We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but get the beach view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel but it would be worth it to get a beach view. Also the "double" beds are pretty furniture but sort of high off the ground which may be tricky if you happen to have small children. We spent the next night in Islamorada but I would have just stayed here another night and did the short drive.

Room Tip: We got the "garden view" which was less expensive I think, but ours was actually a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our second one night stay.

I love the outdoor area of this hotel. There is a huge pool area, hot tub, large tiki bar, comfortable lounge chairs with and without umbrellas and also a beach front area with hammocks, chairs and thatched roof mini huts to relax in. We spent hours just resting by the pool & beach reading and chatting.

The rooms were clean, but I do agree with many previous posters that it is fairly outdated in decor & there was nothing that said upscale or newly remodeled in the rooms. Basic tile, 80's patterened carpet, standard beach art on the walls. If you are looking for a hip upscale hotel this is not the right place for you. If a nice clean comfortable room works for you, it will be a great stay.

We did get room service. The conch chowder was the worst I had had all week. Basically a vegetable soup. The pizza that is advertised all over the hotel was also disappointing.

I will say that of all the traveling I do, this is the ONLY hotel that is not willing to work with you if you book on priceline. They say priceline bookings get double beds & thats all there is to it. We were not there on a fully booked night and I am quite sure it would not have hurt them to put us in a room with a King. I understand that you take a chance with priceline, but have never had a hotel say NO when there is availability. (we checked their site from the room). Same issue last year but thought it might just be that front desk person.

Beds are extremely comfortable. Rooms were well insulated to keep out neighbor noise, although we did hear the slider open & crash shut every time from the room above us.

We would stay here again based on the pool area alone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beyond the underground garage lies PARADISE.
From the pool deck to Breezers ocean tiki bar, this Marriott excels at making the weary traveler feel that Changes in latitude changes in attitude Jimmy Buffett world ,of sun ,sand and island pleasure.
********* BREEZERS********* ADAM THE BAR KEEP IS THE MAN !! WHY ??? BECAUSE

ADAM IS THE HARDEST WORKING BAR KEEP IN KEY LARGO AND HIS WARMTH , HUMOR AND KNOWLEDGE OF LOCAL FISHING ,DIVING AND SIGHT SEEING is superb..

Adam rules the Marriott BREEZERS TIKI BAR and he mixes a funtastic rum runner and truly enjoys making each patron feel welcomed and relaxed ... The pool deck is 10 star with a saltwater pool , plenty of luxury chaise loungers and of course the pool deck tiki bar manned by CARLOS! CARLOS! AND YES CARLITA ... DID I mention the VARIOUS IGUANA THAT PERMEATE THE PROPERTY AND ADD THAT TRUE VACATION PRIMIATIVE FEEL ..... CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK ....

The beach is 50 feet off the pool deck and although small and yes weedy it is still FLORIDA and Marriott does a great job of providing for all guests water sport needs , from parasails to wave runners , bicycles to canoes the resort is one stop water sport PARADISE..... BRAVO MARRIOTT .. FROM 4-7 STOP BY BREEZERS FOR EXCELLENT 1/2 PRICE APPETIZERS AND CHEAP WELL DRINKS PLUS THURSDAY -SATURDAY THE LIVE MUSIC IS 60'S 90'S SOUL FUNK ISLAND REGGAE FUSION ....

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklinet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a short stay here in April in the middle of an Orlando/theme park holiday for a bit of relaxation and found the hotel to be overall clean, fresh and perfectly adequate. We had an oceanfront room which had a spacious balcony and big comfy beds (although really high off of the floor). The resort has a nice pool area and lovely but small beach with plenty of sun loungers and chairs. You can rent jet skis, kayaks etc on site and there are 2 bars and a restaurant which were all nice with friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again if we went back to the keys.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodief_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just came back from a three day stay at this hotel!! The property is very nice...probably will need some updating soon! The pool was great, with the tiki bar!! Gus' restaurant was right on the property and had decent food. The beach is quite nice, however it ends there...about 10 feet from shore the seaweed starts and it goes out as far as you can swim. I realize we want to conserve as much as possible...but it does prevent a lot of people from swimming in the bay!!
The sunsets are spectacular!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryhurrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you stay at this hotel you must get an oceanfront room. The view is beautiful especially for sunsets. You never have to leave the resort as they have jet ski rentals, paddle boards, kayaks, snorkling, diving, ect... all on property. The hotel has a nice art deco/ old Florida design which is executed in a tactful manner. The beach is steps away from the rooms. You can spend the day with a lounge chair in the water and a cocktail from the pool bar.

We did not eat on property. We went to Breezers bar but did not stay long as it is open to the elements and there were strong winds at night. We utilized the snorkling service on property and very much enjoyed our time.

We enjoyed our stay quite a bit and will most likely be returning next year. The local food is fantastic. Key Largo is a place to relax so if you are looking for a heavy nightlife you may want to continue to Key West.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amk07g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort is a fine hotel. Nothing is too good or too bad. Here are some points you might find helpful if you consider staying there:
• The internet connection. It’s complimentary so why make is so annoying? You get a password that valid for 24 hours. Second, only one device can use that password at a given time! We had 1 laptop, 1 Tablet and 3 Smartphones. So, 4 days * 5 devices = 20 passwords!! Please Marriott – make it easy for you gusts. Are you afraid that someone will steal your bandwidth???
• I’m not sure I understand the differences between ‘Resort’ and ‘Hotel’. Here is the thing: the Hotel / Resort has a nice (small but nice) beach and some beach activities in addition to a cute pool. Also you can walk around. But, if you’re planning go to a hotel where your kids will have what to do – I think you will be disappointed.
• Seabed is full with vegetation and not very pleasant footing on.
• We had at least twice that we called room service and put a request (a simple one …) with no response.
• Overall the room was clean and as expected.
• The hotel is close to US1 which is a busy highway. We were in one of the closest location. The entrance door facing the highway. However, the room is very good isolated from noises so you don’t need to worry about that.
• No kitchen in the standard rooms, just a small refrigerator.
• Not enough outlets. It is annoying …
• Fitness center – old equipment. Two TVs in the room but you cannot hear anything because the treadmills are so noisy… Not something Marriott can be proud of.
• I like to book with Marriott because of the cancellation policy. Usually you can cancel in your arrival date. But here you have to cancel three days in advance and in addition they take a deposit of one day when you book.
Consider staying at the Marriott:
• If you are planning to travel the area and not staying at the hotel
• If you are not going to make meals in your room but eat somewhere else
• If you are looking for Marriott quality and don’t want to take a risk
• If you are coming for one or two nights and have decided to stay in Key Largo
Consider finding an alternative:
• If you are looking for a real Resort there are some better options in the keys
• If you are coming for at least a couple of days and buying some products in the supermarket is your way – find a Hampton Inn like place (where the price is much cheaper a full kitchen is included)
• If you would like to travel in the keys – I would go to Islamorada or Marathon instead of Key Largo. You also can find there some nicer beaches but the location is a different discussion…
• If you have more than two devices that need an internet connection …

After 4 nights I felt that from a 4 star hotel I expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RunningSmarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
614 reviews
11.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,333 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, Mm 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $222 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing