We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice resort in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I really liked this resort. They have everything right there. The pool is very nice. The sandy beach is quite small, typical of the Keys, and the bottom soon turns into grass and coral lumps so you'll need sandals or shoes. I had a very nice corner room and I was upgraded by the people at the desk without asking. I was there during the motorcycle extravaganza at Key West and tens of thousands (literally) of loud motorcycles rode by on Rt. 1 which is quite close so the noise was a minor issue. I did not try the restaurants No bedbugs (as someone else claimed) and very clean rooms. Don't miss Mrs. Mac's Kitchen up Rt 1 a mile or two. First rate food at good prices.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodybutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,808 - 1,814 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had alrerady booked our room, we were treated by rude staff who claimed they cant give us a king bed as its not available and our booking was not guaranteed. We waited 4 hours and went back and still nothing was available. They offered us two rooms, very small with barely any room to walk around the two FULL beds (who uses FULL beds??), stinking with lysol cleaning stuff and facing the street. We asked for a different room, we got the exact same room but on the 1st floor which was darker under the tree shades. Then we suggested we will wait until 3pm after which the King size bed we had originally was not available. My guess is, the King size room was not available at the horrible parts of the hotel and they didnt want to upgrade us to the other side of the hotel which probably had at least some light and no traffic sound. The hotel certainly was not 100% booked because all room types were still availble to book online but the staff insisted the hotel is 100% booked.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BrooklyniteLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I just came home after staying there this past weekend. It was a decent enough hotel but after getting home, we noticed all these itchy welts on our bodies. After doing research, I am convinced that there were bed bugs in our room. I looked up the bed bug registry and found that this hotel is listed as having bed bugs spotted. I just hope I haven't brought home any bed bugs. Its been 3 days back and we still have new bites appearing every day. :(

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sneeze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The room (415) was on yhe top floor and had a very nice view. The bathroom vanity was outdated, and the bathroom was oddly shaped (door opened very close to the toilet). Some mold found around the shower. The bedroom area was much nicer (like they updated that and skipped the bathroom) with a very nice large bed, private balcony with chairs and a table, flat screen TV, mini fridge, overall nice.

My biggest complaint was the noise. We were there on the "off week" after kids went back to school, so they were doing work on the pool early in the morning. Sawing tiles, draining and refilling the fountain, power-washing the pool area, lots of maintenance. They started at 7 am, which killed my plans for sleeping in.

The on-site restaurants/bars Gus's and Breezer's were good. Good food and service.

The beach is very small and only 3 ft deep, with lots of seagrass.

Hotel staff was very polite and friendly.

One thing I hate is when housekeeping knocks on the door when I have put the "do not disturb sign" out, and in this case they did NOT knock, yay!

Overall, the location was great for us, right by the parasailing and snorkeling plans we had, but the maintainence and icky bathroom made me rate this hotel lower. NOT what I expected for a Marriot, but could have been a lot worse!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FullMoonNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from 3 nights at this resort for our first wedding anniversary and I really cannot speak highly enough of it.

From the moment we checked in we were greeted by friendly staff. We originally had a double room overlooking the parking lot. Once we explained it was our wedding anniversary then we were able to change rooms and we were EXTREMELY pleased with our roomoverlooking the ocean. Luz was VERY helpful. Derrick took our bags to the room and gave us a voucher for a free drink at the bar.

Over the next 3 days we enjoyed the pool area (nice pool & hot tub) the beach area, Flippers and Breezers bars ( with nice food options, especially at happy hour in Breezes with the conch fritters and crab cakes).

We also enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel as well. All in all it was a great stay and we would like to thank the staff. We will be back again.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank RossHardy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We booked a more expensive "Bay View" room with Marriott central reservations for our upcoming stay at the Key Largo Marriott. Upon arrival at the hotel (check in time) they tried to put us in a larger non Bay View room. It was dark, musty, moldy, and dirty. We wanted our Bay View Room!

So, we were told to have lunch at the hotel's restaurant (Gus') and that the room (# 204) would be ready probably when we were done with lunch. So we walked to the restaurant and went by room # 204 (our room) on our way and saw the maid just got there and was cleaning the room for us, or so we thought. We spent almost two hours at lunch (which was very good, but there were a lot of ants in the restaurant) .

After lunch we walked by room # 204 again and the maid was all done and already down the hall working on other rooms. So we figured we were all set. When we got to the front desk and inquired about the room we were told that it still wasn't ready and to wait another hour or two.

We were very upset at this point so we just waited. Twenty minutes later a family checks in and we overhear the father asking if his room is a Bay View room and they assure him it is and give him the keys to his room... which should have been our room as we've been waiting. Another family checked in and they were also in a Bay View room and were given keys. We were left in the dust! We asked what was going on and the staff at the front desk still said no rooms for us.

We left and went to Key West instead! Never before have we been so blatantly lied to by staff at the hotel. Marriott has lost our business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theend451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Marriott Key Largo Bay Resort on a ten day trip down the keys. It is a beautiful property. Best of all no pets,. When we checked in we were given a second floor room with a water view as per my reservation. Once in the room I walked out to the balcony and discovered in order to see the water I had to lean way out and look around the roof of the Tikki bar which was in front of our room. We turned around went back to the front desk and requested another room.

Our new room was on the third floor in another building. The photos were taken from the balcony. This property has multiple building which could block the view from the second floor rooms. Call the hotel directly and ask about staying on the third floor or higher if the view matters. We had the hotel restaurant directly in front of our room. The view left and right were amazing. The giant fish head right in front of our room was lit at night. My daughter said it would give her nightmares for months.

The room is well appointed, a large bathroom, comfortable beds and a nice balcony to sit on. The hotel is quiet and noises do not carry.

We only ate on property the first night. We chose the small waterside bar so we could sit outside. The food was only ok the drinks were bland. There are numerous very good restaurants nearby. The best being the Fish House and a Mexican restaurant just down the road on the ocean side.

The pool area was beautiful. The beach area was nice but the water during our stay was not inviting.

Except for the view issue which the staff resolved this was a fantastic resort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,584 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,605 reviews
11.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, Mm 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $238 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, bedfinder AG, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing