We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, Off the Beaten Path”

Shipwreck's Bar and Grill
Ranked #19 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Key Largo's Hidden Treasure! And the locals would like to keep it that way. Shipwrecks is located off the beaten path, on a deep water canal, on the ocean side. Come enjoy great food, good prices, and friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere. Happy hour is everyday 4-6 pm when beer starts at $1. Seating is available inside, outside, or under the tiki. Locals, tourists, bikers, families, divers, and all other friendly people welcome!
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty, Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We found this place by accident, wandering around upper Key Largo one day. We decided to go back a couple days later to try it out. The place is a little dive, and I mean that in a good way. My favorite kind of place actually. It sits on the side of a canal near a bunch of charter fishing boats so you get the full "flavor" of being in a seaside community. I personally love the sights, sounds and smells of the docks and fishing boats so I was quite happy. The waitress was very friendly and helpful with answering questions. I tried a coconut beer (not beer in a coconut) but beer actually made/flavored with coconut. It was quite good actually. Everything we ordered was cooked just right and the portions were more than enough. The food was very good and we will definitely be going back the next time we are down that way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    221
    58
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth The Side Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

As many have mentioned, have the GPS ready as you work to find the Shipwreck. Though not far off Rte.1, it's not a route you'd expect to travel to find a terrific eating experience. We visited on 2 occasions(to and from our drive to Key West) and can vouch for the positive reviews others have extended to the place. Though not a post card picture, the Shipwreck was eveything else you want when you dine out. Seafood choices (especially fried or blackened shrimp dishes)were fresh, portioned generously and more than fairly priced. We found the staff friendly and helpful. On both occasions, we sat outside bordering the channel and though there was a crowd on one visit, we were never rushed. One of our best eating experiences during a 6 day Keys trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank km47jk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This place doesn't look much. However the simple non fancy dishes tasted fantastic. We tried the tuna and mixed grilled fish. Also the kids were happy with their choices.
Thanks to the friendly personnel!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joakim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem in Key Largo. You could easily drive by if you weren't paying attention. The food food is always fresh and delicious. They always have great specials and the portions are huge! Lacey is the best. It has become a usual hang out for me and it worth the 20 min drive!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hali1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lobster!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

By recommendation we headed to this place at about 7 at nite. It is a dive, but the food is awesome!! We had the special of the sauted lobster tail with lemon butter sauce and the crab stuffed lobster tail. Super tasty!! Food comes out quick. Small, but really good. Only downside was the waitress that kept scratching all over herself, under her hair and her shirt....???

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mamacita333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck's Bar and Grill also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Shipwreck's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing