We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Anniversary Get Away”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided to visit the Key's for four days. It was our first time there. The Hotel has 2 outdoor pools. One has a waterfall. The large one is next to the Tiki Bar and little stage. There is entertainment on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. It was great to sit around the pool in the evening with a Mai Tai and listen to Island music.
We only ate at the restaurant once. It was a buffet and it was just OK. It is surrounded with area restaurants. One not to miss is Snooks. Just ask and you'll get directions.
There is a scuba class some mornings in the large pool.
We are planning to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Marathon on our next trip. It is newer, on a lagoon and serves free breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room. These are located over the inlet. You can watch the boats come in and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerilynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    686
    330
    109
    45
See reviews for
429
645
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked into this hotel for two nights on our way up from Key West. Had previously stayed in the Holiday Inn at Marathon which was a far superior hotel. First impressions from the reception looked fine. I am a platinum card member but was given an end block room next to a vibrating cola machine and noisy fire hydrant!! The layout was more like a motel with rooms on two floors around the pool. The pool and outside bar area were lovely and the best feature although the entrance gates to this area all could do with a good clean. I did not feel the room layout was secure. We only had one electrical point to charge items as the point on the lamp did not work, the toilet door handle was broken and did not close or lock, the washbasin was cracked and black and the vanity unit chipped. We went into the restaurant for dinner to find there was no one else there. The waitress was not wecoming and when we found out a bottle of wine was $30 we decided to get into the car and go to the pizza restaurant down the road. We complained about the noise of the cola machine and fire hydrant and we were told we could move rooms at 10 pm?! At this point we decided to cancel our second night and more back upto Fort Lauderdale the next morning. Breakfast the next day was nothing to write home about. I complained to the manager as I did not feel the room and breakfast were worth $174 per night and he reduced this a bit to his credit but told me this was "Key prices" The standard overall of the rooms is very poor, needs overhauled immediately to bring this up to the usual holiday inn standard. Having stayed in a lot of HIE this was not one I would be recommending in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InchcolmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay here but it was very disappointing. The reception employee talked max 5 words and when checking out no questions about our stay or any other friendly thing. Just pay and off you go.
The first night my husband discovered a huge cockroach in the room. Also the A/C unit was making lots of noise. When packing our stuff after three nights all the clothes that were hanging in the room were almost moist; bathroom ventilation was not working the way it should. This hotel should clearly be renovated. The beds were ok but the cleaning was very poor. This along with the unfriendly attitude at the reception will not make us return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Did not have breakfast neither used the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jenny W,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. I would like to apologize for the unacceptable service you received during your stay. I am also sorry for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience this may have caused you. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

LOVED it. This place shocked us on many levels. First, it's sort of a 50's style, kitschy roadside motel, but that's part of its appeal (being something other than a glossy high-strung resort). Second, it was spotless--the bathroom alone amazed us with the shine. But what also made this place so appealing was its landscaping, with low-laying tropical plants and huge palms, and a beautiful waterfall pool. We sat outside by Bogey's, waiting for it to open, and the sound of that waterfall made us instantly relax. We did eat at Bogeys, braced ourselves for nasty service, only to find a really nice waiter who was not only prompt but friendly (and worked hard to keep our kids busy). My only complaints were the fact that there was only one place to get a microwave--in the lobby near the restaurant. Sort of weird, when there's not much for food choices other than Bogey's nearby. With a big fridge in the room, a microwave would just have been the little cherry on the sundae. Shocked at how much we liked this motel! And just to say, although this place was clearly built many years ago, everything was either newly renovated or under renovation, without losing the charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We started our Florida Keys visit here. Be sure to ask for a courtyard view. The hotel wasn't that full and even with being a Priority Club member, we were given a parking lot view.
It is very inconvenient to have to get pool towels from the front desk. Make sure that your name is marked off the pool towel list though, because the front desk receptionist forgot to mark off our name. This is a very clean hotel and beds are fairly comfortable. They are double beds though so be prepared for a tight squeeze.
Service is somewhat slow. Do not wait for the last minute if you are on a time schedule.
We avoided the hot tub after seeing a couple having intercourse. At least our kids didn't realize what was happening. We just chalked it up to "being in the Keys" and headed back to the room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomegustacocinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Key West. Hotel is very clean. Check in and check out was a breeze. Waterfall pool was closed, the other pool was ok. We didn't eat here, just slept one night. No complaints!

Room Tip: Don't pay an extra $20 for a "pool view" There are trees blocking the rooms, its not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived in Key Largo around lunch time and immediately went to the docks (2 minutes from the hotel) for an afternoon of diving. Afterwards we went to the hotel and checked in. The desk staff was great! They were very helpful and efficient.

Our room was very clean, the bed was nothing special but definitely did the job and parking near the rooms is plentiful. The actual hotel grounds are also very nice. They have two pools with one of them setup as a resort style pool with a waterfall. That pool was drained for repainting (which they finished before we left) but the other pool was great. Comfortable water and plenty of comfortable chairs. They also had a nice hot tub and a tiki bar right in the middle of the pool area (great bartenders).

The breakfast buffet (costs extra) was nothing special but if you're hungry for a lot of food its not a bad value. If you're all about a great, hearty breakfast just head directly across the road to Doc's Diner. You can't go wrong there!!

Overall we had a couple of nights at the Holiday Inn Key Largo and the next time we're in the area, we'll be back! Also, if you're a diver the Holiday Inn has special rates with a few local dive shops (we went with Scuba-Do) and Divers Discount is about 100 yards from the hotel (great dive gear shop with excellent prices).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartyspringparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.9 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing