We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but showing its age”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and because we'd heard that it was one of the nicer hotels in the area. The location was perfect and the pool area was very nice. The room was what was the most disappointing aspect of the hotel. The air conditioner unit sounded like a blender running all night. Our sink did not drain well and the room just did not feel "fresh & clean". We even had a large cockroach run across the floor one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Kevin A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see the high score for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    686
    330
    109
    45
See reviews for
429
645
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed in this poor, far overrated, far overpriced and depressing hotel out of necessity (everything else around booked...) It's basically a motel, stuck between a gas station and a mall on the side of the only (ugly) road. And my room was for sure a $ 50 motel room.
But the worse is that a few weeks after my stay someone started to use my credit card numbers to buy stuff on the web !!! And for various very simple reasons, it can only come from this hotel.
So on my next trip in FL, next month, I'm going to press charges (since neither the Bank not the merchants will do it), but meanwhile make sure to stay away from this horrific place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IcaroFliegender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear IcaroFliegender,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Key Largo.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't be happier with this room. It was clean, nice, and extremely comfortable. The staff was great and the location is very good and convenient. It was a little steep but all rooms are that way during March.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here! Would have preferred a place on the beach, but those were too expensive! The pool was great, our daughter loved the waterfall, and the desk has really nice pool towels you can rent out. One complaint was that one night there were a bunch of girls sitting with their feet in the pool, drinking and chain smoking, which was not great considering all the kids there... I wish the staff had been able to ask them to not smoke so close to the pool... go somewhere else! The room was clean, and the housekeeping staff did a great job with special requests. The beds were ridiculously comfortable! We slept great every night (except for the noisy motorcycles outside!) We really enjoyed our stay here. it was great!

Room Tip: We had a room in the back, which was noisy when the motorcycles got going, but overall was a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is my first bad experience at a Holiday Inn. The carpet was extremely dirty and there was a musty smell to the room. I requested a different room. The second room's carpet was clean, but same musty smell and the A/C in this room made a noise off and on.

The restroom set up is ridiculous, there isn't room to enter and shut the door behind you. You have to straddle the toilet then close the door. A pocket door would be perfect for this small restroom/shower.

I used reward points for all but 1 night. The night I paid full price for was $268 with tax. Way to expensive for this room. Location, location, location, nope, not even for this room. The proper value for this room, in my opinion, is around $80 a night. I wasn't impressed with the Holiday Inn or the Florida Keys.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear JasonS1987,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay in particular with the level of cleanliness, noisy air conditioning unit and bathroom layout. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very happy with our 2-night stay. I was leary at first because the doors open to the outside but we had a pool view and it was perfect. Pool was great with a little waterfall even! Tiki bar was a great bonus also. Staff was accomodating, great location with a clean and spacious room. Fitness room was well equipped also. Would stay again and bring the kids next time.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the pool upstairs did not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel is in a good location - easy to find and easy to access. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful. There are good amenities with two great pools and a hot tub, a pool bar as well as a restaurant. The room was basic, but clean, well air conditioned and comfortable.

Room Tip: We liked that our room was at the back of the hotel, away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.9 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing