We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be sorry”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 30, 2010

If you want privacy and relaxation in a tropical setting, you will love it here. There are only 11 bungalow style rooms (some suites) so you won't see a lot of other people. The sunsets are spectacular and the dock is large providing intimacy even if others are on the deck. Everything is "clean". Everything is in excellent condition - nothing used or worn from the pool towels to the hammocks. We stayed in the kiwi room which I would recommend (comes with a frig for keeping beverages cold). If you plan on cooking then go with one of the suites. Linens are changed every 3rd day but you can request daily changes which we did, and the maid did a superb job in caring for our room each day. My husband and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfer142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 468 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

After back to back blizzards and a work schedule that had us texting more than talking, hubby and I were desperate for a decompression get-away. Kona Kai certainly fit the bill. Lush and tropical, tucked away on the bay side of Key Largo, Kona Kai is a private little enclave of cottage style suites. Ours had a full kitchen and sitting area in addition to separate bedroom and bath. We didn't cook, but enjoyed having a fridge and micro for drinks and snacks. Every need is anticipated, from music and toiletries to wine glasses and restaurant picks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite the record cold temps that week. The adult only policy afforded the peace and quiet we were looking for to truly unwind and reconnect. Loved it, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps212md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Kona Kai and had a wonderful time. We have traveled quite a bit and I can't remember ever having such a relaxing, rejuvenating vacation. The grounds are lush and full of plants and critters. Makes you feel like you are in a tropical paradise. The staff is helpful in every way. Everywhere you look there is a new little area to explore and relax. It is not a huge place but certaintly big enough. We look forward to returning there next year. If your lucky enough to be at Kona Kai, your lucky enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Kona Kai Resort on Key Largo is a small place on the Bay side of Key Largo, with wonderful staff, and a beautiful site. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage which included a fully equipped kitchen, and though we didn't cook, it was great to have a fridge for breakfast foods and to chill white wine. The accommodations have all been renovated and are lovely inside. They supply organic toiletries for guest use, and also cold water and fresh fruit in a fridge by the pool. We also had a nice patio area just outside our unit for our use. Nice for relaxing and having breakfast or a glass of wine.

The resort has a tropical feel from all the lovely and fragrant plantings and so many little touches that make it special, from a crocodile bench to painted covers which disguise the pool filters. The site is a botanical garden in the making.

At sunset, the dock is filled with guests, each afforded their own set of chairs, chaises, or table. We found the place to be filled with very friendly folks, including a wonderful staff whose mission seems to be to help every guest make the most of their stay, with great recommendations on tours, restaurants, and attractions. I was also appreciative of the kayaks there for guest use. And the hammocks were a relaxing bonus under the palms. It was quite hot, but there were lots of lovely places to hang out in the shade.

Kona Kai is a beautiful small hotel that was perfect for our short getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Looking for a quiet place to stay in Key Largo to get some much needed R & R. Found it at Kona Kai. Individual cottages with lush gardens and a wonderful pool. Especially like the free chilled bottle water available at the pool. The staff could not have been nicer and the place was CLEAN inside and out. These people take great pride in their establishment. Was met on check in day with Ronnie, one of the owners, and she could not have been sweeter. Gave us alot of information as to what to do in Key Largo. Her map was with us all the time and it was very useful. She had great tips as to where to eat. Besides the pool, they have some great hammocks to lay and swing in. They offer free kayaks and they have a lovely sitting area by the beach.
I would go there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAB3191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with a trip to Key West, stopping at the Kona Kai on the way down and liked it so much we stayed there on the way back too. It was HOT on the streets of Key West, but the breeze off the water at the Kona Kai beach made our stay there very pleasant. Next time we want to skip Key West and stay consecutive days at the Kona Kai. Veronica and the staff had the resort grounds immaculate. Every day we woke to freshly raked beaches...they were spotless. There are also so many beautiful plants and trees to enjoy. When we arrived Tracey and Charlie wished us a happy anniversary and in our cottage we found an anniversary card from the owners. Everyone was pleasant. We found that other residents were just as happy as we were with the Kona Kai and celebrated their good fortune in discovering the resort. This made for good conversation. We ate at Sundowner at sunset one evening and also at Ballyhoos right across the street fron Kona Kai. We will definitely be back to stay multiple days.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgmore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

If you want to stay at a place where you are NOT one of the many, this is the place for you. Tracey greeted us with a smile and warm welcome when we checked in (even though we were a bit late). Charlie was (is!) one of the most pleasant people we have ever met. Both are excellent listeners - making sure they directed us to places that fit our personalties - whether that was for diving or dinner or just to have fun. In fact, the entire staff worked hard to make sure that our experience was the best - and it was! We have come home and recommended the Kona Kai to our family, friends and co-workers. It was everything we wanted which allowed us to unwind and watch the sun set on another beautiful day in Key Largo.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheZ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
5.8 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, Mm 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $211 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing