We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, relaxing vacation with plenty to do!”
View from water of Historic Shadow Point
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from water of Historic Shadow Point
beach from water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View from water of Historic Shadow Point
beach from water
view of Arbour and front of main house
View from Main House Kitchen
Our Mascot 'Shadow' a Great White Heron at our Beach
Point with 'Shadow' our resident Heron
Gardens
South side of Main House
Garden view
Overhead view of property
Beach View
Paddle boarding by beach
Beach fun
Beach view
porch in main house
porch in main house
Turquoise Room Master bed room with pvate bath
Yellow Room
Livingroom
New Art Work by Janeen Mason -Artist/ Illustrator
Main House Kitchen
dining room looking into kitchen
Kitchen Looking into Livingroom
North side of Property
bench on middle dock- one of three docks
a quiet place to have lunch
a quiet place to read
Main dock
triangle dock
Main dock
early light on cottage
cottage kitchen
cottage kitchen
room in cottage with twin beds
Cottage livingroom
porch of cottage
view from cottage
View from cottage
sunrise on Shadow Point
Gumbos looking up
Rainbow over beach
view of water from cottage
paddle boarding by middle dock
sailing on Largo Sound
view from property of water
beach from water
Beach view
stunning orchids abound on property
more flowers
Rare exotic snails
Diving on famous wrecks
view of main house
resident Great White Heron
Swing with a view
Back of yard
Back of yard
One of Many weddings held at Historic Shadow Point
One of Many weddings held at Historic Shadow Point
perfect setting
looking out over Largo Sound
Moon over Largo Sound
One of Many weddings held at Historic Shadow Point
Set up of wedding
Birds-eye view of property
Sunset on Largo Sound - View from our middle dock
Rainbow over Largo Sound
Main dock that has water and electric for boats up to 40 feet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Key Largo, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OwlWatchO...
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful, relaxing vacation with plenty to do!”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I love the Keys and Shadow Point is the perfect place to enjoy them. You're surrounded by water on 3 sides as it truly is a point into Key Largo Sound. If you want to try snorkeling, take the boat from Pennekamp State Park. Honestly though, you'll want to spend all your time here. It was the perfect place to wake up to breezes, have your coffee in the lounge chairs by the water, and make your meals in the large kitchen. The main house has a big kitchen, long dining table, screen porch, lots of bedrooms with comfy beds. The owner is an artist and has lots of unique decorations, plenty of towels and everything you need. Four of us stayed in the cottage with our own kitchen, bath and laundry. We tried out the kayaks and paddle boards plus swam off the beach. It was so relaxing, there are lots of benches and lounge chairs outside where you can chat and relax. The landscaping is gorgeous with orchids and tropical plants. You'll enjoy walking around the property looking at the view, the gumbo-limbo trees, and many artistic statues and creations. You'll want to come back again and again, just as we do!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2018
So happy you enjoyed your stay at HistoricShadow Point. Yes please come back for a visit and share some more of your beautiful photos.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princessb...
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
“Perfect family reunion location”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful week at Shadow Point- there is something for everyone at this property. We had 13 family
members ages ranging from 12 to 80 years old. The location of the property is not only wonderful in the beautifully natural Largo Sound but in Key Largo- very close to great restaurants and publix and Kmart just a few miles down the road. The house comes equipped with everything we needed: towels, sheets, blankets, fully stocked kitchen, kayaks, paddleboards and so much more. The adventurous ones in the group enjoyed fishing off the dock and kayaking and paddle boarding through the beautiful mangrove trails, which are accessible from the personal beach on the property! The peaceful, secluded, and charming nature of Shadow Point will be sure to fit any groups needs and provide for a relaxing retreat from the craziness of everyday life. This property comes highly recommended from this family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
We are so happy that you enjoyed your family get together. It is wonderful to here when guests have adventures with our kayaks and paddleboards. We provide them so all can experience the beauty of Largo Sound.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turftrave...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Gathering Place”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family rented Shadow Point for a week in June. We invited our four children, their spouse/ boyfriends, and our two young grandchildren. The houses and property make you feel as though you leave behind the stresses of life! The houses are very historic and have colorful and unique furnishings. The property is beautifully landscaped with numerous gathering spots throughout including breezy porches, a fire pit area for evening campfires, a dock area and "beach" area at the waterfront. The owners generously allow use of their beach towels, snorkel equipment, floats, lounge chairs, kayaks and paddle boards. There are several outdoor dining areas. The homes are situated at the end of a residential street behind a gate so there is complete privacy to make you feel like you are in your own little world. We always enjoy preparing large family dinners instead of dining out. The kitchen was very well supplied to meet any cook's needs. There are even bowls and serving platters large enough to be used by a caterer! We commented throughout the week that it was like being at family camp in our own private resort. The property is located on Largo Sound and is VERY convenient by boat to the Atlantic, Floriday Bay or John Pennecamp state park. Marlee was very helpful in giving recommendations for boat rentals. Very highly recommend!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
We are so excited to hear you took advantage of our kitchen. We pride ourselves in offering every gadget and bowl for your perfect cuisine creations. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronheme1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“simply beautiful paradise!”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

As I feel it I was blessed in this lifetime to be allowed to stay at Shadow Point a full week.
It has taken away a piece of my heart, now being home again, cause I left it right there!
What a gorgeous place it is!
Anything one needs can be found there; it's all tranquil, nice & for-filling one's soul.
Words cannot express my deeply felt longing for going back there and never want to leave again.
Love you Shadow Point!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
So happy that you enjoyed Historic Shadow Point. Knowing that you came from such a beautiful country yourself it was so meaningful to read what you wrote. Please come back again for another adventure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Earnest Hemingway would have loved this place!”
Reviewed January 28, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Some respected friends who always seem to stay at the right places kept on banging on about this secret hideaway they had discovered in the Florida Keys. So we booked.
They were absolutely right with their love for this unique location.
Shadow Point is a very private and secluded wooded headland jutting out into thre vast waters of Largo Sound at Key Largo. Devastatingly beautiful with every kind of tropical and sub tropical tree imaginable.
It would be easy to imagine Earnest Hemingway lounging on one of the easy chairs of the long veranda fronting this special colonial house of the period, and as we English would describe as set in aspic and full of wonderful surprises from those heady days of the elegant nineteen twenties, yet with every comfort for modern living.
A place of important Florida Keys history as the lady owners grandfather conceived and built the canal named after him which connects Largo Sound with Florida Bay and the wild Everglades beyond.
Shadow Point has its own private beaches and boat quay and is the perfect place for those who love nature, messing about on boats and for somewhere secluded, yet minutes away from the centre of bustling Key Largo with all it has to offer, not forgetting the wild and wonderful Everglades, the largest national park in America. A must stay in my book of lovely places!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2017
You English blokes know how to enjoy yourselves! So happy you had a wonderful experience. Please think of us in the future when you want another relaxing, secluded and charming place to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewartel...
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
“Florida at its best!”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Shadow Point is Old Florida charm with modern comforts. The houses are brimming with history, art and personality. And yet there is everything you might want – a great kitchen that is well stocked, good air conditioning, comfortable beds and plenty of nice linens. The screened porch is perfect for watching the sun rise across the water. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. There are plenty of paddle boards and kayaks for enjoying the water right from the beach. The beach is the perfect place to enjoy cocktails in the evening breeze. When you discover Shadow Point you will not want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
So happy you had an enjoyable time. Please come back for more adventures.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiebird...
Stuart, Florida
1 review
“The perfect place to relax and enjoy”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I had the most enjoyable, unforgettable experience staying at Shadow Point on Largo Sound. The house itself was extraordinary; clean, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. The porch is the perfect place to start every morning with coffee and sunrise. Our days were spent on the beach kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling and then on to appetizers and cocktails in the late afternoon breeze. There is nothing better than sharing quality time with good friends and family in a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
So Glad you enjoyed Historic Shadow Point. Come back for more adventures and make more fun memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing