We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great sunsets, beautiful pool, and friendly people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Hamilton, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great sunsets, beautiful pool, and friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The outdoor area of the hotel is really beautiful. The pools have fun fountains, the beach is small but scenic and the landscaping is lush. I especially liked the tiki areas with hammocks that allow for private rest time. At sunset, the beach is full of friendly people watching the colors of the sea and sky. I was surprised at how friendly all of the hotel guests were. The kayaks were easy to rent and the bay was very calm to kayak on.

The only negative that I can think of is that the rooms are very simple. I did choose the least expensive available, so the view of the parking lot was not a surprise. Next time I go, I think I will opt for a better view, even though we were outside almost all fo the time.

Room Tip: I would choose one with a view if you intend on being in the room for any extended time. The balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    752
    333
    127
    81
See reviews for
633
807
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Arrived and could not check in until 4 (3 was check in), staff could not tell us when so went shopping. Room had good beds, tv, and balcony, but small bath. Lots to do on-site with a very nice pool and deck with bar, a little beach, a bar and restaurant.....exercise equipment limited and worn. Went charter fishing right out of the hotel which was truly great and had the best fish dinner I have ever eaten at the hotel restaurant with the fish we caught...unforgettable. Service overall a little slow or distracted, but generally nice people....maybe it is the keys demeanor. Great location...close to Miami, but definitely in the keys. A bit more expensive tan would have thought...about $1000 for 3 nights. Overall, had a great time and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Think all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michigantraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Checked in to this Marriott to start our exploration of the Florida Keys. Check-in was smooth & Eric at the front desk was very helpful in helping us plan/validate our exploration itinerary. Overall, the property is a little dated, with the outdoor corridor access a little 'surprising' but added to the character of the resort. However, it is very well maintained and provides a plethora of activities & services.

Dining: The property has a 2 bars, one poolside by a magnificent resort style pool complete with dolpin statuettes and fountains. Gus's Grill provides a magnificent harbor style setting where you can experience true southern hospitality - a far cry from the nearby Miami area.

Activities: the property is located on the bay, and have a nice strolling/ sitting areas along the bay. The 'beach' is small but good enough for the kids to have a safe romp. The property also rents out jet-ski's and small boats for your own recreation or you can take a 'cruise' to explore the bay.

Our three night stay proved to be very comfortable and the location served as a great base for exploring the keys all the way south to Key West as well as the Everglade National Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference in late February. Room was nice--furnishings a step above normal hotel level. Staff friendly although poolside food service was a little slow; they could have used more than one person. The pool area is very nice, comfortable padded loungers and umbrellas with nice, plush towels. The beach is nice and the location is close to any touristy distraction one could wish for. An easy drive down from the Miami area. Parking is a little hard to come by if you get in late. Food very good, spa is OK.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keymer, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights recently, and whilst the hotel was clean, comfortable and well located, the hotel staff, in particular the restaurant staff on duty at breakfast, seemed as though they were recovering from a late night out, as they were not engaging or seemingly interested in their customers, and with expected services charges of at least 15% we would liked to have seen a far greater level of customer service. The bar staff worked hard and were a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road can be noisy from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prwjrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort for one-night this past weekend. I had searched different properties throughout the Keys and I chose this property because of the Marriott brand. I live in Miami, so we were just doing one quick night in the keys to go diving. Check-in was very easy and my room was immediately ready.

This property has a beautiful lobby and great "grounds". I read other reviewers say things about how the property looked "dated", but this was not my experience at all. I have traveled all over the world, and I feel very confident in giving the property 4-stars.

After checking-in, we went to our room to drop off bags before heading to Islamorada. We walked in and the room was very inviting. The room was very clean and had excellent lighting. We also had a wonderful balcony that looked out over the Gulf, but unfortuantely we had very little time to enjoy it. We went down to the pool bar to grab a quick drink and this was probably my only negative of the trip. It was around 6:30pm and the bartender behind the bar said that he was "closed" and couldn't serve us. This seemed a little ridiculous considering the time of day and the fact that we had just checked-in, but we didn't make a big deal about it.

The pool is beautiful on the property and we enjoyed a late night at the hot tub. It was great to just getaway and relax for a night and next time I go to the keys, I will definitely stop at the Key Largo Marriott.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staff was friendly, rooms good size and beds comfortable. At first glance the room seemed clean until the lights go on and you see the dirty baseboards. The pool and beach areas were pleasant but their attempt to copy a Carribean market was better in idea form than reality. The pool bar was unable to make me a piña colada. They had just opened and had no mix. Their drinks were $10-12 bucks and had a funny after taste. Maybe the ice machine needs cleaning. We walked over to their restaurant Gus's grill and promptly left after viewing the place. It smelled of old grease and the kitchen needs a Good degreasing and update. We went in the Tiki bar and the good news was I finally got my piña colada, the bad news I couldn't drink it. It arrived with and orange garnish instead of pineapple and that after taste I spoke of earlier was prominent. So we spent $56.00 (including tip) for drinks that were basically awful. The place is not up to par with the usual Marriott standards one expects from them. This place has seen better days and is trying to be a class act resort and fails miserably. Reminded me of "The Money Pit" it was freshly painted but in need of a wrecking ball. No I would not recommend this overpriced old place.

Room Tip: We were in a end of the building room causing our balcony to kiddie corner with our neighbor's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
11.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing