We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place lots of fun”
Review of Dream Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dream Bay Resort
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place lots of fun”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and my adult son stayed at Bay house. It was clean and comfortable. The hot tub was a pleasure. We have rented waterfront cottages all over the country and world. Casco Bay Maine, Cape Code Mass., Point Judith RI, Lake George NY, St Simons Island GA, Amafi Coast Italy and have enjoyed them all. I could find some faults with every one of them but that did not affect the enjoyment of our stays. If I were to list the quality of our stay at Dream Bay I would have to give it a 10. The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. They seemed genuinely concerned about our enjoying our stay. Our dog had great time she told me. Access to a private beach and kayaks was a bonus. Lots of snapper and croaker near the nearwater if you fish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elijah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just spent a week in the Tropicasa and it was WONDERFUL!!!!! There were 7 of us and no one had any complaints. Well, we have just one...we were in the large master bedroom and the garbage truck emptied the dumpster which was just on the other side of the fence outside our room at 6 AM on two different occasions. Not that big of a deal, but when you are on vacation and want to sleep in.......The people we friendly and the house was clean. A few more towels would have been nice as it seemed like we were always doing a load of towels. The oven did not work very well, but we left a note for the owners. We had the pleasure of seeing a mother Manatee and her baby on several occasions. We had access to kayaks, paddle boats, rafts and tubes. All in all, we had a wonderful time and we are making plans to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CarolPinellasPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for three night in Tropicasa in February with my parents and their dog. The house is very large and well laid out for privacy. There is a nice fenced in area at the front of the house which was perfect for the dog. It is a short walk to the water where manatees are said to play. Sadly, they eluded me. We spent hours out on the kayaks or just lounging on the chairs watching the water. Fun, laid back atmosphere. There are people that live on houseboats in the marina there who were very friendly. The house seemed to have plenty of everything. The kitchen was beautiful but we only cooked one time. Within walking distance to some restaurants.

We wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was super friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincykeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family stayed in the large home at the Dream Bay Resort for an annual reunion. The owner was pleasant as was the cleaning woman. The home is not as advertised however. It has only a small view of the water and no boats were available for our use. The rooms are adequete, but there is no closet in the 4th bedroom and the bathroom was almost unusable.The home is dangerous if you are not alert. Every person in our group tripped over unexpected steps. The home has been added on to and it is a hodge podge of slightly different levels. In our room there were 2 steps to navigate and because I was afraid one of us would fall, I placed a covered pillow on the floor to catch our eye to remind us. Lo and behold when we picked it up the next day a scorpion popped out. Not such a big deal, but scarey. Our biggest complaint was the lack of dishes and serving utensiles. The ovens were virtually nonworking and so it was a challenge to get a meal on the table. It is just okay. I would only recommend it as a last resort.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank doreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcln, Owner at Dream Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I'm sorry you had a bad experience, but I'm not sure where you got the idea that we supply boats with our rentals. We don't, and I don't know of anyone else who does. Boats can be rented, but they aren't supplied. Tropicasa is a beautiful home, designed by a wonderful architect, with marble floors and recessed lighting. Yes, there is one step down to go into one of the master bedrooms, but it hasn't been a problem for other guests. The whole house is on the ground level, without lots of steps. If you had handicapped issues, you should've told me at booking. Also, if you found the house lacking in any supplies, you could've just called me or asked Bonnie, and she would've certainly made sure that you had everything you needed. Unlike most vacation rentals, my staff is there 24/7 to cater to guest needs. I state clearly on our website, as well as in all advertised sites, that the house sits back from the water but still has a water view, and a photo of the actual view is provided, so I don't believe that is misleading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed for 3 weeks with a friend that rented deckhouse for the month. I enjoyed everything about the property. The location is great you are near everything!!! Shopping, Produce Market, Bike path, Restaurants etc.....It has wonderful views!!!! Nice comfortable rooms with a nautical theme. Kitchen was great for cooking and entertaining. And the deck which was my favorite was wonderful. I loved just having a meal out there and taking my drink to watch the sunset. I will miss the deck because I already booked Tripacasa for next year with a few friends!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancini724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at deck house in February . I love everything about . I love location , they are pet friendly and people are very nice . I don't wanna go home and I will coming back next year. I already make reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggiewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcln, Owner at Dream Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you! We're very happy to have you as a guest and look forward to next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in feb. with our friend who had rented the deckhouse for the month. We found the house charming & quite comfortable. We loved the large private deck outside. The property was well maintained & the guests all friendly. We enjoyed all the amenities, including the kayaks. The owners son was strange & one day he hoarded 3 of the 4 kayaks so we couldn't use them. That was our only complaint. A very strange & anti social young man. Overall it was a wonderful experience & we look forward to returning to dream bay next year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcln, Owner at Dream Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return. I'm sorry there was some confusion between you and my son regarding the kayaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,492 reviews
4.4 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Bay Resort

Property: Dream Bay Resort
Address: 4 Woodward Way, Key Largo, FL 33037-2427
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Bay Resort is a small, family-owned resort and marina located in Key Largo, Florida. We offer a limited number of vacation rentals with dockage and spectacular views of the Gulf of Mexico. For many of our guests, one of the truly memorable parts of their vacation at Dream Bay is meeting all of the colorful locals that reside here. Friendships are made and guests often wish to stay in contact. Pets are welcome, trailer parking, and boat slips on site. Wireless internet is also available on the entire property, including the beach.Our friendly "compound" includes four rental houses, plus a small marina, which allows for a boat to kept here at no additional charge. A fishing jetty, tiki, picnic tables, and a small assortment of other residents and guests add to the laid-back, "keysey" charm. We are also convenient to Key Largo's main attractions, like John Pennekamp Park, many fine restaurants, sport fishing fleet and shopping. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing