We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staff was friendly, rooms good size and beds comfortable. At first glance the room seemed clean until the lights go on and you see the dirty baseboards. The pool and beach areas were pleasant but their attempt to copy a Carribean market was better in idea form than reality. The pool bar was unable to make me a piña colada. They had just opened and had no mix. Their drinks were $10-12 bucks and had a funny after taste. Maybe the ice machine needs cleaning. We walked over to their restaurant Gus's grill and promptly left after viewing the place. It smelled of old grease and the kitchen needs a Good degreasing and update. We went in the Tiki bar and the good news was I finally got my piña colada, the bad news I couldn't drink it. It arrived with and orange garnish instead of pineapple and that after taste I spoke of earlier was prominent. So we spent $56.00 (including tip) for drinks that were basically awful. The place is not up to par with the usual Marriott standards one expects from them. This place has seen better days and is trying to be a class act resort and fails miserably. Reminded me of "The Money Pit" it was freshly painted but in need of a wrecking ball. No I would not recommend this overpriced old place.

Room Tip: We were in a end of the building room causing our balcony to kiddie corner with our neighbor's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed there for three nights while attending a conference and I was surprised since some of the reviews were a bit mixed. If your looking for a sprawling resort this is not your cup of tea and I doubt you'll find one any way in the Keys. As previous readers have said it is more a motel-like set up with all of the rooms configured around the pool and most with a view of the water. The surroundings are very lush with lots of palm trees and green plants and a pool big enough to accommodate all guests. There is a small beach which can be a bit crowded but people did not seem to mind. The pool and the beach were almost contiguous so you had a nice view of the water from the pool, the pool bar and the tables which served food at poolside. There is also a dive and snorkeling shop and water sports on premesis. The weather was quite balmy and the service was super, polite, efficient with free wi fi that I could get on my balcony so it made for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view. There are lots of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captainspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for one week in February. As a Marriott Gold Elite member this hotel is by far the worse Marriott property we have ever stayed in. First the positives - fantastic view if you have a high floor, bay view room. Beach is small but ideal for younger children, pool clean and lots of sun loungers to go around even when the hotel is full.

The negatives -

* Apart from resort managers, incredibly rude staff who really seem to have no interest in being there, particularly in Gus' restaurtant. Restaurant manager great, all other staff appauling, mute, verging on rude. Food average at best and overpriced.

* Check in desk, no welcome, no recognition of Marriott membership, questioned my booking including breakfast for the kids even though on booking form. No direction to room, no offer of help with luggage.

* Food by the pool - usually late and cold. Mainly as it has to be carried 150 yds from the restaurant

* Room decor very tired (although in our experience room cleaned well)

* Complained about a variety of these issues and were given free drinks vouchers and discount on daily rate. On two occassions staff demanded cash tips rather than being put on our room bill, even suggesting to my wife she returns later with cash. Utterly unacceptable

Overall, we had a great break despite the hotel staff, not because of them. This hotel is priced as a luxury resort, which it is not. The whole place has a strange downbeat vibe seemingly caused by the negativity of staff. I would highly recommend a trip out to some of the tripadvisor recommended local restaurants - which were all great

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 204204DavidJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

From check in to check out the staff at this hotel were fantastic. Luz and Zully at the front desk were very helpful with information about the hotel. Stefan at the pool bar is super nice and makes great pina coladas. The staff make up for any short comings at this property. The reviews on this site said the hotel was outdated and those descriptions are accurate. Have realistic expectations of this hotel and you won't be disappointed. If you have stayed at Marriott hotels in the Caribbean this is not of the same quality. Room furnishings are a little outdated and worn. Pool area is nice but in good weather can see there would be an issue with not enough chairs which has been mentioned by others on this site. Meal service at the pool is okay. Food has to come from the restaurant and is not cooked in the pool area so everything we ordered was room temperature at best. Breakfast buffet was good and has all the foods you would normally expect from a buffet at a US restaurant. Parking is free and plentiful. We had an upgraded room overlooking the bay which was good size. Bay beach is very murky and seaweed filled and not what you might be used to from ocean beaches in floriday or the caribbean.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking bay worth the extra money especially because of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We drove south from Delaware to Key West and had scheduled stops along the way, including Coral Gables, Florida. On arrival, we found the hotel we reserved to be a disaster and decided to move on. We headed for the Keys late in the day without a reservation anywhere. Using our on line technology, we were not finding rooms available. So I called this resort's front desk directly and pleaded. They were very responsive and told me to come, they would find something. They worked a miracle.
Noting my distress, and realizing that our Coral Gables hotel was part of thier chain, they worked to redeem the Marriott name.
We were upgraded to a waterfront suite and treated to drinks be the pool! We stayed two nights and enjoyed every minute. The beach and pool area were delightful, the food at both restaurants was delicious and affordable, the front desk was outstanding. I also used their small but well equipped gym that included a huge open window to the water view and breeze.
A relaxing, unfussy resort sure to please.

Room Tip: You have to get a water view room to really enjoy this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amm4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I found each of the Florida keys to have a relatively unique personality. Key Largo was no exception. A slower pace with relaxation being paramount. A must see was John Pennekamp state park. The resort staff was great and when combined with resort amenities our visit was quite satisfying. "The Fish House" restaurant was some of the best prepared and freshest seafood I have experienced. You are missing out if you don't eat there.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This place has definitely seen better days. We did a night here purely because we left it late on a holiday weekend and we wanted to be near the Everglades on our way back from Key West. I mean, it's OK, but for the money there are lovely b&b's or hotels you could choose. This place needs an overhaul and it could be great, but its living in a time warp. Don't bother, look harder, honestly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnygun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,583 reviews
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, Mm 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $238 - $867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing