We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the typical Hilton standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Eunice, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the typical Hilton standards”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort does NOT reflect the usual high Hilton standards that we have come to expect. The rooms are very old and dated other than that it was a fun place, nice beach and great views. Hilton did however honor their 100% satisfaction guarantee because of our displeasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear David3711,

We're glad we had the opportunity to serve you and appreciate your feedback. We regret your disappointment with our property decor and will keep your comments in mind as we look towards refresh opportunities. I'm glad we were able to help take care of you and we hope that we can invite you back to some of our changes.

Kind regards,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    1,248
    776
    468
    304
See reviews for
1,391
1,801
70
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Concord, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Drive passed the rest of the hotels/motels and stay at the Hilton Key Largo. You'll love the views, price, customer service and always ask for an water view. The Waves Bar on the Beach is where you want to enjoy an adult beverage and dinner. Nichole runs a fun bar, and Alan provides outstanding music. Make sure they're working, and get their ASAP! The Tree Top Bar/Restaurant provides a must eat breakfast. Always go for the full buffet! ENJOY! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Request a room with a water view from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay was August 30th 2013 on a Saturday night. Check in went smooth. Hotel and surrounding properties are all nicely tucked into the wooded area right off the highway. Property is a little dated as far as Hilton properties go...however this property was formerly another resort.......so maybe Hilton has not finished putting their touches on it yet? Room was very clean with a nice view of the water from our balcony. Nice pool and small but adequate beach area complete with a beach bar and grill. Great for spending some leisure time in the water or lounging on the beach. Watersports are available by Caribbean Watersports on property as well.
Best drink on property is the Key Lime Pie mixed drink frozen! But be careful....they do make good ones down in Key largo!
Restaurant on site was excellent as well. We had dinner and breakfast as well. Both meals were excellent. Very attentive wait staff. Great views of the water from both inside and the patio dining area as well.
We will stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room as some of their rooms do not have a view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC-Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to several Hilton Resorts. I'm not sure this one deserves the "resort" title in the name but it was a nice hotel. My kids had a lot of fun between the "scavenger hunt," ping pong table, and the pool. The pool is a nice size with a fun little waterfall. Only downside, the pool is on the side of the resort that's close to the highway so you hear a lot of street noise. close to the highway so you hear a lot of highway noise. It rained one afternoon so all the kids had to come out of the pool, the pool staff gave all the kids ice cream.

I enjoyed the beach but another guest I spoke with thought is was small. I enjoyed lounging in the hammocks that were on the beach. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. If you're looking for a happening beach - this ain't it. But, it was exactly what I was looking for.

Treetops restaurant was nice. They offer both inside and outside dining. We only ate there for breakfast but enjoyed the buffet and the cooked to order omelets. The staff was very accommodating. One morning, I had a yogurt parfait. I enjoyed it so much, I was looking forward to it the next day. They didn't have any ready but my waitress made sure they made me one that day & she saved me one the following day.

I would definitely recommend staying here but if you're used to a true resort, keep in mind that this location is more of a standard Hilton hotel. My only regret is that we didn't do any fishing. The hotel provides poles and you can purchase bait.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms have a wonderful view. We chose a room facing the parking lot because of the size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea Harris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here from the 29/6/13 to the 5/7/13 Fantastic location, great service, staff very helpful, nothing too much trouble.
View from hotel restaurant amazing, food lovely as well, again the service was excellent.
Beach was to die for, water so warm and clear and if that is not your preference two fab pools, their was also a good little gym, a bar on the beach to refresh yourself what else to you want !
Highly recommended for a bit of luxury in an amazing location.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

While a great location directly on the beach bay area this hotel facility is outdated and needing a full renovation. As our experience with the pipes bursting with water damage in over 25 hotel rooms. Many of our personal effects were water damaged. The Flat screen TV was inoperative on my evenings, room smelled of we mildew, large black ants and small brown ants throughout the hotel room including inside the bed sheets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Michael H,
We're are very sorry to hear about your experience. The health and safety of our guests is very important and I can assure you that the pest control and water damage issues have been addressed. Someone from our hotel will be contacting you shortly to follow up and help alleviate your concerns.

Kind regards,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I went to the Hilton Key Largo with lower expectations than I would normally have for a Hilton Resort, based on previous reviews. Having stayed in Miami, Orlando and Naples during our trip at 4/5 star hotels, we had been spoilt, so we went with an open mind. And I'm glad we did.

The check in was quick and my request for a sea view (which I mailed before I went) was happily provided. The room we had on the 4th floor was at the far end of the resort overlooking the quiet beach and had wonderful sea views. And it is the views that you go to the keys for.
Our room was spacious and clean and the beds comfy.

The beach - which many hotels in the keys do not have, was clean and it was relaxing lounging around. We did the water sports - they were in my opinion priced similar to other centres on the keys - although with a captive market, it may have been a little more expensive.

The sunset - was amazing! Another reason to choose this hotel. It had an amazing view.

We ate one night in the restaurant and the food was good. We also sat at the beach bar regularly for drinks. Prices were similar to every hotel we had stayed in during our stay.

Nice pool; these are however situated at the back of the resort. The lady in charge of towels etc. was very keen to make sure everyone was happy and the area was clean.

Few minor issues - there was nowhere to get a coffee after breakfast until 5pm when the Treetops bar opened; with a coffee loving husband; this was not good. Yes there was a coffee maker in the room, but it was a walk, and not the best coffee. We would have expected this to be a standard offering - coffee at the bar for sale. Only hotel we have stayed in ever that don’t offer coffee or tea for that matter. I noticed on the last day that complimentary coffee was available from 630am t0 830am in reception; this wasn’t publicised. Maybe worth sharing in the newsletter they hand you when you arrive.

Air conditioning was effective, but a little noisy!

I think that going with an open mind is the best! We did and we enjoyed the resort for the simple reason that we wanted to relax. This hotel is not for those who expect to have 24 hour service or lots going on. This is a typical keys hotel from what I see from reviews.

We enjoyed our time there. Lots of lovely diners within 2-3 miles both way!

Room Tip: Sea view to watch the sunset! it's amazing. IF you want quiet, you need the rooms overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NooneClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
958 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
575 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Property: Hilton Key Largo Resort
Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing