We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really liked this place”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Check in and out was fast and easy and the staff happy to help in any way they could. There was plenty of car parking at the front, side and rear of the property so it was not problem hauling the luggage.

We booked 2 of the Marina view rooms – just for a couple of nights, and were very pleased that we did. The rooms were quiet; no noise from the well used and attractive pool area could be heard. The view over the Marina was very pleasant and we enjoyed sitting out there in an evening watching the boats and the water.
The rooms were large, with a small balcony which would hold 2. The bathroom was also a good size, although I gave up trying to fill the tub – it just took too long, but the shower was a good powerful one. The beds were really comfy – with a selection of pillows of different firmness.

The Tiki bar in the middle of the pool was lovely, a really nice place for a cold one. They also served light snacks like sliders and fries – great place to sit out for a while. We didn’t eat in the hotel apart from these snacks – there are plenty of restaurants around that were just too tempting.

The only problem we had was when we were locked out of our room due to the security latch coming over the door whilst we were out – presumably due to something being slammed somewhere. This took about 45 minutes to rectify, which was really inconvenient as we had returned late after a day in Key West and had an early start the next morning. I don’t think we would have been quite so annoyed about it had we not seen the tell-tale marks and grooves on the door frame that showed this must have happened many times before. The management really need to look at sorting this out.

The location is great – about an hour and 15 from Miami and an hour 45 from Fort Lauderdale in good traffic. A 2 hour drive will then have you in Key West (barring stopping off to see the wonderful views); so it’s a great stopping off point as well as a nice resort hotel to spend a while longer.

We’d definitely stay here again – we’ve already said that next time we cruise into FL we’ll head down to Key Largo.

Room Tip: We thought the Marina rooms were worthe the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nijh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    690
    333
    111
    46
See reviews for
433
654
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was my second stay at the Holiday Inn Key Largo. Both visits were for diving, and the location can't be beat. Right on the marina/waterway and short walk or drive to a number of dive boats. You can also walk on the pathway along the water to a number of restaurants or bars. The value is relatively good - it seems to be in line with other hotels of similar quality nearby.

The staff are always friendly and helpful, and amenities are typical of what one would expect from a Holiday Inn. The room was spacious and clean, though is starting to show some wear and tear. The door was prone to sticking and took a bit of effort to open, but other than this minor annoyance, there were no issues. Especially after a day of diving it was easy to fall asleep and there were no issues with noise facing the marina.

I will keep coming back to this hotel for the location, staff, relative value and the consistency.

Room Tip: Prefer the building along the marina for view and a little more privacy/quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meine_Heimat_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is clean but rather old so it doesn't look shiny and new. The king sized bed was comfortable but the room seemed cramped and the bathroom was small. The pool area and tiki bar was nice. I would look elsewhere the next time I'm in town

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Frank C,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am sorry you found this visit to be less than satisfactory due to the condition of the room you were allocated. Despite this, it is great to know that you found our pool area and bar to be nice.

I sincerely hope the next time you are in the area, you give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the HI Key Largo immediately after the HI Orlando and were so disappointed as the standard was so different. In fact, we only booked it because the HI Orlando had been so good. The room smelt damp, not helped by the fact that the window did not open and the bathroom, although functional, was dated. The swimming pool area was the best bit and pleasant to sit at for an afternoon. To be honest I was disappointed with Key Largo on the whole and would recommend missing this out completely and continuing down to Key West.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggsGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear TiggsGlasgow,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights after long flight & stop off on the way to Key West. Really nice room overlooking harbour. clean & comfortable. Annemarie on reception really helpful with restaurant suggestions. Nice pool and helpful staff. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suekevsarahjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for a dive trip at Seadwellers which is a great charter by the way and parked basically behind this hotel's parking lot. Now I gave this place 4 stars not because it's a 4 star hotel like a Westin, but because they deserve it. It's a no frills place, most people are there to fish or dive so who cares. They have 2 nice clean pools but most of all the service is FANTASTIC. If you know anything about Key largo, it's a place not known for service. I would stay here again in a heart beat! The Bfast is a bit overpriced if your room doesn't come with it, that's the only thing I would say negative.

Room Tip: Get a deal with Bfast included, otherwise it's $13.00 plus tip and all it is: srammbled eggs, ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandminewtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I would definitely not recommend this hotel. First, before our trip, we called and asked for an upgrade and room perference. We were told that this could not be done because they were full. Both nights we were there, they were far from full. They were preparing for a fundraiser in a few days. We were lied to. Then, upon checking in, we overheard a worker saying that the hotel restaurant had been closed by the health department. Enough said? Nice - huh? Then they told us to park in a certain area, and then kicked us out of the area, due to some fundraiser being held at the hotel iin a couple of days. Had we been told of this fundraiser, we would of chosen a different hotel in the first place. There were a lot of inconveniences. The place was not that clean either. Best I can say is that it had a nice pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinder17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Cinder17,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I regret that this visit was a disappointment for you due to the shortcomings in the service received from our staff. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for and we are grateful that you brought these matters into our attention as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,417 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
559 reviews
3.9 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing