We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too pricey, not clean, no sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Too pricey, not clean, no sleep.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Upon entering bathroom, found a dead roach in middle of the floor.

Upon taking out the murphy bed for my son to sleep on I noticed the filth behind the bed. . Dog hair, dust, dirt and rodent droppings lurked under there. The bed was also broken and my son had to spend the night sleeping on an incline. It was a bit cold for Florida that evening and there were no extra blankets so I called the front desk and requested some. They came about 40 minutes later so we had to stay awake to wait for the blankets.

There is a bar just down the parking lot. It was nice to hear the music from about 7:00 to 9:30 however, as the night progressed, patrons of the bar wandered into our parking lot . This continued to go on until about 1:15 a.m. when I finally got out of bed and went downstairs to ask these people to leave or be quiet. That went well! A bunch of drunk girls and boys (college students) who think they own the world. I'm sure this happens alot with the bar right there so, I wondered, why don't they have a security guard there to ensure that their guests have a good night's sleep and to keep people from wandering from the bar onto the property? For the price you pay for the room, you would think they could afford a security guard from 9:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. to control this problem.

The next morning while laying in bed I noticed my husband's feet were really really black on the bottom. He had recently purchased some new flip flops and I thought maybe that was the culprit. He went to the bathroom and cleaned the bottom of his feet. (see picture of towel). When he came out of the bathroom, he saw the bottom of my socks and said he did not think it was the flip flops but, it was the carpet in the bedroom. I wore my socks the evening prior around the room because, as I said, it was a bit chilly that evening. My socks were absolutely gross!! (see pictures). Obviously, the carpet in the bedroom has never been cleaned. When I used a wet wash cloth and rubbed it on the carpet, it turned black. I'm thinking the carpet needs to be replaced or, at least cleaned.

I decided to take a shower as I did not take one the evening before. Everything in the shower went fine until I got out. It appeared that the tub had been replaced recently and when I got out of the shower there was water all over the floor and upon close inspection I noted it was seeping out from the tub area by the wall where the plumbing was. I had to use most of our towels to clean up the water. Thank God the cleaning cart was parked right outside our sliding glass doors (blocking our view of the water) cause I was able to take more towels so my husband and son would have towels to dry off with after their shower and clean up more water.

When I opened the sliding glass doors to get the towels from the cleaning cart, the door was stuck and I looked up to see if there was some other lock for the door, which there was. Upon doing this, I noticed that the frame for the verticle blinds probably have never been dusted/cleaned. There was a good 1/2 inch or more of dust/dirt/grime all along the frame.

Several of our loovers on the windows of the unit did not work and were closed shut so we could not let in the Florida sunshine during the day. The "kitchen" is a sink and fridge and microwave. If you plan on cooking something, it better be microwaveable. The TV's are old as well. The towels had several stick-tights on them (those pesky little green stickers in Florida). You would think that once the towels are laundered and being folded, housekeeping would pull them off. The bed linens had stick-tights as well as human hair. When I pulled the covers back that first evening, there were several hairs and stick-tights lurking. The sheets appeared clean but, when they made the bed they did not even brush off the hairs or pull the stick-tights off that lingered there.

I just think for what we paid for the room, it should have been better. This place is in need of Hotel Impossible to come in and give them some advice.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the bar that is at the end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzbaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    249
    212
    119
    66
See reviews for
235
295
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Se stayed the frist night of our trip to the keys. The room we got was not very nice. Old and not very well maintained. The price is reasonable, however spending another 50 bucks or so is well worth the money. The hotel is located at a channel. No access to beaches. The sorrounding re is not very nice. A noisy bar was located close to our room. We recommend to travel further south. Bahia Honda has a very nice beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frodroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed one night. The place is next to a channel. Convenient for boat trips etc. No access to beaches. The room was old and not very nice. The sorroundings are not very charming. There are plenty better places further south. Our advice is to travel on to the keys further south.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frodroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Since we were only staying one night, we did not have high expectations. However, when we checked in they asked if we wanted to switch the two separate bedrooms for an apartment with two bedrooms. It was awesome! Lots of room right on the marina, which was so much fun watching the boats come in with the fishermen and divers. We even saw the original African Queen which was filmed in Key Largo. The staff was pleasant and seemed very laid back.

The free breakfast was simple but good. It was also nice to sit out by the channel watching the boats drinking coffee and eating our breakfast.

Overall, great surprise!

Room Tip: If you have two couples share the two bedroom apartment, it was better than I expected. Wrap around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunder2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It has a great location, the rooms are a bit old but a offered a great price for March. Great service, friendly staff, parking for boat & trailer is included. It has a Beautiful view of the Marina with the sunset behind! Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecy_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The room we were given had a living room with dining area and kitchen, separate bedroom with two room bathroom. While it was large and could sleep six with pullout couch and Murphy bed it needs an update. It was on the canal and the complex had a large pool with lighted and landscape walkways. The parking was lacking but they do have an overflow lot next to the restaurant/ bar but is far from the rooms

Room Tip: Canal view is better than parking lot view but you will be sharing the balcony with next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed over a weekend for three nights to visit with friends who were on a boat at the marina.
The hotel was busy over the weekend with families that came down from Miami. By Monday, the hotel was very peaceful. They serve a nice complimentary breakfast in the morning with tables outside overlooking the marina. The staff were very pleasant. request a room overlooking the water. The corner rooms have room on the balconies for sitting outside enjoying all of the boat activity. There are several good restaurants with in walking distance, and boat charters and day trips available right at the marina

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Property: Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Address: 527 Caribbean Blvd, Key Largo, FL 33037-4342
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing