We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely & Relaxing”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for a week with my mother & grandmother & loved it. The Hilton is on about 14 acres of property, mostly trees, so it's really quiet. Even though it's right on Highway 1, we didn't hear the freeway at all. The beach was awesome (although you need to get there really early to get a spot in the sun because all those trees mean a lot of shade!), the pool was nice (GENIUS idea to have an adult pool & a family pool - thank God for no obnoxious screaming kids ruining our peace!!), and we liked the room. The beds were nice and comfortable, and very clean. Staff were all super friendly & helpful, and granted all our requests for extra coffee packets & cups.

My only major complaint is that the Wi-Fi didn't work in my room, nor did my cell service, so anytime I needed the web I had to go out in the hallway. I did complain about this, and the staff kindly reversed our resort fee. Otherwise, I think the resort fee would've been really annoying, and made me rate only 3 stars: you *have* to have a car in the Keys, and then the hotel wants to charge you for parking?? Really? Maybe it'd be OK if they had a complimentary shuttle...

The other comment my mom had was that at the Treetops restaurant, while the food was good, it was missing that "something" to make it truly nice, e.g. a candle or flowers on the tables. The food overall at the hotel was over-priced & underwhelming (we ate at Treetops & the Tiki bar at the beach), so I don't recommend eating on the property.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanside; the other ones have decks overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbuck441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    1,239
    769
    458
    292
See reviews for
1,360
1,787
70
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions during our trip because we were able to get a good rate at short notice. The staff at the reception desk were polite enough, although on the second visit the room didn't have a hair dryer and we had to phone down twice to get one brought to our room. The elevator smelled of mildew and one of two elevators had an expired inspection tag in it. The first time we stayed there were ladies in the room near us which were having a bit too much fun, but they were quieted down at a reasonable hour, which we appreciated. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The room on the second night was quiet. Not a bad place to spend the night if you can get the room at a discount, but I'd be miffed if I had paid rack rate for the place.

Room Tip: The "canopy rooms" are a lot cheaper and the only difference is that the room's view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Driving into or out of the keys can be a royal pain and can take many extra hours in the car. The driving can really wreck the keys vibe that you want to cultivate and maintain when you are there. Timing your trip so that you can stop in Key Largo is a good investment in mental health. Otherwise, you are part of the rental car parade that snakes down US 1.

I build my Keys trips around the traffic problem. That usually means one extra night as part of the trip. I can't imagine why a tourist would fly into Miami or Ft. Lauderdale, and then rent a car only to sit in traffic while trying to get into the middle or lower Keys. Ouch.

If you can stop in the Key Largo area, then you can manage the peak traffic issues and be much more relaxed. For chain hotel types, this Hilton is a big part of that equation. This place gives you a place to stop and get your Keys vibe going if you are heading down, or keep it for one more night if you are going back to the real world.

This is an old school, heavy concrete property that lacks physical charm, but they try to make it up. Decent sunsets from the dock, and a reasonable try a a sand beach. Since there are only a couple natural beaches in the Keys, they get a B+ for effort. The landscaping has recovered from Hurricane Wilma and the birds have come back. Their papaya trees are really producing right now.

Rooms are large and comfortable. They have chilled water fan coil units for rel comfort. No odors at all. The water views give you a look at the Southeastern boundaries of the Everglades Park. Overall, a nice place to take a deep breath and get your Keys ON at the beginning of a trip, or hold onto it for one last night on the way out.

Yes, it is pricey for the area, and yes, you pay a "resort charge" for crap that you will not use or, like the internet service, does not even work. So what. Pay the $20, put your feet on the sand and breathe deeply. Life is short, and if you are like me, the time is better spent here with a drink, on the sand, than sitting in traffic with 1000's of tourists trying to get somewhere at the same time.

The Keys experience is worth the extra night. This is my place to do the extra night so that my Keys experience will be what I Need it to be for my general well being.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Front desk: friendly, but some representatives are slow and with lack of common sense staff. Mat and Kevin left negative impression as a team and individually, you can not rely on anything they say. I would give them award of "go, get some training". The rest of the staff was trying very hard to make a few days memorable. Nice, clean room, decent breakfast and friendly people. We will be back with a hope that Front Desk will get additional training and people who answer the Service Phone "0", will remember what they promise. I would call it Average ++.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARON27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Noisy rooms-beach parties until midnight, very noisy maids, air conditioners bang and slam, doors slamming all day and night, breakfast chef has no clue how to cook eggs. Tasteless breakfast fruit, "Resort charge of $18/day for parking and wi-fi that does not work in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Yogigee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a big property that is pretty well spread out. The main building is right next to the shore and there is a parking lot separating the rooms from the pool/spa. Not a deal breaker but it is interesting to have to cross the parking lot in order to get to the pool. The bar at top level of the pool was a nice touch although it would be a lot better if it was open (it was clocked up at 5:30 on a Saturday night) !?!
The "canopy rooms" overlook a very thick grove of trees and vegetation. Your floor will determine whether you are looking at the tree trunks, the branches, or the upper leaves and canopy. You will have to be on the top floor (4th) in order to see the ocean...otherwise you are in the dark, although you will be able to hear the waves crashing.
The hotel has a "private beach area" which is very small but quite lovely, and a bigger beach which we never used because it felt overcrowded. A nice long pier allows for fishing and watching the sunset.
Service was either very good or very bad, depending on the individual. As an example, the battery in our rental car was dead the morning of our departure, the front desk simply told us they could not help. I guess there is potential for huge liability for jumping a dead battery and helping a Hilton Honors Member? However, someone else at the property was kind enough to take 5 minutes to do exactly that and help us with a very simple problem.
All in all the hotel is fine if you don't have high expectations and you get a good room rate. Just make sure they don't have a wedding booked the nights you are there. Rehearsal dinner means loud music and noise until 1:30 AM. The wedding night means Caribbean music and DJ's playing all night long...the venues are so close to the rooms that you can not get away from the music unless you lock yourself in your room and or leave the hotel (which is what we did). If you stay here, absolutely get the top floor, get a good rate, and you will be OK.

Room Tip: Get top floor (4th floor) for a view of the ocean or anything else...anything below the 4th floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MESerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in a junior suite overlooking the canopy and were not disappointed. The traffic noise was audible but not overly bothersome. The room was bright and the air conditioning in good working order.The staff are very friendly and helpful. Spent our days on the beach and it was nice to just sit back and relax. Tried to go parasailing but because of the windy conditions were not able to. Did the jet ski though and had lot of fun with that

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,411 reviews
16.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Property: Hilton Key Largo Resort
Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing