Grill. We enjoyed the food very much. My wife had a shrimp salad that she said was great. It sure looked good. I had a blue cheeseburger that was very good. We liked the location next to the water. Their were lots of fish close to our table to watch. Kenny provided very enjoyable entertainment. He was very good. We will return the next time we are in Key Largo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food huge portions”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a great lunch here. Huge portions. Fresh seafood. Quick friendly service. Lovely views of the water. This was an unexpected treat.

Helpful?
Thank stbrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grill at the Mandalay also viewed

 

Been to Island Grill at the Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing