We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Oct 2012 Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Oct 2012 Stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was myself and another female friends first time road-tripping in the Keys. The Marriott was very easy to find - on right hand side shortly after you cross bridge into Key Largo. We arrived midafternoon and check-in was a breeze. There is underground parking and elevators nearby. We paid the AAA rate for a standard room for 1 night and when asking for an upgrade was quoted $30 for balcony and $60 for bayview. Being low season, the resort was not full so was hoping for an upgrade. We decided on the original room since the extra money was going to be spent on dinner at resort anyways. After 4 hours on road, we just wanted to relax. Our room was on 4th floor facing highway. I have read previous reviews complaining about road noise but none of this bothered us. The room was large and clean with 2 Queen beds just as we requested. Having a small fridge under TV was handy.

The beach area was clean and plenty of chairs, some shade and hammocks. We swam in the bay which is murky and grassy (as front desk told us) There are fish everywhere but not clear enough for snorkeling. We did swim out to small nearby dock. Please be careful, steps are slippery. It was like bath water and calm. We sat in water in chairs for awhile then spent rest of afternoon in large, clean pool which had plenty of seating with a hot tub and bar nearby. The bartenders were friendly, shout out to Stefan for making us a good strawberry pina colada. 1 towel card = 2 beach size towels which is reasonable.

The front desk had given us free drink coupons (2) so we used them at Breezers and had dinner there vs. Gus Grille. We both had a salad - mine tropical and my friends the Steak salad. Both were decent sized and good. Shout out to Mario the bartender for being attentive despite 'adult' birthday party going on and keeping our thirst at bay. The bar has views of the bay. Jimmy Lee was providing the entertainment. He had a guitar hooked up to electronics and played for several hours - various genres. We danced to many of the songs and he was very personable.

We slept in comfort and bill was left on door. There were no surprise charges. We didn't use hotel phone or room service. We didn't have breakfast at resort but instead went right down road to famous Mrs. Mac's Kitchen on right hand side for great breakfast but that's for another review. There were several restaurants in area and a state park and marina (smaller but similar to Seaworld) nearby. Since we were heading to Key West, we didn't stop at any of these places.

We would consider staying at this Marriott again and it was a good start to our Keys adventure.

Room Tip: If you are Marriott Rewards, AAA, Senior or FL resident you can get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    834
    364
    139
    86
See reviews for
722
892
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Absolutely fantastic for R & R......quite private beach to sun, relax or smoke a cigar day or night. Pool and hot tub were also perfect. Lots of friendly iguanas to side step[ on the beach - some are quite large. I will highly recommend and hope to return,

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the south side of the private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDogWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The front desk staff was super nice. The bartender at the beach bar-- not so much. The first day we were there (a Saturday), the beach and pool were packed, and we were surrounded by high schoolers and cougars. The next morning, however, showed off how beautiful this resort is (especially because it wasn't swamped by teenagers). The rooms were nice, the beds were raised, and the "worst" room view wasn't bad at all.

We didn't take advantage of the restaurants or other amenities, so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt.

One thing-- there's not a lot to do on Key Largo, compared to, say, Key West. So just know that before staying in KL for a long time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Can't say enough about the staff at hotel. They were so helpful and accommodating. Great rooms, beautiful bay view, and really great pool area with small beach area as well. We were there for a family wedding. Beautiful setting, beautiful wedding, and great food! We enjoyed delicious daily breakfast at Gus' Grille, and all the dining staff were great. Beautiful sunsets!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and good views. Less noise with early check outs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a two night trip Key Largo. We looked at a number of the area hotels and decided that the Marriott looked the best. Plus it helped that we got a deal that included free breakfast.
The resort is compact but has everything you need to relax and unwind. The rooms are large and well appointed. They all appeared to have very large balconies too. A definite plus.
Gus' Grille, the on site restaurant is superb. We really enjoyed all the food we ate there.
The pool is fairly large with a nice bar next to it. There is a small man made beach but this was something of a let down. It's the one area that I suggest management have a look at. It needs some TLC to bring it back up to standard.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. In summary this is a nice hotel to relax in for a few days.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the bay, but the lower floors can be obstructed by other buildings and trees. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at this property and thoroughly enjoyed the property. The hotel is charming and our room was very spacious, clean and up to date. We requested a corner room, as we had read here on Tripadvisor. We had a great view of the pool on one side and the water on the front side. The balcony was quite large, a wrap around of sorts. The bathroom was perfectly done, including a hair dryer and nice toiletries. The room also had a safe and a mini refrigerator which was great to keep our snacks chilled. Our rate included the buffet breakfast and service every morning was very attentive. Their selection includes juices, an omelet station, pastries, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and yogurt. Everything was fresh and tasty. There is a bar on the property, although it was never busy at all. The pool area is maintained very well, and their "beach" area has plenty of hammocks to relax in right at the edge of the water. Their fitness center is small, but sufficient, including 2 treadmills, an eliptical machine, and some free weights. It is kept nice and cool, and they supply towels and there are a couple of tv's in there. They also have an outdoor game table area, including ping pong, at no charge to guests. If you are looking for a comfortable stay in Key Largo on the water, definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, overlooking the pool and the bay. Extra large balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just got back from a 5 day getaway in Key Largo and we stayed at the Marriott Key Largo Resort.We had a great time as the weather was nice and the resort had all the amenities we needed to enjoy our stay.The pool bar was open until dusk and there was another tiki bar that was open until 11pm with live music each night.Gus's Grill and restaurant on site was open for breakfast lunch and dinner and our waitress and waiter(Barbara and James) did a great job providing us with great service.Pool was a bit small but sufficient since it was that overly busy until the weekend when a wedding was happening with all the invited guests.The views from the resort are beautiful,and our room was fine.Most of the staff were quite helpful and our front end lobby mgr Eric recommended a nice back bay fishing trip and we absolutely loved the trip.Hated to leave such a nice area to come back to Connecticut but will return sometime again.

Room Tip: We traveled with my brother in law and his wife and they stayed in an ocean view room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
956 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,517 reviews
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
568 reviews
23.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing