We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great food”

Island Grill at the Mandalay
Ranked #31 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $7 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oceanfront outdoor casual dining restaurant open 7 days a week! Join us at our new oceanfront bar everyday for happy happy hour from 4-6pm and we offer live music.
McMillan, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This wonderful outdoor restaurant, right on the water, served up 2 excellent dishes for us. The mahi mahi and the shrimp dinners were tasty and perfectly done. The coconut cake was dense and good. Great service, impressive covered dining area, and a lovely guitar player/jazz singer during dinner (J. McKenna).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jengle42453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    227
    111
    69
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere.”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The newly opened Mandalay is a great spot for families! It is situated on the ocean, outside with a canopy overhead with pretty lights. It is a very nice atmosphere day or night. The menu is same for lunch and dinner and there is a variety to choose from. The food is fairly priced and very tastey!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnsonMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We visited the newly reopened Mandalay Oceanfront Grill & Tiki on January 21, 2012 for a late lunch and had a great experience. There was live music, excellent food, and the view/atmosphere was wonderful. We split several appetizers and they all were very good- If they have the "tuna nachos" appetizer special you wont be disappointed. The conch and roasted corn cakes and the smoked fish dip were very tasty as well. Our server and the manager were both very friendly. We live less than 2 hours away and have added Mandalay to our list of places to visit when we are down in the keys. Go for the great food, live music and the waterside outdoor location and you will have a great time in the keys!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JetNorFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, terrific service and an inventive menu”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Went here for dinner during a recent trip the Keys and was pleasantly surprised. The waterfront location is great; the atmosphere is pleasant though simple and the live music is a nice touch. If we had any gripes at all about the atmosphere, it would be that some in our group found the lighting a tad too dim for evening dinner. No biggie!

As for the food, whether it was fish, beef or poultry, everything was cooked to perfection. Presentation was straightforward, but the taste...sublime! Service was prompt and professional (make sure to pay attention during the list of specials, they have a ton) Prices were not out of line for the area.

TIPS:

If you're looking for a sunset dinner experience, this restaurant won't provide you that view, but I'd say it's WELL worth watching the sunset and then heading here for dinner.

At the moment, this restaurant does not have a full liquor license, so you'll need to get your Margaritas someplace else. That said they do have a decent beer and wine selection including some local brews.

If this review was helpful, see my other submissions for other Florida Keys restaurant and hotel reviews from Ocean Reef to Key West. I did a lot of research before hitting these places, so I may be able to save you some time!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylorplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm Oasis on a windy evening!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

What a nice evening . We are repeat visitors to The Keys and were delighted to find Mandalay re-opened. The manager visited each table and gave us a warm welcome. He genuiinely enjoys his job and makes everyone feel at home. The fare was diverse enough to make everyone happy. When we thought it couldn't get any better a really talented vocalist joined the party and belted out familar tunes , one after another. She had the crowd joining her in every tune. Wow, What a great evening! Don't miss it!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grill at the Mandalay also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Grill at the Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing