We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront, Excellent Tuna Nachos”

Island Grill at the Mandalay
Ranked #27 of 135 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceanfront outdoor casual dining restaurant open 7 days a week! Join us at our new oceanfront bar everyday for happy happy hour from 4-6pm and we offer live music.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Waterfront, Excellent Tuna Nachos”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Island Grill at the Mandalay has without a doubt the best Tuna Nachos that I have had in the Keys. Open water views with outdoor seating under cover. Come by car or boat. Live music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    236
    113
    72
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food - good value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very good dinner at the restaurant - tuna and chicken - both very tasty and well prepared.

Good entertainment - we enjoyed the evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This was the restaurant next to our accommodation, and after a long drive we needed food so this fitted the bill, a fish menu , live music , view of the ocean. Well no beer list was available, I chose from a poster that was displayed, only to be told 2 mins later that they were out of this beer, chose again from another advert, again later to be told that beer was unavailable as well, eventually shown 3 bottles and asked to chose, why not have a list and knowledgeable staff. Onto the food shrimp, scallops and Mahi Mahi in a marinara sauce, this tasted of tomato and not much else, my wife's fish was abit dry as well. So this is apace that could be better

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marklh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Disappointing First Key Largo Dinner”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived at Key Largo and were greeted with a 10% off coupon at the Mariner's Resort for the Island Grill. Since it was right next door, we thought it was the place to go. The only thing good about our evening however, was the terrific guitar playing from the man in a white tank top t-shirt. Three of our 5 entrees were our waitress' favorite and all 3 were bad. The worse was my shrimp and grits low country entree. That dish ranks right up there as the worst dish I have ever had. After talking to several people from the Key Largo area, we learned that the other Island Grill in the Islamorada area is the one to go to. That probably is a safe bet because this one was quite bad. Maybe, just maybe, the cook had a bad night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Dinner.... YUCK!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went here for Easter dinner with another couple and it was disgusting. Two people got steak dinners and both came with brown dried up baked potatoes that were absolutely inedible. When we asked the server to replace them with mashed we were told the kitchen said no because they were saving them in case any one ordered a Ham dinner. The green beans were cooked until they were black and one 27.00 steak was nothing but Grizzle and the other was raw. The seafood pasta had chunks of raw fish in it (very dangerous) and the special Ham dinner was from the morning buffet and was dried out like old shoe leather. I was do disappointed that I talked my friends into coming here for dinner and that we spent so much money on inedible food. The two positives our waiter was really great and the Singer was very entertaining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjshaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grill at the Mandalay also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Grill at the Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing