We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was the most beautiful place we have ever stayed! The owners and staff are sooooo friendly and helpful!! Great, great people! If you go to the keys, you HAVE to stay here, hands down! Our next trip to the keys we are staying here the whole time! The botanical gardens were gorgeous! We got a personal tour of the grounds and plants and trees by their Ethnobotanist, he was very knowledgeable and friendly! It truly is a slice of Paradise! I miss them already!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen and Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    46
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
341
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Kona Kai Resort is our ultimate getway. When you get there you never want to leave. Kona Kai is on the bay side, so you get a beautiful sunset every evening. Sometimes you feel like you are the only one staying there, when you know you're not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Juli J:
Thanks for the review! We're thrilled Kona Kai to continues to be your ultimate getaway - we do try harder. You likely saw the painters hard at work during your most recent stay; they finished today. New furniture (it is fantastic) began arriving today - all will be even that much better for your next stay, so that Kona Kai continues to always be your "ultimate getaway!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

my wife and I decided to celebrate our anniversary at the Kona Kai Resort in Key Largo, just off Rte 1. We stayed in the Mango Room which was even nicer than we had hoped it would be - like a a compact beach house. We could have stayed on grounds the 4 days we were there but we would have missed out on all the memorable restaurants we tried, The resort's concierge who welcomed us, Denise, offered her favorite food & drink picks from the Kona Kai recommendation list. Every one that we tried was a home run; from brunch on open-air porches to dinner on white sand with a sunset that looked like a Hollywood backdrop. Every person at Kona Kai we spoke with was friendly and helpful. The welcoming pool, private dock, and hammocks swaying under the palms, made us feel like we booked way to short a vacation stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_w00dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Have been coming here to Key Largo on and off for years, and want to recommnend this beautious creature right here in Paradise, - Kona Kai Resort and Botanical Gardens who with their very own Ethnobotanist Rick, on board are second to none. Want to know about the diversity of their flora and fauna, then recommend you take the fascinating tour on offer and get to know all there is about these plants. I gaurantee you will not be disappointed. Better still you can even sample the fruits grown right there in the gardens. Rooms are luxurious with all, and everything you could want or need. Views to die for. Pool, with it's towels, fridge, cold bottled water, and, as above mentioned, fruit to eat. Spa, beach with Tiki huts, hammocks and sweet friendly, knowledgable staff. Books, DVD's, T.V even an art gallery. Yes, Eden itself, for the lucky few. At times you can well be forgiven for thinking you are on your very own private tropical island. Definitely one to put on, the to do list and one I can and will return to if fate allows.

Room Tip: Any, all are more than luxrious. Spoilt for choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanskasick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear jeanskasick s:
Always great to see you guys. Thanks for recommending our Botanic Gardens tour. Ronnie and I are thrilled to be able to offer something as unique as our tropical ethnobotanic gardens at our small, unique, resort; who would have ever thought? Hope every guest enjoys The Gardens (and the resort) as much as you. And remember, non-guests can take our Garden tour by appointment to learn about the role plants play in our daily lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This a truly marvelous property. Two days in the "Mango" were hardly sufficient. Indeed, I could have stayed a month. The staff could not have been more helpful and gracious. The high light is are the gardens and Rick Hederstrom, an accomplished ethnobotanist who once worked at the Kew Gardens in London. What a find! How the Kona Kai managed to get and keep him is beyond me. Do not miss a tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and wished we had stayed longer. This place is a real Gem of a resort and after travelling from England all we wanted to do was relax! Kona Kai allowed us to do just that! From the minute you arrive you feel like your in paradise! Everything was perfect. Next time we will stock up on a few beers and let them cool down in preparation for the perfect Sun sets! See you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flatley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Flatley24: Thanks for the very kind words - it is great to know that we are meeting our goal of being the best we can be . . . and that everything was perfect. Our entire staff strives to create a paradise just for our guests. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the perfect time. Off peak season and a couple weeks after hurricane Issac. Kona Kai felt like it was ours for an entire two days. Very peaceful and quiet environment if that's what you are looking for in a vacation. We highly recommend taking the botanist tour (free for guests and approx $20 for visitors) Rick is the botanist\tour guide and was very informative. He really took his time and explained the various vegetation and exotic plants growing throughout the botanical garden. An entire fruit garden is at the front of the resort where you can pluck fruits right off the tree! Before the tour I was completely oblivious to the many different beautiful species that surround you at Kona Kai.

Don't feel like you need to book the more expensive room to have a good time here. There isn't a bad location at this resort.


Kayaks, Ping pong, tennis courts and a well mantained pool\spa await you at this wonderful resort. Book this paradise and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
557 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
626 reviews
5.8 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Property: Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing