We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite pleasant but not a luxurious resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quite pleasant but not a luxurious resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

This Marriott is more like a beach club than a resort, and so guests shouldn't expect real luxury or gratuitous service. But our room was clean, everything worked, and the staff was friendly. Our ocean-front room had a spectacular view; the hotel is surprisingly close to the water. Also, the lobby has fresh cookies each afternoon, which is a nice touch. My only disappointment was with my scheduled spa appointment. Unbeknownst to me, the spa only has outdoor treatment rooms, and so I was surprised to receive a call, on the morning of my appointment, warning me that the unseasonably cool temperatures probably would make my treatment unpleasant. I went to the spa anyway, and the therapist apologized and suggested a massage (where I could be covered most of the time), which was excellent. Still, the hotel either should warn guests of the weather risk in advance or, preferably, build a real spa that can offer service regardless of temperature.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    790
    348
    134
    85
See reviews for
667
853
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington,nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

When checking in front desk was friendly enough. Booked a king but only doubles were available no problem can we at least get a view? Got to room no view to speak of besides road.... The carpet had a sheen of dirt and worn. ugh after paying 300+ a night i guess i expected more. Resort was nice enough but small and cocktails were pricey .I will not be returning

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robwushere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We wanted to experience different keys, and had just driven up from Key west fairfield inn where the staff were so friendly but the place very low end in furnishings. Here in Key Largo, it was the opposite. This marriott is nicer than the fairfield, but the staff were less than friendly. As a platinum member who stays more than 120 nights a year abroad, this Marriott hotel design, style, and furnishings is what I expected and enjoyed. The beds are raised higher than usual, but the rooms are clean. The hallways are exterior and breezy, the bay is right there so that s a benefit in summer and a bummer in winter. I arrived at 7pm to check in, The front desk staff had no smiles, was monotoned, and distracted. $188, this was the same rate was the dumpy key west fairfield inn, but much better furnishings. My room had two queens and faced the bay. You can see from erlier reviews that there are no responses fom this hotel mangement compared to the attentiveness of the key west fairfield management responses on trip advisor, it reflects the over all service differences in these properties. This place needs to have more smiles, but it is very nice for the price. Laundry on site $2 to wash n $2 to dry. We travel light hoping to launder before moving on, well the washer broke while we were using it. I would stay again, it is nice comparatively to other keys properties. Marriott platinum members get extra 500 points on check in.

Room Tip: Bay view, high floor, being platinum rewards member of marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We have stayed at this resort several times and had very good experiences, until now. The following is most of what was written in a letter to the management and officers of Marriott:

I am quite chagrined by the lack of empathy and professionalism displayed by the staff and management of the Key Largo Marriott Resort.  On Saturday, November 5, 2011, there was a domestic dispute in the room next to the one that I was sharing with my girlfriend. The disturbance spilled out into the hallway. You can read the Monroe County Sheriff's report for the details, suffice to say that my girlfriend and I were involved to the extent of being witnesses and providing the Sheriff with a written statement.  I am amazed that at no time did the resort staff inquire as to our well being.  Needless to say, we did not have a good night's sleep and were still very concerned about our safety and our vehicles' safety, due to possible repercussions from either of the two people involved in the dispute.  Due to a lack of proper procedure, the couple was well aware of who reported the disturbance.  We continued to "look over our shoulder" for the remainder of our stay.  It greatly disturbs me that we were not offered another room, despite the fact that I am a Privileged Marriott Rewards Member (as an aside; I did not receive what I requested in my reservation: king size bed, top floor, extra pillows, extra towels).
We did get a SOMEWHAT quick response and refunded one night stay. Suffice to say, we think that this is very insufficient.
NOTE: if you want to go fishing, and actually catch, and have a good time; go with "Fin Razer"; they dock at the Holiday Inn. Great group of guys, we have been out with them many times.

Room Tip: Upper floors, facing the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itsadogslife52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I am a HUGE fan of the Marriott brand. I have been platinum for years. We were disappointed for the welcome that we received at this hotel. It started with the bell man and the front desk etc... It's cold today in Key Largo and the chill has no doubt brought out the ugly in the staff. They seem more concerned about their own well being than their guests. They have closed down the tiki bar at the pool and the towel cabana. They are making us walk to the office for towels...ugh... I guess we can hang out in the tired dirty rooms... Sounds FUN...

I will never come back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsilverkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

we have just returned from our 6th trip to key largo this time staying at the marriott resort key largo
we stayed 4 nights arriving on christmas eve check in was speedy our room even though we were very early was ready and in a superb location with wonderful views
our stay was relaxing , with everything we required on resort or nearby friendly staff , superb bar restuarant and snack facilities a fab dive school offering diving kayak rental everything a family needs with teenagers and local backwater fishing charters on the doorstep .
this being our 6th visit to the keys we are used to the not so pristine 5 star luxury that other resorts throughout the world suppy this is the laid back keys flipflops and shorts great relaxing holiday no stress we will deff make a return the the marriott next year

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whytes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am currently staying here the resort is nice beach is great except for the seaweed. The room is nice excepr for the noise from the refridgerator and people above me asked for high levle floor to get away from noise got 3rd floor but still not totaly happy.

The bedding for me is horrable I wake up in pain!. I need softer beding.

They need better seating for tv viewing like couch or chair with ottoman to put feet up on.

Overall a nice place to stay. Som people here complain about the smell but it is just the smell from the sea. I give this resort a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quietbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,290 reviews
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
11.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
11.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing