We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all the negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't believe all the negative reviews”
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Spent four nights at this hotel this week (March 3-6) and had a great time. I find that most people who post on this site in general are ultra critical. The hotel is very nice and everyone was very friendly (staff and guests). If you are looking to lay by the pool, have a drink, maybe do some snorkling, diving or fishing this is a great place to be. The hotel is not 5 star by any means but it is nice and fits in with the vibe of the Keys. I just feel that some people who go to the Keys are expecting something different like sprawling beaches and they are disappointed when that's not what they get. As far as the last post who said there is nothing to do I'm not sure what they were looking for. So, if your not ultra critical give it a try. The rooms and pool are nice and there are great sunsets.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg8142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    839
    366
    139
    87
See reviews for
732
900
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed in this Hotel/Resort for two nights. We got a 4th floor room facing route 1. Although noisy when you are out in the balcony, it was pretty quiet when you close the doors. As someone described in their review, this is a "glorified motel". The service and the food in the restaurant was very good. The pool is filled with kids (so is most of the hotels) So, it is good if you have kids. Beach---there is a tiny sliver of sandy area called beach. There was nothing to do in Key largo. We went to everglades for a day trip and moved on to stay in Key west for three nights. Key west was fun, full of restaurants and lots of activities to do. If I go back to keys, I will not stay anywhere in keys except key west.

If you do stay in this hotel and if you are a cat lover, can you feed the black and white kitty that hangs near the right back corner of the property (close to the tiki bar)???

  • Liked — Nice comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing to do in key largo
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heatseeker2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

This place must of been great in the 80's. The grounds are nice and the staff pleasant, but the rooms really need a makeover for the price ( around $450-$500 for an upgraded room). My room had seen better days with stains on the walls and carpet almost worn through. The shower sliding door was hanging off and you had to throw your body into the patio doors to open them. The beds are really comfortable. I know this is a resort and the size of the property is huge so upkeep costs must be a lot, but at least remodel the rooms (especially the suites!) if Marriott wants to keep charging that much for a room. The whole Key Largo/resort deal isn't enough of a draw. I not only feel like i was hustled, I actually was hustled ! This is the second time i've stayed in a Marriott in the last couple of months and the last one wasn't that nice either. I see other posters here saying that it's not like other Marriotts, but it seems that it is becoming a trend at a lot of them, not just one or two.

  • Liked — convienence to the highway
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boardwalkmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Does not compare with other Marriott resorts that we have stayed at. Our $359/night room was pretty, but noisy due to paper-thin walls and a location 200 feet from Highway 1. There are few amenities and no concierge. The management might wish to invest in some more outdoor chairs in the pool/beach area. The ones we had to use were broken.

This property's deficiencies were all the more noticeable since there is nothing to do in Key Largo unless you are a diver.

The staff that we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. The onsite restaurant "Gus' Grill" was very nice.

  • Liked — cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retro50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2008

I booked our trip using Marriott points. The reservation came with breakfast for two, for which the hotel allowed ordering room service from a large menu, or coming out to the restaurant. We had room service every morning, with a delicious breakfast, gratuity and tax included. Since we had taken this trip as a "girls getaway" from kids/husbands/responsibilities, this was decadent for us. The pool area and the bar, Breezers, were very nice, breezy, balmy places to be in the evening. The staff was very friendly and you could order delicious food from Gus' Grille from pretty much anywhere. The key lime cooladas and fresh catch sandwich with key lime mayo were especially delicious.

This property is located on the bay, and you should know there are no beaches in the Keys. This surprised us, as we expected to be able to take long walks on the beach. We had never been to the Keys before. We instead booked a snorkeling trip, made the two hour drive to Key West for one of our days, and sat by the pool in the beautiful Florida sun. Two thumbs up from two moms on a wonderful, relaxing getaway.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and fast room service
  • Disliked — Our patio view and unpredictable wireless internet availability
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frenchgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at the Key largo marriott in Feb 2008. It was a very rough start. We booked a Bayview room. (The other rooms face Route 1 and are loud.) Our first room was on the 1st floor overlooking a parking lot. In the distance, between some buildings you could see a small patch of water. I had a "chat" with the manager and we were move to a room with a much better view. BE CAREFUL where your rooom is. Not all bayview rooms really have a view.
As far as the hotel goes, I agree with the previous review. It is not typical Marriott standards. The rooms have exterior doors (motel like), the lobby is small with no bellmen, and it lacks that certail pizaaz of a Marriott. The beach is small but nice, but this is really not the place to go if you are looking for ocean swimming. The restaurant at the hotel (Gus's Grill) was very good. The food was excellent and the service was great. It was a bit overprice though. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but you should be aware that this is a glorified motel, not a "Marriott resort" as the name implies.
I have attached pictures from the balcomy of our first and secod roome (Both listed as Bayview.)

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EWCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2008

Let me start out by saying that my husband and I travel frequently and have stayed at Marriott resorts in Maui, Aruba, St. Kitt's, St. Thomas, Grand Cayman and numerous others. This hotel does not even compare to those other properties and we were completely disappointed with the lack of service and professionalism here.

The property itself is average. The pool is okay, the beach area clean but very tiny (as can be expected in Key Largo I guess) and the room was average. Upon arrival we visited the local Publix to stock up on a few breakfast items since we're not big breakfast people and didn't want to spend the time and money going out. We woke up the next day to find our refrigerator had died overnight and all of our groceries were ruined. When I called the fromt desk to let them know they sent up an engineer to replace the refrigerator but never even offered to compensate us for the $50 worth of lost food.

Having nothing left for breakfast, we then went down and asked the front desk where we could find a bagel and coffee or something light to take out. We were directed to "Gus's Grill" where we went to discover a cost of $10.50 for an egg sandwich and a primarily sit down restaurant - not at all what we had asked the front desk for. It just seems to me that at most hotels they can give you simple advice on where to pick up a bagel!

This type of scenario just went on over and over during our stay. There was no real concierge that I ever saw and the front desk staff seemed unknowledgeable and not at all interested in helping us. When we went to inquire about taking a sunset Catamaran cruise, we received a blank stare and a response of "I think they have those somewhere on the island...there might be some brochures over there". That was completely unacceptable to us since most Marriotts not only provide you with all the information on those types of trips but then call and make reservations for you as well. We ended up trying to get our own reservations by calling a company that goes out of the Holiday Inn but were told there were not enough people signed up so we never even made it out on the boat.

Overall, if you're looking for a place to do nothing but lie at the pool (no consistent waitress service out there either by the way) then this place might work for you. If you're expecting any level of service you should definitely look elsewhere. As I said, I stayed in countless Marriotts and have NEVER encountered such a lack of professionalism. Marriott should be ashamed to call this one of their properties, especially a category 6!

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — front desk service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,532 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,482 reviews
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
584 reviews
23.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing