We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the Keys and won't hurt your budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Cicero, IL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the Keys and won't hurt your budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We just spent 4 days at the Holiday Inn in Key Largo and it's definitely a place I'd stay at again. First of all, after making the trek to Key West and back, I'd have to say that there isn't much difference between one key and another. Key Largo offers a place to stay at rates cheaper than Key West, and, after making the 2-hour drive down from Miami in traffic (parts of which are one lane, each way at a speed substantially slower than the speed limit) you're adding another 2.5-3 hours to get to Key West. The Key Largo Holiday Inn is in a great location with a good choice of restaurants nearby. Bogie's is also located in the hotel if you'd rather stay in. The rooms are clean and so are the hotel grounds and the staff is helpful and friendly. Although it's located right on busy Route 1, you'd never know that. The hotel is designed in such a way that you're completely closed off to the sights and sounds of the highway and it feels like you're at an all-inclusive resort somewhere in the Caribbean. The 2 pools, jacuzzi, poolside bar, and the live music on Friday and Saturday evenings add to that.

Room Tip: I opted to pay a little extra to get a room facing the pool instead of the parking lot to avoid any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdK_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    677
    326
    108
    44
See reviews for
424
634
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
209 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a stay and dive package. The location is right next to the boat and thay have a good breakfast buffet. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. They need more places to hang things since they cater to divers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bfree271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent a night in this hotel at the end of a trip down the Florida keys. It was an awful experience. The receptionist on duty on our arrival, called Sheree, was so unpleasant and unwelcoming, in fact she was downright rude. She actually attended to another guest who walked up to the reception desk whilst she was checking us in, leaving us standing there. All the rooms in this hotel have outside opening doors, built in a motel-like style. On opening the door, there was a very strange, unpleasant smell. The metal tissue box fixed in the bathroom fell to the floor when I tried to retrieve a tissue from it. We went to a local restaurant for dinner. In the morning, on awakening, I discovered that I had been bitten overnight by mosquitoes. I had a substantial amount of insect bites. (I then realised what the strange smell in the room was, it was insect repellant of some sort, clearly not even an efficient one) When we went for breakfast, there were 2 guys on breakfast duty. They could not have been more rude or indifferent. They were more interested in talking to each other than in bringing us some coffee, which I had to ask for 3 times. The self-service breakfast buffet was good. The food on offer was of a decent standard. This is the only positive thing we have to say about this hotel. Also, we only discovered in the morning, that the fridge in the room was not working, too late to save some items we thought we had chilled overnight) On checking out, we were dealt with by yet another indifferent male employee. Thankfully, we had other much more pleasant experiences accommodation-wise in the Florida Keys. If anyone is thinking of booking this hotel, do yourselves a favour and give it a miss.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of insect repellant!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Maureen M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Key Largo.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My sons and I stayed here using a "dive and stay" package. It is a very short walk to the marina from the hotel rooms. There is a good breakfast in the hotel. The downside to staying here (if you are scuba diving) is that there is no place to store your wet, dripping, dive gear for the next days dive. I did like the hotel, but the next time we stay in Key Largo for diving, we will rent a condo. The location of this hotel is great, right on the main road, and near everything. The staff was really nice, the hotel very clean and well maintained. There is a pool, hot tub, tiki bar, and all are clean also, and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Good location on Overseas Highway. Next to a canal, which provides plenty of walking areas. The facility is a bit dated, but you're probably not in Key Largo to stay in a hotel room all day. There are definitely nicer hotels here, but the value is pretty good at this one.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MattPlus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here when visiting the John Pennecamp dive centre. Upgraded to a marina view which was great with a view stunning. Room was a family double, double. Plenty of space, very clean.
Pool area was fabulous, great Tiki bar and two separate areas for younger/older kids.
Only complaint was breakfast.
Went down to an almost empty restaurant. Despite many tables set for breakfast, none of which were reserved, we were seated at an empty table, as in no cutlery, no cups, no condiments etc.
Buffet really was not very appetising at all so ordered off the menu which was okay but an expensive alternative. Had to ask for milk as non on the table, had to ask for jams, marmalade, and sugar as non on the table – why not just seat us at a table that was already prepared?
We got the bill where the person serving us then went to great lengths to tell us how much cheaper it would have been had we had the buffet.
A shame that breakfast service let down what was a good stay in a great location close to restaurants and the dive centre.

Room Tip: Marina View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was an enjoyable experience. The staff at reception were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and equipped with a flat screen TV, fridge and coffee maker. The carpets however should really be replaced. There was no safety deposit box in the room but there were small safety deposit boxes available at reception free of charge.The swimming pools were good with numerous chairs and loungers. One thing to bear in mind is that most mornings one of the pools was used for scuba diving instruction. The Tiki bar is a great spot for a drink and the bar staff were fantastic. An added bonus was the ability to walk to several restaurants and stores - a rarity in Key Largo. Didn't eat at the hotel as we preferred the menus elsewhere. There was free Wi-Fi which was great and also free parking. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.9 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing