We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was a bit disappointed in this hotel. I had high expectations for the Hilton brand, and this hotel just seemed average. We dined at the hotel restaurant and but our waiter seemed perturbed. Otherwise, great sunset views and beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    1,132
    662
    374
    213
See reviews for
1,183
1,550
60
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our experience at Hilton Key Largo was excellent! The main entrance area of the property, interior and exterior is breathtaking! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was good size, and very clean. The resort offers lots of activities, some are free. Be sure to check the listing, so you don't miss anything. I would highly recommend the Kids Kayak Adventure. It was only $10 for a short instruction period and a guided kayak outing into the bay. My kids are 7 and 12. It was really amazing to watch them accomplish this completely on their own. Lots of shops and restaurants are within 5-10 miles of the resort, and you can get sandwiches and drinks at the beach/pool areas. We will definitely vacation here again!

Room Tip: The far north end is where the main private beach is-the smaller private beach is on the south end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For the price we found the rooms outdated. There was rust on all the metal surfaces. The doors all opened to outside and the paint was old and yucky. Our air conditioner only got down to 78 degrees the first night. After calling attention to the problem they fixed it. The bed was hard. The staff was very accommodating. We really enjoyed sitting on the dock and even saw a stingray one night. This is the bay side and there are no waves. Several people were snorkeling but stated there was nothing to see in the water. Overall it reminded us of a cheap hotel with very good service. As we drove down to Key West we saw several other places that we would have preferred to stay versus this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The location for a Florida Keys visit is great. Reception as all staff very friendly and helpful. Grounds are well kept.
Hotel structure, rooms and amenities are very dated, small and in dire need of upgrading / renovation.
Even without a major renovation job, just a few little touches could make for a major improvement, for example:
Bathrooms are tiny even in Grand King rooms. Yet there would be ample space for some towel racks. There simply is not a place where you can hang up your towels to dry, let alone to leave them somewhere out of the way.
As a weekender, traveling light, you are going to be ok with space to open your luggage. As a visitor from overseas you are seriously challenged with one small spot (broken) to put up and open a suitcase.
Even with double occupancy, the tiny single shampoo bottle provided is just good enough for one person to get a good wash.
Sure you can always call housekeeping for more, but you shouldn't have to bother with this kind of thing.
You do get a fridge in the room, the beverages however you have to get from motel style vending machines, wine, or liquor from the bar or room service.
If you are not on some kind of package, an 18 USD daily charge allows / forces you to use the facilities which are not anywhere near the standard of this day and age resort. The pool areas are split between adults only and families..., both tiny
The beach facilities are very limited due to the very limited space on the beach. Towels are provided at pool and beach side but very skimpy and worn.
The Treetop restaurant has nice outside seating with a beautiful view. The inside area is comfortable but anything but stylish.
You look at the unused breakfast buffet area, at dinner time ( a simple screen could hide it ) you see a large flatscreen above the bar area and have to listen to very noisy, piped in music. For stylish atmosphere make sure you stay outdoors.
On the positive side: staff at restaurant and reception are great. Very friendly, efficient and helpful.
Food and drink at Treetop restaurant was great, both for choice and quality.
Would I return ? Probably not if looking for a quality resort style Hotel by a well known brand that Hilton represents.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hongkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Key Largo for our anniversary and enjoyed the stay...rooms are really nice, large, clean, modern. We didn't have much of a view as we were on the back /parking lot side but the private beach was beautiful. Loved walking out on the docks in the evening and at sunrise, no one was out then and it was beyond peaceful...that's were I saw a manatee surface right in front of me on the dock, AMAZING!!!!!!!! Staff was average for a Hilton, food was pricey but no complaints really. Would go back, overall a nice place to stay in Key Largo.

Room Tip: Ask for water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good sized room. close to the private beach area was very nice. enjoy the adults only pool, no kids. Right next to the family pool. Look out for high drink prices, $10 for mixed drinks !. goto a liquor store and BYOB to the beach ! Would have been 5 stars if it werent for these things : balcont sliding door nearly impossible to open, put a handle on those doors ! beds are stiff, offer a softer bed option. Great location, close to most diving boats, and much dining. I was hesitant when poepl said it wasnt on par with other Hilton, but this place was not bad at all not moldy or dirty, it was clean. I may stay there again if they improve the bedding..

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd floor have canopy view, tree top view, but can see some ocean view anyways. ask to be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubby-doo-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

hotel including pool, room price, location = great. pool bar not opened late; the watersports offered thru the hotel are too expensive, beach staff was rude and condescending. I would not go for the watersports, no activities offered for the little ones had to go off hotel property for almost everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,036 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Property: Hilton Key Largo Resort
Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing