We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away by this Hilton!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a weekend in Miami, my wife and I decided to make it more of a trip and head down to Key largo. I have to say that I was not expecting all that much, but we were totaly blown away both by the service and the natural surroundings. The hammock beach was pure bliss! We decided then and there that we would try to come back as soon as possible when work and stuff gets too crazy. It was awesome to see that this piece of beach/nature was so lovingly preserved on, let's face it an island with a highway running through it and not much else, noteable exception of course is Pennenkamp state park. The room we had was on the fourth floor (corner) which gave unobstructed views of the Gulf. Loved the tiki hut (although the beer cooler was broken during our stay), the girl bartender (Leslie I believe) was a trooper and battled on, cudos to her! The rooms could use a sprucer up, bathrooms are dated, but all in all this is a winner if the price is right.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Patton36,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding our resort and our staff especially Leslee. Your feedback will be shared with our staff so we can celebrate the succcess as we try to provide all of our guests those same types of experiences.

We hope to see you back down again from Orlando soon!

Warm Regards,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,669 - 2,675 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from a 6 day stay (2/17) with our extended family - 3 rooms - 6 adults 4 kids and we had many issues. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Stay at the Marriott courtyard or Key Largo bay - both much better value for the price.
This is NOT a kid friendly hotel and very dated.
The front desk were all very nice and we got to know the well but I would still recommend staying anywhere else.
Rooms are very dated so lots of little issues everywhere.
Showers did not work in 2 of 3 rooms and they did not have other rooms to offer us to so we had to take baths.
Restaurant was not kid friendly at all and not open for lunch also no options for non meat eaters not even a salad at the pool bar or tiki bar.
On a rainy day nothing is open for food service but room service- Our 2nd night there we had dinner at the restaurant and waited over 2hrs. for our meal that was finally served and so cold we could not eat it, a very rude chef come out and got angry with our table after we complained said he was busy (not an issue for me) but only 4 other tables in the entire place. We were afraid to send the food back so they offered dessert trays - which was a joke as dessert was included in our dinner. Nothing taken off the bill and 18% gratiuty was added to an over $300 bill. Horrible service in the restaurant!
The pool is ok but located in the front of the resort (horrible layout) off the major highway only seperated by trees and next to the dumpsters that smell as you walk into the pool.
Don't try to relax as you hear highway traffic behind you all day.
Drinks at the tiki bar and pool bar are so overpriced I would recommend bringing your own from outside just don't get caught - they get angry .
They charged me $7.45 for my 3 yr olds chocolate milk that was made with heavy cream (which I did not realize until after)as they had nothing but soda to offer the kids.
The resort fee of $18.00 a day was added which we were told included wifi, parking and bike rentals. When we checked out we also had an additional $12.95 for internet sevice, many people were complaining at front desk so double check your bill. They did remove the $12.95 but you have to ask.
And many many older rude people at the resort- when discussed with the front desk they apologized and said it happens alot and they felt bad for us. Which as all they could do.
We had one older couple yell at our children ages 3 -10 for being too loud one night as we were coming back from the pool at 8:30pm (5:30pm our time). It was my 9 yr. olds bday and they were singing to her. The elder man told me my children should be in bed and kids should be seen and not heard.
And finally for two days we had service men all day steam cleaning all of the upholstery in the rooms so big trucks, big hoses and lots of noise filled the enitre resort.

As I stated Over rated and over priced - many other options in beautiful key largo.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Carrie H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I apologize that we could not provide you with a more satisfactory stay. We understand how many hotel choices you have in Key Largo and appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We are reviewing your comments with our staff so we can reevaluate our current amenities and ensure we're meeting all our guest needs. We always want our guests to have an enjoyable stay with positive memories. Your feedback will help us continue to do our best at achieving this. Please feel free to contact me if you have any other comments or concerns and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Kind regards,
Russ Cronberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 5 nights leaving on 2/14/13. The exterior of the property was excellent. The staff was very helpful. Dinner was above average but the drinks were outrageously expensive. We ordered 2 Absolute and tonics. Unfortunately for us there was only enough vodka in the existing bottle for one drink. The barmaid made it do for two weak drinks. I was suprised to get a check for $19.50 for the two glasses of mostly tonic. The grounds were well maintained but the room was "shabby". The furniture was well worn, the carpet was well stained, the desk chair cusion was worn out and the TV was analog and shot. We stayed in room 307...if you go there ask for a nicer room. For the money you deserve better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Chuck P,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback about your stay with us. While we are glad that you enjoyed many parts of your 5 nights including our suroundings and staff, we are sorry about some of the other parts that you didn't enjoy. Your comments have been heard and are being addressed in the best and quickest manner possible to ensure that other guests do not find those same challenges.

Once again thank you for your time and staying with our resort.

Best Travels,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for seven nights with my wife concluding on 2/15/13. Had a third floor corner suite at south end of property (exactly as requested).

The good:
View from room(s) and balcony were wonderful.
Staff were all fantastic (Lianne at front desk ...... superb)!
Received what I asked for ....... gulfview suite, corner room, upper floor, quiet end of property.

The not so good:
Room very worn and outdated. Drawers no longer secured to slides hanging from bureau, sagging sofa, etc.
Price.
Received what I asked for ...... the quiet end of property had a maintenance truck running almost our entire stay just below our balcony.

All this being said, it's difficult to ruin a vacation for us, but ........... as difficult as it is in the short term to turn down income, I strongly urge management to take a room or two at a time and invest even a few thousand dollars per to perform at least a little cosmetic updating. If one loses customers in the long term, the short term income is a poor investment.

So .......... overpriced (unless that's what the view is worth to you). Outdated and furnishings in various states of disrepair. But ..... an awesome staff.

With all the options available, I won't be returning unless I know substantial renovation has taken place.

Room Tip: Only a 4 floor resort, but would suggest floor 3 or 4 on gulfside. Be wiser than I and call prior t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear HHSmith,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave such detailed feedback with suggestions as well. We are so happy to hear that our staff did an amazing job and that you generally loved our resort and the offerings. Some but not all of our resorts rooms are nearing the need for renovation and those conversations are ongoing within ownership and upper management within HIlton so please stay tuned so that you can come back and once again enjoy the over the top service we strive to provide every one of our guests!

Best Regards,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great room - ground floor, balcony right on the beach area. The ocean beach was great with tiki bar, lounge chairs, towels, etc. Great place to relax! Only thing I didn't like about this resort was the $18 resort fee. We weren't aware of the fee until we arrived. Great pool area with two separate pools with waterfall between.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor and also ask about the "resort fee".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bheinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Bheinz,

Thank you for recently staying with our resort and taking time to leave your feedback regarding it. We are excited that you enjoyed almost everything except our Resort Charge. Due to the overwhelming feedback from our guests as you will see if you research old trip advisor reviews we decided to eliminate many individual charges like parking, internet, bike rentals, telephone calls, etc in favor of an all inclusive resort charge as we felt it creates much more value for our guests and the overall the the response has been very favorable.

I am sorry that you felt you were unaware of this charge as it is clearly posted via our website and all of our third party vendors such as expedia, orbitz, etc. Please feel free if you wish to contact me or the hotel to investigate further where you booked so we can assure everything is correctly posted.

We hope that the next time you are in the keys you will come back and enjoy all we have to offer in our little piece of paradise.

Best Regards,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We were initially booked into a suite in this hotel with a parking lot view. The manager was quick and polite to upgrade us to a water front room view, which in my opinion is the only way to go here. The view from the room was great, however the room was a little run down with old damaged furniture. The room service was prompt and the food was of a good standard. The beach was nice and the walkways through the trees were quaint. The beach service however was non existent during our stay. If you wanted a drink the tiki bar was open for service. The food at the bar was in my opinion well below average and limited in choice. The pool was nice with two identical areas one for adults and one for kids. The pools were separated by a large waterfall designed to drown out the nose of trafic and children, it worked. Again service was limited here to one waiter every three hours or so. Overall the hotel is in a nice area In a great setting. It has average food and slightly below average service. The hotel is for the most part clean and is of average value for the keys. I might stay here again however I usually stay in 5 star Mexican resorts which for value and service leave this place in the dust. It's a solid 3 stars but could easily be 4 with a few tweaks especially in beach and pool service. Paris Hilton would definitely not be staying here. Try the chica lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gintheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear gintheus,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with our property. We appreciate the honest feedback as the only way we can celebrate our success or correct our failures is through our guest feedback. We are glad that overall you saw value in our resort and the beautiful setting which we have but we are sincerely disappointed that you received what you consider average service. Part of the Hilton culture is to embrace our guests and consistently try and provide above and beyond service at every interaction and I am sorry that we failed you there. Rest assured this feedback has gone back to all of our staff and management for immediate action.

Thank you again for your stay and we do hope if you are not visiting Mexico that you may give us another shot in the future.

Best,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Blah. Nothing special here, the hampton inns we stayed at were nicer, cheaper, and included breakfast. The whole area was boring. 12$ hot dogs, we ended up with publix chicken for dinner. Air conditioner sucked.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Jerryh,

We are sorry to hear that it seems like the Florida Keys are just not up your alley for travel. As I am sure you are now aware, the keys were built on and around a natural coral reef and protected Mangrove trees which is what accounts for the few rocks near our beach. Also unfortunately all beaches in the keys are man made because of those natural features but we do honestly believe that our property is very lucky to have the best beach in the upper keys.

Your feedback regarding our food and beverage offerings has been passed along to management as we do listen to all the feedback our guests leave us positive or negative to ensure we are providing our guests the best and most consistent product and service possible.

Should you decide to give the keys another shot we hope that you may give us a return visit as well to experience what we consider to be the carribean US.

Best Regards,
Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $229 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing