We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gem of Key Largo!”
Review of Chubs Subs and Wings - CLOSED

Chubs Subs and Wings
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: We have something for everyone! From Vegans to pure Carnivores. We make fresh, wholesome, delicious food from scratch with love and care. We serve a wide variety of scrumptious goodies from Organic Salads, Smoothies and Juices to Philly Cheesesteaks and Killer Burgers made with 100% all natural beef. Come give us a try and you'll soon be hooked!
Restaurant details
Description: We have something for everyone! From Vegans to pure Carnivores. We make fresh, wholesome, delicious food from scratch with love and care. We serve a wide variety of scrumptious goodies from Organic Salads, Smoothies and Juices to Philly Cheesesteaks and Killer Burgers made with 100% all natural beef. Come give us a try and you'll soon be hooked!
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Gem of Key Largo!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This clearly is not Subway! In fact, I wish Chubs was a franchise or at least open here on the west coast, so we could get a hold of more "Classic Italian" subs. This place is a Gem and i mean that in the best way possible, as the service is just bubbling over with smiles and positiveness (the Cashier IS AN AWESOME YOUNG LADY), to the sub maker(s) that just keep the good times going with conversation and smiles along side healthy portions of professionalism and respect. We had an awesome experience here with J (Chub) and his daughter (they have a awesome relationship). My wife and I went twice the food and VIBES were so good, and the other supporting members of the shop were just as delightful, serving up the good stuff. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE... You'll be sad. Make sure you use your GPS on you cell phone as you can not see it from the HWY due to the Key Largo land scape of Tree's. Its on the eastern side of the hwy, in the"Trade winds Plaza."

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelbush6417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa78, Owner at Chubs Subs and Wings, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for the positive feedback. Yes, we're a family owned and operated small local eatery here in the keys, and we take pride in taking care of our customers! I wish I could have my daughter there all the time, she really takes pride in her job! She works very hard to make sure you're having a great time and we love having her during the summer. Thanks for letting her know how important she is! We appreciate that you took the time! Come back and see us real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Place for Sancks”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Found this place by chance. It's right next to Publix off US1. Small family business. The subs etc were fantastic and prepared much quicker than in Publix. Great choice of fillings and a proper family welcome. All washed down with a $1 Bud while we waited. Worth calling in if you want a good value picnic

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa78, Owner at Chubs Subs and Wings, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We try very hard to make every customer experience enjoyable and memorable. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
1 review
“Chubs Subs plain food and rude service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I go in for lunch. I stand to read the menu and the cashier just stands there impatiently for me to order, no acknowledgement nor suggestions. I order my Hot Chick sandwich and the cashier asks me if I want the chicken crispy or grilled, to which i replied crispy. I sit down. The sandwich comes back grilled. I tell someone and the cook said I heard you say grilled. He makes me the crispy chicken sandwich with buffalo, and it tasted plain, not as outstanding as other people claim. The cashier seemed indifferent and calleous toward me. I'll never eat there again and would strongly discourage anyone for eating there. There's too many places in Key Largo to choose from for this nonsense. If you are looking for subs and happen to be in the Tradewinds shopping plaza in Key Largo. Just go to the deli at Publix for better subs and better service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa78, Owner at Chubs Subs and Wings, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
This is an attempted blackmail review, we have alerted TripAdvisor to it and have yet to receive a response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much better than a Subway!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Locally owned and operated, this place must NOT go by the wayside! Please keep it open by ordering their subs -- you won't be disappointed. Each sub is prepared to your order and is LOADED with everything you want. It's worth the wait and the price!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa78, Owner at Chubs Subs and Wings, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the compliment. We try to serve the community as the go-to local spot for your fresh, tasty, made-with-love lunch! Thanks for letting us know how we're doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped in for lunch today and had the meatball sub and the Cubana. Both were great! Staff was nice and we thought it was cool that the owner's kids worked there too. We'll definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bwoell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa78, Owner at Chubs Subs and Wings, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much! We are so proud that you enjoyed yourself and that you shared your experience with us! Come back soon! We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chubs Subs and Wings also viewed

 
Tavernier, Key Largo
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing