We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D-Hooker - CLOSED

D-Hooker
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Casual, welcoming. We went mid afternoon, was about 1/3 full. We had great service & great food. Definitely would go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trudyfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManyPlacesKeyLargo, Manager at D-Hooker, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    132
    76
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A terrible visit!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in after the big Miami/Florida St. game in anticipation to watch a different afternoon game. The place was emptying quickly from the prior fan base. The restaraunt itself is very nice on the inside and very clean.

We asked our server if we could change the game and she made it seem to be difficult as the people leaving we're still watching highlights on espn from the Miami game. Just note that they have like 15-20 tv's mounted on the walls. I eventually received the game on a television. Unfortunately, I was unable to hear it as the bartender decided to listen to music instead. After watching the staff for a bit it was clear the bartender was very intoxicated as she was even walking around with a cocktail in hand. Her behavior was one that is completely inappropriate while working. Coming from behind the bar and cozying up between 2 males customers at the bar. Between all of hooting and yelling which I can only assume was her mating call we looked at the menu and decided it was overpriced and finished our second beer and asked for our tab. Come to find out for 4 beers I spent 23.00. They did not have a beer price but one beer was 7.00 a pint which is completely overpriced. We left and I'm certain I will not be returning nor would I recommend this place to anyone. If you go I hope your experience is better than mine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank firedawg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManyPlacesKeyLargo, Manager at D-Hooker, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Sorry to hear about your experience but that was truly not our intention. We try to please every customer and play what they want on our tv's. We can not change the channel on someone who has already been there viewing it, but that should have been explain and clarified with you. In regards to the bartender that was unacceptable and we will address it. But please know that she was off for that day and she was a customer on the bar with friends. She just happened to go around to help the new bartender. And she was not drunk, she just happens to have a fun and hyperactive personality that everyone loves, including her customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overall very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I came in tonight to have a nice dinner. We were informed from friends that we could have a whole fish of our choice..it was very disappointing to hear that that is not true but overall very good food. Our waitress Amber was very sweet and nice and on top of everything, the only thing was she ran around doing a lot of things trying to help out everyone else in the restaurant while the other waitresses just stood around..its a bar atmosphere so don't go here if you want a nice quiet dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LAlvarez20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManyPlacesKeyLargo, Manager at D-Hooker, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and we greatly appreciate your review. Please know that you were not misinformed by your friends. We do carry whole yellowtail year round for our guests to enjoy and it is included in our menu. At times we do have whole red snapper, hogfish and grouper but since we only sell fresh fish, it depends on the season, it's availability and our fishermen's catch. We are sorry to hear it was not available during your visit but we are glad to know your overall experience was very good. Again, thank you and hope to see you again. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go for the fried key lime pie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food was average, they were out of ingredients for some of the drink specials, the service was a bit chaotic...overall, an average bar atmosphere.
I would recommend going here for the fried key lime pie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Last Year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of our favourite places last year when we visited but sadly that was not the case this time. Last year the waitresses appeared older and were much more friendly - this year it was just a matter of orders being taken and the food appearing. The food was OK but again our memory of last year was much more positive. A real shame.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank argwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D-Hooker also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing