We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Holiday Inn standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not up to Holiday Inn standards”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

So this hotel is very dated and is in need of some major attention. The grounds were not to well kept and the awnings are falling apart. The staff was super nice! Big plus or I would have given it a 1star. The rooms are sub par and a bit dirty. Very dusty surfaces, paint droppings on furniture, bath towel rack falling off the wall, drain stopper broken, peeling paint on the walls. Very overpriced for the condition of the hotel. Holiday needs to address this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danzeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. We are slated for a renovation this year and have recently stated receiving new beds. Thank you for the comments regarding our friendly staff.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    690
    333
    111
    46
See reviews for
433
654
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We paid for 5 star hotels and came with virgin, but wouldn't recommend coming with virgin. This hotel is awful not a five star at all more like three star. Dingy dark clean but that's all. Lighting is two little lights so too dark to see anything properly so cannot read. Would definitely not recommend unless you are on a budget

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We welcome any opportunity to improve. Please visit www.holidayinnkeylargo.com when making your next reservation. We have also added additional lighting.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, VA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn on Key Largo. We all love to swim and the Holiday Inn has the perfect beach among the mangrove trees. The water is warm & clear, with lots of little fish. There are many other activities for kids and the area has a very friendly ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property and are delighted you enjoyed with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the onsite and local amenities especially the snorkeling. Thank you for the comments regarding our friendly staff.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent service, the room was super clean, the front desk person very nice and helpful, the property well maintain, I recomend it 100%
Great place to stay, easy to find it, two pools and jacuzzi, with bar in that area, we had a good time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambi201980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property and are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Keys. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the amenities, accommodations, and friendly staff.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We used Priceline to bid on a hotel and got Holiday Inn for $110 plus taxes and fees a night. I know the Keys are expensive so I wasn't expecting much. Reading an earlier review makes me think that maybe Hotwire gets better treatment than Priceline but I was told to upgrade to a poolside room would be an extra $60 - bringing the room cost to $170 - so we opted to stick
with the parking lot side room.

Pros:
* Very clean, comfortable rooms
* Super comfy beds and pillows
* Close to everything - esp diving
* Nice pools

Cons:
* Very strong deodoriser used in some rooms (see story below if you are sensitive to chemicals / scents)
* Very loud air conditioner units in the room even on low or fan only setting
* No microwaves in room
* Restaurant has *no* food options for vegetarians. We had to travel off site every night for dinner.

Re: deodorizer in room: The first room we were given had a very strong scent. I haven't been in a hotel recently that uses deodorizer so didn't think to request none in advance. A chat with housekeeping revealed that when people smoke in the room they use a strong deodorizer to cover up the smell of smoke. Anyway, after an hour in the room I developed a bad headache and asked to be moved to a room without deodorizer. They offered me poolside for $60 more a night. I wasn't going to be in the room enough so declined. They showed me a 3 other rooms - 2 which smelled just as strongly and 1 which was better. So we moved there. If you are sensitive, make sure you do a "smell test" before settling in. I had hoped the smell was just a mist in the air that would dissipate quickly but it apparently does not.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property and are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Keys. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and have spoken with housekeeping to ensure the proper amounts of order neutralizer are being utilized during the cleaning process of our guest rooms.
Please note we have a microwave located in the restaurant/lobby area available for guests complimentary 24 hours a day and our restaurant is happy to provide vegetarian options upon request.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good overall hotel for the money. Close to John Pennekamp State Park and Publix which is a plus. There was a cockroach in the room but we are from Florida so this is understandable I guess. Kids enjoyed the pool and it was refreshing after a long day in the saltwater. This hotel had everything we needed: pool, wifi, small fridge and a clean room.The bathroom was a little small but overall I would recommend this hotel.
I wish there was a rating above average but below very good - that is what I would give this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room by the pool which was good for my kids and it wasnt too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyL5230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you appreciated the onsite amenities. I apologize for any inconvenience with regards to the palmetto bug. We are an exterior property with tropical foliage.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lingfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great place to stay for being able to roll out of bed and get on your boat (two minutes). Ok hotel, in house dining at bogies very slow, two pools and a hot tub with bar in the middle, $5 for two sliders and chips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noonespecial_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you appreciated the onsite amenities. Thank you for bringing to our attention the service provided at our onsite restaurant. Our menu items are made fresh daily and prepared to order which may have caused a delay in service.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,409 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
557 reviews
3.9 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing