We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rental shop in Florida!”
Review of Pontunes

Pontunes
Ranked #5 of 6 Nightlife in Key Largo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best rental shop in Florida!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our experience with Pontunes was GREAT! the boat was in excellent conditions, the locations we went were incredible and especially the team working at Pontunes was amazing! they were so dedicated to help us understand the area and the boat's features, also guided us through every step of the journey when we needed help. Hopefully we will be renting boats here every weekend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FamousDaveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Days Out on the Water!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've rented from Pontunes on three occasions and all three days out on the water were good to great! One of the occasions (January 2012) was a father/son outing in the back country in one of the open boats...admittedly, the boat was "well weathered" from lots of use and the cumulative effects of the hot Florida sun -- but the engine ran fine and the overall day was exactly as we'd hoped for. Long run down to Buttonwood Sound and back, spent a few hours catching mangrove snappers along Dusenberry Creek, and most importantly enjoyed some quality time with my dad and brother in this sliver of paradise called Key Largo.

The other two more recent rentals occurred in December 2012 and January 2013 and were on the bigger pontoon boats. They were newer boats and in great condition. One day spent in similar back country fishing, with a short excursion out to the Ocean just to say we did it. The other day was spent primarily in a back country run to view the diverse bird assemblages and enjoy the overall mangrove and tidal creek habitats associated with Blackwater and Buttonwood Sounds. We carried the boat's full capacity on this latter date, and the boat/engine served our needs perfectly. No complaints from this quarter.

The future renter should of course be forewarned to be a cautious boater in these shallow waters. If you are not familiar with the area, it would behoove you to stay in the channels so you don't have an unfortunate "prop to bottom" encounter. Rely on the GPS units to help in navigation within sufficiently deep waters, and enjoy the onboard stereo system if you wish to provide some additional atmosphere. The awnings provide some much needed relief from direct sun exposure, and the standard safety features provided with the boats are there to provide sufficient peace of mind for safe operations.

Bottom line -- plan your days out on the water, and with some help from the Pontunes folks and their equipment, great days can be had. We're looking forward to returning to Key Largo and again expanding our list of Great Days Out on the Water. Hope your experiences are as good or better than ours (so far)!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Merely average - careful of the price stings!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We rented a boat for the day from Pontunes, being very mindful of reading the reviews on our phones before popping down there and picking one up without making a reservation. The staff were average, there is one old guy (the owner I think) who was very rude, but the younger guy was alright. We'd seen reviews saying that people had been stung for charges on bending the propeller. As a result, we insisted the propeller was raised before touching the boat, we also took photographs of it. We took the boat out for the day and the boat was alright for the money, and included a stereo and a sat nav. We spent a lot of time floating around looking at the dolphins swimming around and spent only a small amount of time 'ragging' around at full speed. We were surprised to be stung with a $38 fuel bill when we returned. I'm not an expert on boating, but it seemed very excessive, especially when we rented a bigger and heavier boat in North Carolina the year before and had it and used it for 5 days straight, and only spent about $60 on fuel. I think we were conned there, but we had no way to contest it so paid it. A tip for people wanting to rent: Check the propeller BEFORE getting on the boat and take a photograph, and ask them to fully top up the tank with fuel (and watch them do it), and then do the same when you're back so you can calculate it yourself. Basically, don't trust them. But for the price, not too bad.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't come here!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rented 21' boat 3 weeks in advance. We Arrive and boat does not work. Told us boat does not work and mechanic is not here. Ruined my vacation! If i had a baseball bat...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank vpadfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt ripped off”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just got back from renting a pontoon boat from Pontunes and actually had a lovely day, even though the old thing would stall from time to time. We tooled around and had a tasty lunch, swam a little and generally enjoyed the great outdoors.

But when we returned one of the Pontune guys immediately pointed to the engine propeller and said we had bent it. Shaking his head, he walked away while we all stood there feeling foolish. We did not crash into anything at any point. When I said that to one of the guys he just said "these aluminum ones bend easily and you might not even notice it." Uhm, ok, so…? So now we owe $260 for the part. Really? We sort of stood around- we had no way to contest it. We couldn't "prove" it was bent when we left; of course we're not experienced enough to check/notice that and they knew it.

He then offered us a "discount" so we would only have to pay $180, we paid in full.

Maybe we had bad luck, maybe this almost never happens. Maybe the part actually costs them $260 but they took an $80 loss to help reduce the sting.

Just didn't feel right.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontunes also viewed

 
Tavernier, Key Largo
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Pontunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing