We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxing stay at Key Largo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at Key Largo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a quick weekend with our daughter we decided to head to Key Largo after flying into Miami. The Hilton Resort has newly remodeled rooms and a nice pool and beach area. It was also convenient to some great restaurants although you have to have a car. There is a restaurant on the property as well as a snack bar at the pool. Def request a room below or above the 2nd floor unless you like a tree view. My daughter loved the treasure hunt and ping pong on the beach. The grounds need some work and the gardening needs updating.

Room Tip: For water view go for the first floor or more expensive third floor not second!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ex_Jersey_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi ex_Jersey_girl ,
Thank you for the sharing your recent experience with your family at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. We are very pleased hear you had a relaxing getaway. Our Resort Ambassador,Lisa Boles, thouroughly enjoys conducting Treasure Hunts as well as many other daily activities with young family members. I hope you have a chance to visit Key Largo next time you visit South Florida.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    1,097
    627
    347
    190
See reviews for
1,115
1,489
53
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this hotel as a stopping off point, to break the journey between Maimi and Key West. We arrived late and left the next morning. The staff were friendly and polite. The room was clean and spacious, clean bedding and bathroom. However it is dated and could do with a refurbishment. It is located on the beach so a nice stroll in the morning. There is very little else within walking distance and places seem to close early evening. Pick up beers + wine at the gas station and a pizza at the take away before you checkin, there is a fridge in the room. It was my first time to the keys and I expected Key Largo to have more life, like Key West but it is a sleepy little village. OK for an overnight stay, but I would say go elseware for a holiday

Room Tip: Some rooms face the sea, others the car park, there is a lot of trees blocking the rooms view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_happyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Greeting Mr_happyManchester,
Thank you for sharing your stop over in Key Largo enroute to Key West. Our location does offer nice area to visit when your looking to get away from the hustle & bustle of city life. Although there may not be the night life found in Key West, there are many great dining experiences to be found as well as world class fishing and diving. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Florida Keys.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great value for price. Hotel staff was very accommodating and professional. I would return here with no problem. Beach was small but driving around, all the beaches on the keys look very small. Plenty of things to do in the hotel with the water sports they have. Great restaurants around here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FA68721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello FA68721,
Thank you for sharing your visit to the HIlton Key Largo Resort. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our tropical beach and water sports activities. We understand that finding a nice beach in the Florida Keys can be difficult with all the native Coral on most water front locations. Our white sand beaches are a great setting to enjoy the waters to their fullest.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed a few days here back in October of 2012. When I think of Hilton I think of quality...not so much for this Hilton Hotel. Check-in was smooth and the front desk was very friendly and polite. We stayed in a king water view room. Upon entering our room I was a little taken aback by the smell and quality of the room. The smell was musty (almost like a gym locker room) and the room was nothing impressive. My friend and I were so surprised by the quality, smell, and condition of the room we seriously thought about leaving and going back to a wonderful hotel we had just left in Islamorada. The plus side of the hotel is the grounds...they are beautiful with hammocks along the shoreline, small private beach areas, snorkeling, and we even took part in the onsite jet ski and kayak rental! In addition we also enjoyed an in room massage by the onsite massage therapist. She was a hoot! :) I would say overall the hotel is decent but not what I expected from the Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d1xiegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Bmv1974,
So glad to see that you choose to visit the Hilton Key Largo Resort while returning to the Florida Keys. I agree that the 4th floor rooms offer a commanding view of the Florida Bay. We thank you for your suggestion to have coffee available in our lobby area in the morning, I will convey your suggestion to my team. We do offer in-room breakfast beginning at 7am each day as well as pre-ordering room service breakfast for a stress-free morning. We are currently reviewing a renovation program and hope to exceed your expectations in the future.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The plus side.. Great little get away spot, fun drinks at the tiki bar to sip while watching the sunset, short nature path on the walkway to the beach, pleasant staff and convenient location.

My only concern is that for the price, the Hilton in Key Largo does not compare to other Hilton locations that I've visited in terms of cleanliness and upkeep. The motel-style doors and tile flooring was underwhelming. The beach is small and, at least when I was there, squirming with little ones! This is a fun family place to stay, however was not as convenient for a relaxing break.

Breakfast was fresh and peaceful, however expensive ($12 fruit plate). Next time, I'd plan on making it all the way down to Key West, but if I need to stop in Key Largo, I'd go back to the Hilton in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the more natural (less crowded) beachside for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Flyyogagal,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. I am happy to have read that you visited our hotel while on your way to Key West. Sometimes a swim and a visit to our Tiki Bar at sunset on our beach is a perfect break. We are currently reviewing renovation options and look forward to you return visit in the future.
Enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is our third trip to the Florida Keys and I would say the Hilton was the best of the hotels we stayed at. The property was very nice, lots of greenery/trees and great water views. I can undestand how some folks might be dismayed by the trees if staying on a lower level because they do block the ocean views but we requested and received a room on the 4th (top) floor. The room itself was spacious, clean, and layed out well. I agree that the rooms need to be refurbished - the furniture was chipped and sofa in room was worn and sunk in.

I also have issue with "resort fee". I knew it existed going in but still think it is absurd for any hotel to charge a fee on top of the room rate for items that some guests may use and others do not. Wifi is included in room rates at most hotels these days and parking fees are typically only charged in large cities. As far as local phone calls, who uses that these days? Most people have cell phones. If guests want to use their bicycles, then charge them for it - not everyone else that doesn't use them. They also need to have their front desk staff explain this to guests at check-in and tell us what it is covering. We weren't informed of what it included. On our third day here I decided to use the included wifi only to find out that you need a code to access it that no one ever told us about.

The propery was very clean and had a very tropical feel to it. We enjoyed the beaches alot, the hammock beach was very peaceful and the main beach was nice as well.
I know some folks mention staying at the Cheeca as opposed to the Hilton. I'm sure its a wonderful resort but it is also atleast double the cost of the Hilton for a standard room.

Housekeeping forgot on several days to clean or leave amenities in the room . One day it was shampoo/conditioner/hand towels, another day it was body wash/mouth wash, and another it was forgetting to clean the sink/vanity. We had to call almost daily to have these items sent up to the room. This seems to be a common issue in this area though as we experienced the same issue to a larger extent at a different hotel last year.

Only had breakfast one morning at the on-site restaurant - it was good but expensive as expected. Dined off property for the rest of the stay.

Suggestion for the management - have coffee available in the morning in the lobby or gift shop. We didn't care for the in room coffee makers and drove to Starbucks to get it. Would much prefer to get it on-site and be able to sit on balcony and enjoy the view with morning coffee.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again, especially if they invest some money in updating the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a water view - top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmv1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear BMV1974,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave your detailed feedback about our property. While we are happy that you would stay again and enjoyed all the unique items that we believe make our property standout we are disapointed in some of the items you noted. We take all of our guests feedback very serious and will take what you have left and examine and address with our staff.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you back again next year or even sooner!

Best,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hilton Key Largo for our daughter's wedding. I found the hotel a lovely location for a wedding and the wedding planners and staff were wonderful in making it a special day.

The hotel itself is older but I rather like the laid back ambience that that gives the location. The beach facilities were excellent, and everyone in our party had a great time. We stayed in Room 445, and the afternoons were a bit noisy for napping, but the view was magnificent, and the patio an extra bonus.

Food was quite good, although the breakfast was repetitive and had we been paying (our breakfast was complimentary-$5 for an upgrade to hot food--with Hilton Honors) I would have found somewhere else to eat.

Very relaxing spot for a vacations, and a wonderful wedding venue.

Room Tip: The other side of the hotel (overlooking hammock beach) might have been quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mary C,

Thank you so much for your feedback and sharing such a special occassion for your daughter and family with our property. We are so excited we could exceed your expectations to provide you the type of experience that helps make those types of occassions even more memorable.

We hope the lucky couple will be back to celebrate future anniversaries and who knows maybe even you can tag along again!

Best Travels,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,933 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#3 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#6 of 17 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#8 of 17 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Property: Hilton Key Largo Resort
Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing