We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Not very good I'm afraid. I'm a regular Hilton customer so maybe my expectations have been elevated unreasonably. Also we had just spent 4 wonderful nights at the Hyatt resort in Key West so was probably spoilt.

First disappointment was the lack of help out front. Then queued for 10 minutes to check in. Room had a balcony - over the car park. Best description is probably "tired". Sofa in the living area had stains on it (I don't want to speculate on their origin). No hot water in the morning. Mentioned it at reception where I was told "the controls can be a bit weird".

Beach front was nice. Water clear clean and warm. Pool a good size and plenty of loungers but no umbrellas. Being a Brit, exposure to the sun for longer than 20 minutes can be trouble some. :)

Surprised at the age limits on the jet skis - we had delayed doing those in key west with the intention of saving that little treat for key largo. 26.5 years seems extraordinary to me. So that was off the agenda unfortunately.

Bar and restaurant were good! Friendly staff up there and food was good. special mention for Nichole.

In all, it just seems this place is lacking some love. Location wise it could be great but it felt it was run with a Skeleton staff and lacked any charm. The water sports company (not part of the hotel I realise) need to shape up or ship out

We had booked for a 4 night stay but decided to high tail it out of there after the one night.



Room
Booked a junior suite.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We regret that you had an overall disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will further help us deliver this brand promise as we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I will be sure to pass on your sentiments to Nicole. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Warm Regards,
Kelly Wilken
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,918 - 1,924 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were booked in here for 4 nights, but left after only 1! Where do I start? Nobody to help with luggage, unfriendly reception staff. We had a Junior suite, carpets & sofa had stains, ants crawling over balcony & rusty backed balcony chairs. Short & curlys in the bath ( not ours). Was woken by room next door open & closing their wardrobe. No hot water for a shower. Pool was small & offered no shade or parasols. Trips on offer e.g. Jet ski , para sailing, snorkelling all a lot more expensive then we had just paid at 5 Star hotels in Miami & Key West. Overall this hotel over priced & run down. Can only agree wholeheartedly with Idy125.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our resort. We appreciate your feedback, and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the condition of your guest room and pool experience. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us. We are taking your comments into consideration as we take the steps necessary to make it right for you and our future guests. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to our area.
Warm Regards,
Kelly Wilken
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on a beautiful stretch of beach front, when you walk through the lobby and go outside you will be amazed by the trees and the amazing private beach area. It is small but hotels in the keys do not have real beaches as you see in Miami. The hotel was renovated unfortunately the rooms seem to have missed the updates. Try to book a room on the 4th floor as they offer the best bay views as the trees obstruct the view on the lower floors. We spent our days lazily on the beach, they have plenty of lounge chairs. If you want they have on sight water sports to rent. During the day the food choices are limited they serve food at the pool and the beach, if you spend more than a couple of days you will get bored with the choices. We enjoyed a nice dinner at the hotel the dining room has an amazing view of the bay and you can dine watching the sun set.

Over all we will go back it was a very relaxing stay, I just hope they improve the quality of the rooms as it reminded me of a Howard Johnson not a hilton

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Bocatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank your feedback. So pleased the location suited your needs and you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. If you are looking again for some tranquillity, relaxation and amazing sunsets, I hope we have another chance to welcome you back.
Warm Regards,
Kelly Wilken
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Based on the negative reviews, I almost booked at the Hampton Inn but am glad I didn't! We stayed at the Hilton Key Largo for 5 nights with our 2-year-old daughter and would visit again without hesitation.

I'm not sure if the negative reviews are because of inconsistencies in service and/or rooms or if some of the people who are disappointed with the property have not previously visited the Keys -- the hotels here are typically low buildings built to withstand strong storms and have limited beach fronts. Definitely not on par with large Caribbean or Mexican resorts (or others in the U.S.), but that's part of the charm.

Rooms
- The first night we stayed in a canopy-view room because an upgrade wasn't available. It was fine but the front desk called the next morning and moved us to a full water-view room on the 3rd floor. Huge difference.
- I did notice there are some rooms that overlook the parking lot.
- The rooms open to a central, open-air hallway.
- Didn't have any issues with housekeeping, a/c or general cleanliness.
- Wifi and cell service in the room were spotty at best (I have AT&T and usually had 2 bars near the balcony). I think the issues with wifi and cell service are due primarily to the construction of the hotel. Seemed to work fine even in the parking lot, but I would imagine it would be hard to really conduct business from the hotel.

Property
- The hotel is tucked back off the highway, with a thick canopy of trees giving it a secluded feel.
- The beach was perfect for us. It has hard-packed sand and is lined with lounge chairs. The water is clear, calm and shallow, so our toddler could explore semi-independently. There's a small bar that's open until sunset, and a ping pong table and two bag-toss games. They also have a bin of children's beach toys (pails, shovels, etc.). The entire beach area is small and we liked that kids could play together without wandering out of sight.
- The pools are nice but not on the beach. Didn't spend much time there.
- There's a pier with boat slips ($2/night/foot) that is nice to fish off of or sit and watch the sunset.
- We didn't rent anything from the water sports vendor, but for jet skis and motorized boats it's Florida law that if you were born after January 1, 1988 you must have a Florida boating license. I did hear them explain to someone where to obtain a license locally.

Service
- Generally great experience. Liked that they proactively called my cell phone to offer an upgraded room and then moved our luggage for us. Also responded quickly to random requests (needed some flatware one night for takeout we had brought back).
- Front desk tended to get overwhelmed at peak times. Could see where service might be inconsistent.


I think if you like the laid-back Keys vibe and aren't looking for a party atmosphere, you'll be happy here. It's an especially good choice if you have a family and don't want your kids to have too much room to roam yet plenty to keep their attention.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank TarHeelinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. We are really focusing on delivering great experiences for families and it was great to read how much your family overall enjoyed the time with us. It's always our goal to provide consistent, friendly service and do our best to meet guests needs. Your additional feedback has also highlighed some areas for improvement which we will take under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experiences. We hope to see you back real soon.
Warm Regards,
Kelly Wilken
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

In booking the HIlton at Key Largo, we were limited to 'quality' hotels in that area. The Key is small and limited of 'higher end' hotels and choice is scarce. In booking a Hilton, you wonder what could possibly go wrong?
I was super disappointed to drive up to the hotel to find that it was a converted 'motel like' building. Cleverly disguised with foliage and trees, it's still a motel! Check in took forever, the room smelled like it needed to be aired out and smelled of strong mildew. The beautiful photos of the beach area (again, cleverly disguised by the professional photos) was highly disappointing, and smaller than you think, covered in seaweed! The 'balcony view' was COMPLETELY COVERED with trees which allowed you no view.
My son, a military vet who served in the Coast Guard for 6yrs, was not 'allowed' to hire a jet ski because he was 26yrs old and not 27yrs old??? It's great, you can serve your county but you can't rent a jet ski at the Hilton; on the very water of which he was trained to serve on...RIDICULOUS!
The hotel/motel is in desperate need of upgrading and sports rusting bannisters and railings, peeling paint and thin walls.
Not a spot I would recommend, it will just leave a bad taste in your mouth!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ldy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Your feedback is highly appreciated. Please accept my apologies for our resort disappointed you and we regret to hear that you did not receive the quality atmosphere you expected. Our guestroom appeareance is an area we are activley examining for upgrades. The outdoor entrances is a unique feature found throughout the Florida Keys and our resort embraces our local culture.
I will share your feedback with our watersports company for further review and will be addressed accordingly.
Rest assured we take all feedback on board to ensure we are delivering great experiences. Thank you for sharing yours. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Kelly Wilken
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just got back from a 3 day stay at the Hilton Key Largo, where my wife and I had a wonderful vacation! The hotel has everything one could ask for right on property - great beach area, excellent restaurant, spacious and comfortable rooms, fantastic water sports rental (Caribbean Watersports) and friendly service. Lourdes at the front desk, Matthew tending beachfront bar, Ashley waiting on tables(day and night) and Victoria, Jordan, Matt and Alex of Caribbean Watersports all contributed to a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The staff was so accommodating during our stay as most Hilton properties are. The afternoon we arrived, so did the mosquitoes and they supplied us with repellent wipes several times and couldn't apologize enough. Obviously that is not their fault! The rooms, staff, beach, tiki bar and restaurant were all fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank starkstobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $226 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing