We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect wedding day here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding day here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We were looking to find a nice, quiet place to have an intimate wedding. I work for the airlines, so we looked all over the Carribean for that perfect spot. My spouse found Kona Kai and it was perfect. We arrived late and Tracey had a note with directions and a key in the room with the light on. Tracey was so helpful in getting us an officiator and she upgraded us for free. We had our wedding on the dock and the wonderful Miss Veronica took photos that turned out beautifully. There was a lot to do like kayaking and table tennis and we relaxed in the hammock. The room was lovely and perfect for us. I would agree that the only drawback was not having wifi in the room. Other than that, we couldn't have asked for better service, hospitality, and scenery. We appreciated our privacy and the assistance of the staff when we needed it. The local restaurants were fabulous and gave us a discount because we stayed at Kona. We would recommend this place to anyone who wants to truly get away and spend quality time with a loved one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    46
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
332
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We booked Kona Kai based on TA reviews. It is a small property on the Southbound side of Route 1, in an okay location. The good: the people in the office, Tracy and Denise, were wonderful. They went of their way to show what was available at the resort, and give advice on local attractions and restaurants. The property has a tennis court, a paddleboat, and some kayaks, all of which can be used at no extra charge. There is a small pool, sauna, and an area with hammocks, lounge chairs, and a ping pong table. We were given a free upgrade to a suite, since the property was not full. The not so good: the office is only open from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. At other times you are on your own, though a number is provided for emergencies. The bedrooms are on the small side, and the bathrooms are really tiny. The suite adds a full kitchen, but the refrigerator is so loud that we had to unplug it in order to sleep. Also, the property is close to the road, and we were kept awake by trucks rolling by. There is free wireless Internet, but it does not work from most of the rooms; you have to go outside to a hot spot. There are no phones in the room, but there is one outside for free local calls. Our cell phones did not work anywhere on the property, and in fact the batteries drained overnight. There is no beach, but you can look out over the bay from a deck.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmrdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

We rented seven rooms for our closest family and friends and were married at sunset. This resort management was spectacular in their professional yet friendly greeting of our guests. They went out of their way to ensure our guests were welcomed and checked up to see if we needed anything. They informed the other guests of our wedding service (which was a short service) so no one was taken off guard by our arrangements. Our guests all have commented on what a peaceful, tropical and beautiful resort Kona Kai is. This was our second trip to the resort and just as our first trip, this was also a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Park, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

In the many years we have been visiting the Keys, I am only sorry that until now, we missed this gem. We will be back whenever we can!!!

No small detail has been overlooked. The suite was stocked with books, CD's, personal care items, and little touches that spoke of care and thoughtfulness. The grounds are a tropical splendor. Just ask the staff about a plant and you will be rewarded with a smile and a knowledgable answer that would warm the heart of any Master Gardener!

There is nothing better than a Keys sunset and a glass of wine shared with the local herons from the dock or beach at this locale!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aesallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

My family, a party of six, travel quite a lot and mostly stay in luxury accomodations. It was unanimous that this little place was a favorite. What makes it particularly special is the staff there. Tracie and Denise were outstanding! They take every opportunity to be of service and make stay as enjoyable as possible. The grounds of this small boutique hotel are very beautiful and well kept. We did yoga on the beach front and had incredible massages by Paradise Yoga. Played tennis and frolicked in the pool and relaxed in the jacuzzi. Also were picked up by boat for our eco-tour of the Everglades.
WE can't to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster sc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

Oh my, we spent another glorious time at the Kona Kai! It never fails us and is by far of all our travels, the nicest, quietest and friendliest venue on our docket. We had not been for a couple of years but soon as we arrived, it was as we never left.The staff is magnificent and the landscape is awesome. There is so much attention to detail and the wants of the visitor.
The Kona Kai folks know and we know that we will be back soon.
Belks
Lancaster SC

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We have stayed at the Kona Kai several times and every time we return we are impressed by the beauty of the surroundings, accomodations and the people who work there. We have stayed in a variety of their rooms and suites and they are all very comfortable and attractive. The grounds are beautiful and the beach area is a wonderful place to watch the sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock Reef Resort
Rock Reef Resort
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Property: Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing