We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Family Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Overall, our family had an awesome stay.
PRO's: Great view from the room. Very clean bathroom. Comfortable beds
Buffet breakfast at Tree Tops: Sat out on the terrace listening to Caribbean music with the family...Good Times.
Kids enjoyed the family pool - especially the waterfall and free popsicles.
Gift shop loans out fishing pools to use for free (bait extra)
Kids can walk the property and go to stations to learn about ecology.

CON's:
We did have to wait until after 5PM to check in, but we waited by the water, so no big deal.
The carpet in the room was a little worn, but it didn't bother us too much.
Parking was a bit challenging.

Room Tip: There are only 4 floors and most of the rooms on the first 2 floors are obstructed by palm trees. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRCNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for the review. I am thrilled you and your family had an awesome visit with us and enjoyed many of the property's features. We certainly apologize again for the delay in providing you with your room but happy your found comfort waiting in the water. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Wilken
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    1,164
    689
    388
    226
See reviews for
1,225
1,601
63
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
265 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

One of the best hotels in Key Largo and they charge accordingly. For over $300 a night I didn't expect to be charged for $18 parking or internet, but I was!! It's a facility charge, no less and parking was hard to find. The view from the 4th floor was wonderful and the beds comfortable. One might expect that from a hilton. Food at the in house Treetops resturant was bland at best, but at least the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th floor with a view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyscritter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I love the atmosphere--trees surrounding property. Beautiful ocean front. The water is clear and water sports great. I was on my own so counted on the water staff (especially Alex) to guide me to the best finds in Key Largo. He also made excellent recommendations to restaurants. He made me feel at home there. I also liked the hammock and discovered the beach bar on the last day. Again, very relaxing atmosphere.

The rooms were clean and my bed was very comfy (high end mattress, comforter).

I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We only stayed one night for a wedding but we would go back. It was our first time in Key Largo and the setting of this hotel is beautiful! Upon arrival we were upgraded to a water view room on the 4th floor. It was an amazing view. The room was comfortable and clean. With it on the bay side, you get to see the amazing clear water. Although the beach was small, we enjoyed a morning lounging in the chairs (get there early if you want one).

Room Tip: Only 4 stories so get a room on the 4th floor, bay view for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamagogo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel was absolutely stunning. The room was great and the view was even better! We spent most of our days by the water, we were able to bring our own paddle board which was great! The hotel offers many amenities for the guest which I think is great for the ones who don't like to sit around. We went parasailing, where Matt was very caring with our fear of height! He took pictures of us and was more than helpful! My husband and I rented Jetski's, and the boys at the desk, Jordan and Alex were great! They really make you feel welcomed and we had an absolutely amazing time on the Jet ski's. We will definitely be back again this summer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I know that when you're traveling on vacation to a resort you shouldn't 'need' all the things that you've grown accustomed to, but some of us have businesses that need tending to while we're away. With that in mind - 1. The internet connectivity is horrible. I mean 2004-era reliability. The login screen popped up constantly and load times (if it ever loaded at all) were really bad. The front desk said: "Sorry." 2. If you're a Verizon user you won't have much coverage inside the hotel. Most of the time I had ZERO bars. (Not hotel's fault of course but important to know.) 3. We stayed in two different rooms. One had a 42 inch flat screen, the other 32 inch. The TV would sporatically lose its signal even though it was crystal clear outside.

Now, as far as the facility itself: My wife and I are both Diamond members. We did not get the impression this hotel cared. We never got any of the usual ammenities upon arrival. You do get a breakfast coupon but just like every Hilton (as opposed to Garden Inn for example) you must pay a $5.00 upcharge to get the full buffet instead of a continental. When you're a Diamond and paying $250 a night for a room you should probably just get a free buffet breakfast don't you think?

The property is tired. It has been refurbished at some point but it's going to need some more love soon. There is a small beach with adequate chairs and a Tiki bar that closes at 5pm. Most of the property is wooded and thus it's a mosquito heaven. The rooms in the section we were staying all opened to the outside (like a Motel 6). We had a small balcony.

This hotel is pet friendly and it appears to be a significant thing down here to bring your pets everywhere. (We were in Key Largo three days and almost every time we went out we had a dog sitting near us. Great chick magnet but my wife has severe dander allergies.) In our case we were lucky enough to have someone leave their animal on their balcony when they went out Friday night so we got to listen to it bark for a couple of hours.

If you're not used to traveling and seeing what a top-grade Hilton has to offer I'm quite sure you'll be impressed by this facility. If you are a Gold or Diamond you're going to leave saying: 'Meh'. I would stay here again, but only if the Marriott down the road is booked. From what I observed, that would be a much better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DontAsk4AScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were scheduled to stay at the Hampton Inn down the rode on our Hilton Points, but when we arrived the pool was empty! We had been fishing all day and really wanted to relax by the pool. My hubby made a couple calls and our reservation was transferred here. The front desk updated us to a suite and it was amazing. It had a full size living room, huge bathroom/vanity area and large bedroom. The view was incredible. There were several pools - one with a waterfall and lots of sandy secluded areas to put your chair beside the ocean and just enjoy. I will try to post a picture of my favorite spot. The property is pretty big so plan to do a lot of walking. We went to the gym every morning and enjoyed the ocean view work out. Breakfast was good - all the meals were pricey, but it was convenient. Tiki bar was fun too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janalynn5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Property: Hilton Key Largo Resort
Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing