We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Lake Panasoffkee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I almost canceled my reservations, because the reviews were so bad. Its not a resort, more of a older hotel on a nice marina. Room small, windows didnt work. Employees were friendly, small breakfast, clean pool, parking horrible. This hotel needs updated, but I would compare to an older Laquinta on a marina. We had no issues. Defintetly expect to park in the abandoned parking lot of resteraunt. Also, expect to here all noises from every room beside yours.
I would stay here again for the money, reasonable price for the Keys.

Room Tip: room 106, noisy and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    228
    189
    107
    58
See reviews for
204
260
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

OUR STAY AT THE HOTEL WAS FANTASTIC...BUT... the marina part of it was distasteful. I was overcharged for the dock-age of our boat. after speaking to Bryan and being told it was $30 a night i was charged $60 a night. at the time of reservations i asked for an email confirmation and was told they did not have that capability.he then informed me that their website say $3.00 a foot but that is not what is told when you call and get transferred over to the marina. so when i was overcharged it was my word against his. there must have been a misunderstanding somewhere but the point is that he handled it poorly and rudely. I was told "it is what it is" which is not a polite way of handling a situation. i say when you don't have backup as an email for your customers then offer a credit or a discount. i pay what i have to pay but i don't appreciate being treated rudely. i wont be using that marina anymore but most definitely will stay at the hotel very nice staff and nice rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celeste V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff very helpful . Rooms very nice and reasonably priced . Very nice pool area . Free parking and good wi fi . Rooms are spacious and clean. Nice bar at the end of lane . It's a shame pool bar not operating .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

As a single guy traveling with my little dog buddy, this place was all I could ask for. The property understandably works to attract a lot of the diving crowd and, as such, some of the lower-priced rooms are probably a little more dormitory-like. I booked a king room overlooking the marina (#223 to be specific) and it was nice and clean with a microwave and one of those medium-sized refrigerators. I was there Tuesday-Friday in mid-June and parking was not a problem at that time, but the hotel was not full. There is a continental breakfast available, but me and the dog always walked over to the Key Largo Conch House for the early meal. Sharkey's, the dive bar next door, had very friendly service, decent beachy entertainment, pretty darned good food and a nice beer selection, notably a good IPA (Hop Gun) from Funky Buddha and a pale ale (Invasion) from Cigar City. Fishing and dive boats all right there. It may not be "uptown" but it's pretty down to earth.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 223.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaDan33602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although this resort appears beautiful in the pictures, it is old, outdated and faded. The parking situation is terrible - not enough spaces for hotel guests. The Keys are a party place yes, but at 2 am the noise from next door (paper thin walls) and from outside on the shared balcony, was disturbing. Cars raced up and down the street most of the night. There is little to no visible security on the premises. The room was passable, but for the money - not worth it. No microwave and an old beat up room fridge that ran noisily all the time. The kid that checked me in obviously needed a lesson in good customer service. He seemed quite bored and less than enthused. (Although I did encounter a young woman behind the desk several days later a bit more friendly and willing to help.) There is an abandoned restaurant next door which really was very creepy. The parking lot you might be forced to use is several blocks away from some of the hotel units and you must walk to the hotel via an old boarded walkway which transverses the abandoned restaurant. Overall, if I had to give this a score from 1-10 I'd give it a 2.5. only because for the most part the room was clean. Hope this helps someone avoid a really disappointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneheart58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I personally don't understand how anyone could like this hotel. BEWARE - The "double room" means 2 DOUBLE BEDs, not 2 separate rooms as it entails. Seems like False Advertising to me.

To start off it's parking area is TINY. Maybe 20 spots, and if you get there later in the night, there is nowhere to park. Don't even think about going out for dinner, because your spot will not be there when you get back.

Second, the beds are the worst beds I have ever slept on in a hotel. I have stayed at some "questionable" places, and these beds were worse. So hard, and uncomfortable. I have never had back problems, and yet the first night I slept there, my back hurt for hours after waking up.

The view could be nice, but there is a thick wall of palm trees separating you from the docks on the second floor. Paid the extra money for a "marina" view, and could barely see the boats as they went by.

Lastly, the area is lovely, but dead. In the middle of summer, there wasn't anyone around. It was almost like a ghost town, but I definitely see why.

Again, I have no idea why this hotel has all of the good reviews. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: "Double Room" means 2 double beds No point in getting Marina View VERY hard beds Small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were a group of 5 that got together for some diving with Ocean Divers, which is very conveniently located right next door. We rented a suite which had two bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with two twins. There was also a fold out couch and a Murphy bed, kitchen and two baths. When you split the price between 5 people it is really a good value and we really did not feel crowded. The maid was great about bringing us extra linens.
The pool was well maintained and clean with a large concrete pad and lots of lounge chairs. I have stayed here before and had a similar positive experience. I know they run a lot of specials with Ocean Divers so it would be helpful to ask ahead for this discount if you plan to do some diving. Being on the marina, they are very convenient to diving, fishing, etc. Overall very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#9 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
5.2 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Property: Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Address: 527 Caribbean Blvd, Key Largo, FL 33037-4342
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing