We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Last Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Glenmoore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our Last Resort!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We've been staying here off and on for 10 years. This was our last year! Inconsistent is the KEY word! Although the furnishings have not been updated in 10 years, it is clean but you can't hide the carpeting issues! Anyway, we booked a week in a "canopy" room. This is short hand for: so much vegetation you can't even see the water!! We objected so they moved us to a very nice room for two days but alas and alack, it was already booked for the rest of our stay. Our next room was a joke-right off a main walkway and at the top of a beach path. Hello! Good Morning! Our fellow guests became our best friends-they shared everything with us! Coughing, smoking, phone-calls, weeping, arguments-a very public room. Warning: get a very good description of where the room is and what is the view. In this hotel it is varied! Also be prepared for the extra fees for parking and "resort fees" which consist of very dated bicycles and maybe fishing rods! If you are bold, you can say, "I object!" and they may waive the fee! The pool area is lovely and has brought us back many years but....... honestly I think we can do better for $200/day!

Room Tip: Don't choose a "key" room, a "canopy" room, a room on the south side, a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babspeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear babspeak1,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we truly appreciate your loyalty as a valued guest. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of servicing guest rooms and neutralizing noise discomfort. We'll also be reevaluating our current amenity charges and offerings. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area. I do hope that you will be our guest again.

Kind regards,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    1,254
    779
    470
    312
See reviews for
1,406
1,807
70
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i took my mom to hilton key largo for her 80th birthday. i had reserved a handicapped accessible room online for 5 nights. when we arrived we were told that a handicapped accessible room was not available and would not be available except for the following day, and we were put in building D second floor which was not a good fit for us. i called hilton that evening and spoke with a manager. the following day we were moved to the accessible room for the duration of our stay. from that point on the stay at this hilton was fantastic. everyone went out of their way in terms of kindness and helpfulness. they had a mardi gras night on feb. 17th which was super fun. the breakfast buffet (included in our package) was consistently good. happy hour each day was fun with half priced drinks and appetizers. lisa, the resort grounds manager inquired each day about our stay. the restaurant and bar staff were equally considerate, outgoing and fun. housekeeping was excellent, the grounds were well kept and clean. i got my mom a massage in the tent by the beach. le leigh, the masseuse, was delightful. this was an important trip for my mom and it turned out to be a memory she will never forget. i would stay here again on my next visit to key largo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear devin57,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. We are glad you choose our hotel to help celebrate the 80th birthday bash. I am so happy you really enjoyed all the amenities offered at our unique property and hope you are able to return for the 81st celebration.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great place to stay on Key Largo. The hotel feels very well kept. The grounds are simply beautiful with two private beaches, tropical forest. Restaurant is expensive but food is very good. Lots of things to do. Was one of the best vacation experiences, would love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Alexadre A,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. I am very pleased that your vacation was a total success! We are thankful that you enjoyed your well earned vacation and hope to revisit in the future. Key Largo has much to offer and we are happy you found it very much to your liking!
All the best,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Dog friendly ($50 fee) and beautiful location just steps from the sand (West side of key). The hotel has water sports and tiki bars on the beach with a gorgeous view of the water. Hotel also has a separate pool with bar and has tennis courts.

Close to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJCoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Ahoy Dr.JCoff,
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Hilton Key Largo Resort. I agree that all guests visiting the hotel should get out and enjoy the water sport activities on the beach as well as tennis and pool time. We understand that your dog is more than just a 'pet' and are happy to allow them to travel with their loved ones. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the Florida Keys!
Best regards,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful. Our room was a good size with a lovely balcony overlooking the ocean.The bedding was extremely comfortable. The room was a little dated and could do with being remodelled.This hotel is set in lovely grounds with woodland walks set with hammocks and seating areas.
There are 2 pools and a wonderful beach area, with a very calm sea bathing area.
The restaurant is on the top floor with wonderful veiws and the sunsets are really beautiful. We ate in the restaurant 3 times, and apart from being too cold with the air conditioning one night, I would definitely recommend it. The food was of a very high standard and the service was very good. The bar area has a happy hour with reduced drinks and half price appetisers from 5PM til 6PM.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagzRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello MagzRoss,
I want to thank you for the kind remembrance of your visit to the Hilton Key Largo Resort. I completely agree that our setting does provide for a very tranquill feeling that is not always easy to find at hotels in the Florida Keys. We do our best to provide you with clean and comfortable accomodations and are happy to hear you fully enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
All the best,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful view of water, free fishing poles, small but nice beach, front desk very nice. Pools were great. Exercise room was also well equipped and clean. We saw several manatees off the Hilton pier. The downsides were housekeeping and you are five miles from most things. Our issues with housekeeping were just annoying, for example, four people in the room - three bath towels. Only decaffeinated coffee was placed in the room. Most days we had two wash clothes, sometimes no hand towels. Yes, we called the front desk and most times, they would bring the items, except when they couldn't find our room. Also, it is a no smoking hotel, yet every time my family went out on the balcony, we were engulfed in cigarette smoke. Yes, we called the front desk, and I even complained to Raymond the manager, however, they could never "catch" the offending party.

Room Tip: Keep the fan on instead of in the auto position to avoid noise from hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear K G,
Thank you for taking the your time to share your experience at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. I am very happy to hear that you had the pleasure of enjoying our beach as well as even seeing a few of our beautiful Manatees! I do apologize for the housekeeping issues as well as the smoking nuisance. Overall, we are happy you had time to enjoy the Florida Keys with your family.
All the best,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and i had an over night stay here on our way back up to Miami, in all honesty i am glad we had booked only one night.

There was nothing really wrong with this hotel, it just didn't meet with my expectations.

The lobby area was quite grand and very spacious and even though our room was not ready when we checked in, the hotel staff were very nice and tried to do what they could to speed things up.

The walk to our room was strange, no-one actually told us where it was or which elevator to use, we eventually found it, but the walk there was quite odd, you feel like you are walking through a concrete parking structure, i suppose this is because it is open to the elements.

The room itself was very nice, with a great view of the bay, we were on the 4th floor which means we were above the tree cover so could actually see the ocean. The bed was very comfortable and all the amenities were pretty much a standard Hilton.

We had booked a trip out with Caribbean Watersports for their Eco Rib Tour which we were really looking forward to unfortunately a rain storm came in and they had to cancel the tour which was fair enough, i think it would have been cold going out without any waterproofs.

Because of the cancellation we decided that we would have a beer and chill out, but unfortunately the outdoor bar closes if there is some rain and the only other bar is situated in the restaurant and does not open until the restaurant does. We did find this frustrating and for a 'resort' hotel would have though there would have been an option to just grab a drink from somewhere. Because of the location of the hotel (Well away from the main eateries of Key Largo) we decided to call a cab to take us to our favorite bar / eatery in KL, the Sundowners.

The beach area is very small and i would have assumed that if the hotel was busy it would become very crowded. Other people were at the hotel and seemed to be enjoying their stay so maybe my disappointment with this Hilton is a personal expectation issue.

Make your own mind up, but i think we will be staying else where next time.

Room Tip: South of the hotel, as high as possible and with a bay view, it wont disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Chunky-M0nkey,
I regret to hear that we could not make your stay more enjoyable and I'm taking this opportunity to review your comments with our team. I'm just as disappointed that the Eco tour had to be cancelled due to weather conditions because we know how much guests enjoy them. I also regret the outside bar was closed for the same reasons and understand your frustration since our other dining area was not open for operation yet. We will be sure to reevaluate our times during unusual circumstances and make any feasible accommodations. We sincerely value your business and hope we'll have another opportunity to serve you.

Kind regards,
StephenJ. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
3.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
4.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Property: Hilton Key Largo Resort
Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing