We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be named "Nightmare Cove"”
Review of Dream Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dream Bay Resort
Reviewed March 14, 2011

As we came down the drive to our accomodation, passing garbage, broken down tractor and equipment, we arrived at our accomodation. The manager was "out of town on business" and the office closed (always) We moved in to what we thought was our place, unpacked and started to clean and set up. Late that night, someone was banging on the door. It turned oout to be the 20 year old son of the single lady owner. He said we were in the wrong unit (there are only two) and demanded that we move immediately or before 8AM. So, late at night we re-packed, loaded our groceries back up and 2 hours later (with no assistance) were relocated.
Next morning at 7 AM the same young man was banging oin our door and would not leave until we had paid the balance in full
It was filthy by any reasonable standard. So many things were wrong *toilet wouldn't flush *vacuum stuffed and broken *electrical outlet sparking (reported by the previous tenant * half the light bulbs burned out * Only two ceramics in the main bath were in one piece. When we complained about the large branches broken and hanging across the doorway, we were told that the maintenance staff only worked "from 5AM till 9AM so if we wanted someone crawling on the roof at that time, they would fix it.
We were later e-mailed (impossible to meetr in person except once even though she lived next door) telling us that her manager son had resigned due to extreme pressure we put on him. Give me a break! For $3,500 per week plus $500.00 tax we wanted clean and tidy and not the marine like attitude of a young inexperienced manager.
NEVER AGAIN! We tried to leave early and forfeit some money but were refused.
A resort? It's a glorified collection of old and run down buildings and an owner who apparently doesn't give a damn.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank KeithinAberfoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcln, Owner at Dream Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

I had previously written a response to this guest, and also another guest, who was there at the same time, wrote a response describing how disagreeable this particular guest was, and what a great time they personally had at Dream Bay. Somehow, these comments have been removed.

This guest was obviously expecting a 5 star resort, which we are not. We are a funky, keysey place. We tried our best to address all his concerns and demands, but part of it was simply that he was incapable of relaxing and going with the flow. They hadn't taken a vacation longer than a week in over 30 years, and they booked a month, which I think they realized was too long, so they were miserable in general (the other guest mentioned overhearing his constant complaints and how he berated his wife).

Unfortunately, we did have a cleaning crew problem at that time, which I wasn't aware until later. That crew has been replaced. Also, the Deckhouse has been completely renovated this fall, with new paint, decor, and furnishings, so much of what he complains about has been remedied.

We do have some RVs on the property. They belong to some wonderful people, such as a Cuban family who often throws impromptu pig roasts on the beach for all the guests, but I understand the sight of "trailers" upsets some people. So, I'm sadly vacating those sites, due to this, but the reality is that many of the guests have gotten to know these tenants and had a wonderful time with them. We aren't a "trailer park". We're more like an eclectic collection of interesting characters. Those who live here call it a family. But it isn't what everyone expects or is comfortable with, so I've been gradually changing it into a more antiseptic environment, for lack of a better term.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cottage mit Küche
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 615anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antizwerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna3marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paro75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,522 reviews
6.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Bay Resort

Address: 4 Woodward Way, Key Largo, FL 33037-2427
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range: $100 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Bay Resort is a small, family-owned resort and marina located in Key Largo, Florida. We offer a limited number of vacation rentals with dockage and spectacular views of the Gulf of Mexico. For many of our guests, one of the truly memorable parts of their vacation at Dream Bay is meeting all of the colorful locals that reside here. Friendships are made and guests often wish to stay in contact. Pets are welcome, trailer parking, and boat slips on site. Wireless internet is also available on the entire property, including the beach.Our friendly "compound" includes four rental houses, plus a small marina, which allows for a boat to kept here at no additional charge. A fishing jetty, tiki, picnic tables, and a small assortment of other residents and guests add to the laid-back, "keysey" charm. We are also convenient to Key Largo's main attractions, like John Pennekamp Park, many fine restaurants, sport fishing fleet and shopping. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing