We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel and staff at front desk.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived at our hotel just before 3pm and were told our room was ready, we were assigned
A room overlooking the car park! We asked if we could be moved, yes of course! $40 extra per night, taking this below average room to over $350 per night! Sickening! The room was ok, bathrooms are about twenty years old and need done up. Now we noticed that most of the poolside rooms were not occupied, so this is. Just another miserable way of squeezing more money out of the tourists. thing is! We won't come back! Had we been offered a poolside room
For the same price we paid before the upgrade we would have been happy. Pool area is nice, they had a great entertainer at night! I'm not happy with the star rating that Hotwire gave us! Don't think I can trust them either. I would say this is a very average hotel with average employees.

Room Tip: Don't bother, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casper10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Casper10_11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the pool area. I apologize for the problems you encountered with the policy, room allocations and staff service received. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice room, clean. The grounds were very tropical and the tiki bar was great. Waitress at the hotel, I believe her name was Charlene was wonderful. We only stayed for one night so this hotel was perfect for that purpose. It was conveniently located near the glass bottom boat tour of the coral reef which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjm929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from our second seven night stay here, and I am amazed at some of the negative reviews. Although the rates may be higher than other Holiday Inns, the grounds and two wonderful pools made it feel like a resort. With beautiful tropical foliage, a lovely freeform pool with a waterfall and a regular rectangular pool, there were lounge chairs for all and a relaxing ambiance--no race in the early morning to snag a chair. The rooms, while nice and clean, were not luxury rooms, but since we came for the pools and relaxation, we spent very little time inside. We had a wonderful time and would certainly come back again. The location is great, right in the center of Key Largo and close to numerous good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The room was a bit old, but clean and mostly quiet. Had a plenty of parking spaces around the hotel building. The staff were not too friendly but helpful.
It's a bit expensive for the overall hotel quality.. but I guess the location is mostly accountable for it. Very close to good diving shops. Although, I couldn't find a grocery shop at first (there is a Publix 3 minutes north on Overseas Hwy -- watch for a sign or easy to pass).
The hotel met all my basic needs, but for the price I would consider somewhere else if staying much longer than a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localhost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear localhost8,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and for finding our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This motel is a little on the older side, but it had a large room with fridge and is situated right on a canal. You can walk along the canal and watch boats come and go; fish swimming; and can go on tour boats from here. The pool area is really beautiful, with a tiki bar that stays open in the evening. We enjoyed a relaxing evening by the pool with drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I spent here last weekend and it was very nice. At check-in I asked for room in a quiet side and they proposed a great one with a balcony on the canal for a little extra cost, it was simply lovely and it really worth. Service and facilities were good, people friendly and supportive. Free parking. Breakfast acceptable. The location is also very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faban66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Jan 2013. We had a room, with balcony on the 2nd floor facing the marina. Watching the activity each day on the marina was really fun. The hotel has 3 separate buildings each with 2 floors and no elevators. The buildings surround the 2 pools and a hot tub which never seemed to be too busy. There is a restaurant, but we didn't try it. There are so many restaurants nearby we decided to skip the hotel food. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff always greeted us and were very friendly.The only complaint would be that the AC unit for the room next door vented onto our balcony. It ran constantly and kept us awake at night because we liked to have the door open. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1gamblergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
2.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
7.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
5.1 mi away
MB at Key Largo
MB at Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: $149 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing