We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a 2-3 day break for Floridans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton,FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a 2-3 day break for Floridans”
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I just got married at the Marriott on June 10th. I only live about 2 hours away and for local Floridians who need a change of scenery, this is the place to go. I would not recommend staying to long in Key Largo unless you love the outdoors. Key West is more touristy with more places to eat, shop, and hang out. Key Largo is for those who want to go kayaking, boating, fishing, snokling, and diving. I stayed at the Marriott for 3 nights and had the 2 bedroom suit. If you are traveling with a large family or 2 parties- you have to get the suit. It over looks the bay and it is two full rooms, 1 large bathroom with private shower and toilet, living room, dining area, and a full service kitchen(HUGE). We recommend you go to the locals hang out-Sharky's. It is a little bar with a restaurant on top on the water. The food is amazing. You can see the dive boats coming in. Don't forget to check at Hobo's for the best conch fritters ever! Breezer's at the hotel is a upstairs outside bar with decent happy hour prices and music. All in the service was excellent, the management is one of the best I have experienced and the maintence crews were always willing to help out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissy1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    825
    361
    139
    86
See reviews for
707
884
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
quincy, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Overall I was a little disappointed in our stay at the Marriott. I want to be completely honest because I rely on tripadvisor all the time. There is only one pool and its pretty small and usually packed with kids. The "beach" is very small and there isn't much swimming. The parking lot is bigger than the property and there are parked cars everywhere.....next to the pool, next to the ocean, next to the hammocks. The food was very good and the rooms were very nice. But otherwise I was not to crazy about this hotel and I def. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weddingscout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

our room was very comfortable with a view of the pool and the bay. The weather was not that great with lots of storms so we spent more time in the room than might be normal. The bed was Marriott standard and very comfortable, but why can't they get duvets to fit their beds. They are always too small. They should be able to have them custom sized to the deeper mattress. This is not a difficult thing.

It would have been nice to have a ceiling fan to circulate the air. Most tropical resorts have this but I am getting picky :-) The room was attractive, we had a small issue that was taken care of in minutes. Room service coffee was quick which was nice as the coffee maker in the room was tiny and basically made undrinkable dreck. Just note: The pot of coffee and one orange juice were $25.

The pool bar was cute but the girl making drinks was pretty inept. Very little rum and poor taste in the rumrunner, which was more like a weak mai tai. $5.50 for a can of warm Budweiser. This is a place to have icy cold draft beer. Very poor traffic at this bar for good reason.

We went to the Dive shop to arrange for snorkelling. The price quoted was double anywhere else yet the guy told us their prices were the lowest in town. They count on people not checking these things. Bad form and Marriott should check up on them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Marriott Key Largo was a great place to relax and forget about the rest of the world for a while. The pool and beach area was beautiful. Beach was rather small, but sufficient. The beach is actually a bay, so don't expect big waves or anything. Plenty of lounge chairs with cushions, but be sure to bring your towels from your room or get at the front desk - the cushions get very hot during the mid-day sun. Nice calypso music playing to put you in a tropical state of mind. Plenty of service staff to bring you food or drinks, plus there was a little tiki bar/restaurant poolside that you could sit at a table at. They had a young lady bringing around ice cold watermelon chunks for guests which was a nice refreshing treat in the hot sun.

Don't miss the sunset!

Beautiful rooms - very spacious and the bed was super comfortable with lots of pillows. My room was right near an elevator, but I could not hear many people at night, and I am pretty sure the hotel was booked solid. Free wifi which is nice - just don't understand why in today's day and age all hotels don't offer this service.

Didn't eat in any of the restaurants. Front desk has fresh fruit all day and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon :)

Nearby shopping center with Publix and sandwich shop for your snacking needs. And thankfully a Starbucks about 4 miles down the road!

Don't miss Pennekamp State Park while in Key Largo. Once you enter the park, skip the main parking lot and go over the bridge to the other parking area. The beach area ihere s much quieter and peaceful. Sat for hours and enjoyed the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We had a wonderfully relaxing week at the Key Largo Bay Beach Resort. Having read the Trip advisor reviews after having booked the hotel, we were wondering whether we would find ourselves having to check out because we would be disappointed with this hotel. Our first night was spent in rooms with awful views, but an upgrade to rooms with Bay Views for the remainder of our stay made all the difference. You certainly wouldn't want to spend any length of time at this hotel if you did not get the Bay Views. The pool may be on the small side and the artificial beach nothing to write home about, but the standard of service was good, and the area never felt crowded. Directly from the hotel you can go out into the Bay on jet skis, or try parasailing or hire a boat to go fishing (all of which we did). The decor of the hotel's onsite restaurant was a little jaded but the food served there for breakfast was adequate.
There are two superb restaurants down the road, the Fish house, and its sister, The Fish House Encore, both of which serve excellent food and advertise the fact that you can take your own fish for them to cook - "you hook, we cook", an offer we took them up on after our fishing trip.
We headed down to Key West for a day, but in hindsight, given the distance involved and how gorgeous Key West is, we would have been better checking out of the Key Largo hotel and spending a couple of nights at Key West as there is more to see there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We booked with the Marriott chain as you tend to know what standard you are getting with their hotels. Having booked the hotel however we read a review about Key Largo and the suggestion that the key is best avoided as its over commercialised. We were somewhat apprehensive about the location and the hotel!
We checked in on a Sunday afternoon and found our room available early. The reception staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. The room was large, clean and well appointed with a massive bed. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with plenty of fresh towels and beach towels. The balconies gave a great view over the Gulf and the hotels small man made beach. The gardens, ground and pool areas are well maintained by staff who are friendly and seem to take a real pride in the hotel. The beach / pool bar does great drinks and lite meals.
Our room rate included breakfast, which was a buffet or eggs cooked to order. There was plenty of fresh fruit and pastries along with the obligatory oatmeal. Food could be taken inside the restaurant or outside on the balcony overlooking the Gulf. This is a great hotel that is well worth the money. The staff are great and we would have no hesitation in recommending a few nights in this hotel. 10/10 !
Despite the snobby reviews saying avoid Key Largo we found it one of the better keys to stay on with a variety of restaurants and café bars available. The highlight has got to be John Pennycamp state park and it’s a must see. Take the glass bottomed boat tour and then spend time snorkelling. Get there early when the park opens and for the first few hours you are the only ones there – Magical!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

One hour south of Miami, the Marriott Key Largo Resort is a gem. We went top-drawer, had a suite overlooking the Bay. In this place you can do just about anything and never leave the hotel grounds. Our spacious suite was clean and quiet. Resort staff was courteous and attentive. The on-site restaurants were reasonably priced and offered good, healthy menus. Our late arrival in Miami translated to projected arrival at the hotel after room service had closed - one cell phone call had dinner waiting for us in our suite upon arrival. Very cool! We had started to decompress by the second evening - wish we could have stayed a week instead of only four days. I'd recommend this resort to any one who just wants to RELAX - not too much culture, but then who goes to the Keys looking for culture? This is a GREAT resort!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikespop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,411 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
23.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing