We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but other problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I usually have no issues with Hilton hotels. My wife and I have been to the Keys many times, as we live in southern Palm Beach County and the Keys are a convenient 90 minute drive away. We gave the Hilton a try and came away disappointed.

Reasons: Parking is expensive, not complimentarty. As I recall it was about $15.00 a day.
Next, no free wi-fi in the rooms. That cost another $12.00 a day. The beds were mediocre. When we called about how truly uncomfortable they were we were told that they were new beds.
The staff at the front desk was at best neutral toward us upon check-in. The restaurant was okay, but nothing special.

We booked a three day stay, but left after the second day. Afterwards, we got all sorts of phone calls and emails expressing their apologies. Overall, we spent about $500.00 for a couple days of dissatisfaction. Much happier at the Marriott at Key Largo, and don't plan going back to the Hilton -- ever. Sad, because the location is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask in advance about the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Araxiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear RJK,

I am sorry to hear your disatisfaction with some of our incidental charges. Within the past couple of months we eliminated those incidental charges in favor of a Resort Charge of $18 instead of the $14 parking, $13 internet, phone calls, and other amenities that we charged for. I am sorry if this was not portrayed to you at check-in and that you also encountered other challenges with our service because that is the one thing we speak about daily is going above and beyond in our service for our guests as you stated with our attempts to contact you to resolve your challenges. I think it could be said that If we didn't care we wouldn't have gone to the calls and emails to apologize for those challenges and would have done nothing.

Should you stay again at any of our competitors and miss the features of our wonderful resort please contact me directly to help with your booking.

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,642 - 2,648 of 3,949 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Hilton key largo is an ok hotel but definitely not to Hilton standard.The rooms were clean the beach is beautiful and the staff was very accommodating.I did see maintenance people out touching up paint and trying to keep the property up but it needs a face lift.We can say we were disappointed just underwhelmed for the price.

Room Tip: Canopy rooms look at the trees. Pick a third floor room if available .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtraveler2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear MNtraveler2001,

Thank you for your honest feedback about our property and noticing that we are actively trying to maintain and clean our property. Your feedback has been sent along to our ownership and they are currently discussing options to make enhancements and renovations to our property.

We hope that maybe the next time you are in the area you may give us a try again.

Best Travels,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed nights in March. The staff was lovely, and I am really glad I paid extra for an ocean view room since the view and sunsets were spectacular. We were on the 4th (top) floor - not sure how much view the lower rooms would have. The room was clean and the beds comfortable, but the bathroom is small and certainly not state of the art (esp after just leaving the brand new Gale Hotel in Miami). Then again, you don't come to Key Largo to spend time in the room. We had the breakfast included package; breakfast was fine with lots of choices, standard hotel stuff from eggs and bacon to yogurt and fruit. The restaurant also has a beautiful view, so eating on the balcony was a great way to start the day. The scariest part was the elevator by our room that made terrible creaking noises - it certainly encouraged us to take the stairs which is healthier anyway.

Room Tip: high room, ocean view (we were in 427)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Atlanta Jaime,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave your feedback regarding our resort. We are so excited you enjoyed yourself and found our resort be casual and relaxing which is exactly what we try!

We hope the next time you venture to Key Largo you will stay with us again to enjoy those views and sunsets again!

Best Travels,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was hoping for a couple of days relaxing on the beach in Key Largo on the way from Fort Lauderdale to Key West but that was not possible due to the weather. It was cold, cloudy, and windy, and sometimes rainy – not the hotel’s fault, obviously. So we went to the bar the first night and ordered a couple of drinks (bourbon on the rocks and a vodka and tonic) and the price came to just over 20 bucks before tip. The bourbon was basically a double but it was a regular sized V&T. Breakfast was very good but expensive at $18.95 for a buffet and $15.95 for Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict. Then of course there is tax and tip. It cost about $50 for breakfast.

We actually drove back to South Beach in Miami on Saturday because there really wasn’t anything to do in Key Largo. We stayed in on Saturday night and ordered a movie ($16.99) and a club sandwich from room service ($18.74) to split for dinner after having a late lunch in Miami. Okay, I understand that it’s a ‘resort’ and it’s going to be more expensive. The room was over $300 per night including tax and service fees and did not include breakfast.

But then at checkout time you are charged a ‘resort fee’ ($18.00) and a ‘room occupancy tax’ ($2.25) per day on top of the pre-paid $300+ per night!

The hotel is nice and the service was very good, but the other two hotels we visited on this trip were much cheaper and they included breakfast.

Room Tip: We ordered a room with a 'canopy view' because it was cheaper, but it was still overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffpdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear jeffpdavid,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent trip to visit our property and yes we are sorry about the weather as we wish we could control that believe me! We are glad that you enjoyed the property but sorry that you found it overpriced compared to the other properties you stayed at. We actively shop our direct competition in our markets to make sure that we are priced in line with everyone else if not beating them on all items from the rooms to the food and beverage especially during our busiest periods which is from February to August.

If you are in the area during September and October better value can be found then as it is our off season.

Best Travels,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Certainly not to the standard of other Hilton hotels we have stayed at but our room was clean and in good order. The bar area and restaurant were very disappointing with limited outside seating in which to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner aperatif, given the balmy evening weather and lovely views. So much potential unused. On the terrace, the restaurant tables were more reminiscent of a cafe, and with a totally uninspiring menu. It would benefit from some managerial flair.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Johanna143,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave your feedback. We always look for guest feedback to let us know how we can improve our hotel decor and create a more inviting atmosphere for our guests. Your suggestions are certainly appreciated and we'll keep them in mind as we make updates to our current look.

Kind regards,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate a 50th birthday. The hotel was very tired. Almost asked to change room due to the carpet cleanliness. I always thought a Hilton hotel was supposed to be above average. If so they need to remodel or sell it. Restaurant food was average but expensive. The resort, itself, was very clean. It offers activities, including watersports. We were fortunate to experience wildlife sightings.The adult / children's pools were well maintained and nicely designed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Gregs L,
We're so glad you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion and regret that we could not have made it a more enjoyable experience. Your feedback is very valuable and has helped us to make improvements to our current processes. We're also keeping your suggestions about interior updates in mind as we continue to make enhancements to our offerings. We hope you'll come back and let us know what you think of our progress.

Kind regards,
Stephen J. Brower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I would suggest that if you are planning a trip to key largo, try & find other accomodations untill the Hilton remodels the Hotel
Old & worn best describes the furniture & decorating in the lobby & rooms. Shower stalls need repairs and or remodeling.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Ken G,

We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our hotel decor. Quality amenities, superb service, and excellent accommodations are very important to us because we know how important they are to our guests. We are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Stephen J. Brower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $239 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing