We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a couple of nights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Solihull, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK for a couple of nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

We arrived here after 4 lovely days in Miami and wasn't very impressed with Key Largo or the hotel on first sight. However, the room was large, clean and comfortable but we looked out onto a car park - no beautiful beach like MIami. There is a sort of marina there but it didn't take long to walk round. We soon got used to the very laid back way of the Keys and spent an evening at the pool bar, the wine was lovely and the guy in the bar was very friendly. We drove to Key West the next day and loved it - I wish we had booked a few nights to enjoy the atmosphere of this lovely place. This hotel is OK for a stop over but I would not have liked to have spent my whole holiday here.

  • Liked — Comfortable Bed, Lovely poolside bar with friendly barman
  • Disliked — Looked like a motel, room faced onto a car park
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sues-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    664
    320
    103
    42
See reviews for
413
627
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2007

The hotel has great ammenities and you don't have to leave there as the restaurant is there, etc. We normally visit the West coast of FL and I was not aware there is no beach and this is not "an oceanfront" you definitely are not close to the ocean (at least not by walking). I missed a beach and seeing the ocean. Very slow at the hotel until TH when things picked up. We did the glass bottom boat, snorkeling which I recommend both. The room floor was dirty and the hotel staff would not sweep - only when you arrive that was gross. It's just a basic room with no room safe which I wish was there so be prepared for that. The breakfast buffet is pretty good but gets old after a few days with no variety. Don't bring anything the hotel has it all including beach towels. Pack light in the Keys! It's the most casual place I've been too. I'd stay in Key West the next time since there is so much more to do or at least "close" to Key West. Bahia Honda is a waste of money for that small beach they go on about on The Travel Channel (Sandspur!). Nice for campers but otherwise it's mostly foreign visitors who fill up the park.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank passng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

the hotel itself was nice, although a bit oldish. there were 2 heated pools and a nice jazuzzi. when we got to our room (big with a couch and nice king sized bed - paid 145 for a friday night), it smelled horrible, the people before us definitely were smoking everywhere. called the receptionist, but was told that everything was booked and there wasn't another available room for us. so they sprayed with room with air freshener, but the smell was still there. at least the linens didn't smell. overall it was nice though, there was snorkeling available right at the hotel, but since we only stayed 1 night, we didn't have time (were driving back to ft lauderdale later that day). the holiday inn was the last stretch of our keys vacation (we stayed at islamorada 2 nights at the drop anchor resort, key west 3 nights before at the angelina guest house)

  • Liked — heated pool
  • Disliked — smoking in room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hellotqoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newengland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

stayed three nights. no problems. nice room overlooking marina area where dive, fishing and snorkling tours leave from. rooms around pool area have nice landscaping. pool area good for kids. close drive to pennekamp state park. breakfast buffet good too.

  • Liked — proximity to state park, scuba and snorkling.
  • Disliked — the coffee
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank drivesafely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed here two nights in the middle of March. Our rate was non-refundable booked through AAA site with their high season rates. I was really surprised when we saw the “Model 6” layout. Half of the rooms face the garden/pool and the others face the parking lot. There is absolutely no view, no beach access. Added to the insult, our room ($160 per night) faced directly to a wall because the front desk said I didn't pay for the view. The building itself smelled very aged. I can see if you are a diver and you want to stay somewhere cheap and this is the only choice. For you vacationers out there, it's really worth it to spend the money on some other nicer places! I wouldn't pay the extra $$ to view the boat dock.

  • Liked — The location is close to the Everglades.
  • Disliked — Everything is terrible, it is not a resort!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SLCMomonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

If this is your first trip to the Florida Keys, know this: the winter-season prices are very high for what you will get. There are many other, more exotic destinations where you can pay $200-300/
night and have nicer beaches, plusher accomodations, and maybe a lilting accent. Key Largo, especially is not all that attractive. However, it is a good place for SCUBA as there are many dive operators in town. We stayed two nights there for that reason. One night was at the Holiday Inn, the other at the Ramada next door. Of the two, the Ramada was a bit nicer and the walk-in rate they quoted me ($200 for a view room in Feb.) was quite a bit lower than the Holiday Inn at $240. BTW, unless you're strapped (and if you are, why are you traveling?) why not pay the $20-30 extra for the view? It usually makes all the difference. In this case the difference is that you can either look out at a parking lot/highway or a swimming pool/canal with boats and pelicans. The H.Inn does have a nice pool/bar area in the center court. It could be good if you have kids (unless there's a spring break crowd but that wasn't a problem in late Feb).

Food: You'll see a fun-looking Coconuts restaurant/bar on the canal. Drink there if you want but eat elsewhere. The food is lousy but my daughter and I enjoyed watching the older folks dancing to the karaoke DJ. We called it 'senior citizen spring break'. Down the road at Cafe Largo, we had a very good chicken picatta with nicely al dente pasta, and a great lunch at Key Largo Coffeehouse.

  • Liked — Close to SCUBA
  • Disliked — Key Largo
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LorenzoP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Key Largo in March 2007, on the way from Miami to Key West. I selected the hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, and was not disappointed. The hotel was very nice, with attentive staff and a comfortable feel. Check-in was uneventful - I got the room that I had reserved over the web. The hotel is a bit pricey but that's to be expected along a resort corridor like the Keys. We had a second floor room with balcony overlooking the marina, which cost a bit more, but it was worth it to me. We enjoyed relaxing on the balcony and watching the boats in the marina, with the warm breezes blowing in. The room was fine, big enough with a sitting area with a couch and chair, and nice bath/shower amenities as mentioned in other reviews. The TV was small. but adequate. The king bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning in our room worked well, if a bit noisy, but we didn't need it much with the balcony door open. Our only complaint was that our building didn't appear to have an elevator, so we had to carry our luggage up a flight of stairs. It's possible that the elevator was elsewhere in the building but we couldn't find it near either entrance. We ate dinner at Coconuts, which is just behind the property, and can't exactly recommend it as the service was shaky and the food only so-so. The Suncruz Casino boat leaves from this hotel, and all guests are offered a free boarding pass that usually costs a few dollars. The original African Queen boat (from one of my favorite movies) is also docked here as a tourist attraction. It is fun to see but in pretty shabby condition these days. We noted plenty of families who appeared to be at the hotel for an extended stay, and the pool area was lively. Overall I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, Marina Views
  • Disliked — No elevator that we could find
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwthirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing