We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Blind! from Idaho”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I are never spontaneous. We met a couple in Boise who recommended Key Lime and we went for it. Two weeks later we were at the Club. If you are looking for brand new equipment and over the top resort service...you wont find it. The equipment is well maintained and they have everything you need. Rods kayaks sailboats canoes snorkels masks etc. As far as the service...it was perfect. Honest...great people...making sure you are comfortable and happy. These folks are living the life and it shows. Do the sunset cruise and meet the others in camp get out and have fun. We were not there long enough and we will definitely come back! Thanks Paul. Gloria Cody and others for making our trip great!
The ocean is your swimming pool and fitness center!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

I just stayed here in the Keys Cottage a couple of weeks ago, November 2013. The cottages are old and small (we were told the property was a 1920s fishing camp) but our room was CLEAN - really clean like I was not afraid to touch anything (we've all stayed at one of those places before) and cozy for me and two girlfriends. The shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. We kept drinks and fruit in the fridge but ate meals out because Florida Keys food is better than my cooking. The kitchen was small, but we only used the fridge. We spent one day being tourists down to Key West, but the rest of the time just lounging around KLSC. There's a tiki hut (is that what you call it?) right by the water where we could nap, read, watch the water, listen to the music from nearby restaurants at night... sigh. Heaven. The staff was very kind and helpful. It was really dark at night, there were lit tiki torches throughout the property, but our room key had a flashlight on the key chain. We didn't use any of the amenities included - sailboat, canoes, kayaks, floaties, the grill outside our cottage because we were on a lazy vacation. But if we had wanted to, it was great that stuff was available to us. One of the owners, Paul, took a bunch of us on a sunset cruise on the catamaran for about an hour and a half and it was the perfect last night.

I get that everyone can have a different experience, or a different view on the same experience, at the same place. But I wanted to mention a couple of negative things that were mentioned it other reviews: When you pull in, you pass a lot filled with stuff. It's not like it's a landfill, it looked like they were working on a boat, and you drive by it and then you forget about it. It is separated from the rest of the property and has no bearing on your stay. Forgive me for this one, but the toilet paper thing: It's the Keys. There aren't giant sewer pipes sending our business out to the ocean (thankfully) or Miami. You can't clog all the septic tanks with toilet paper. So you go #1? Ladies, wipe and put it in the trash. No, I had never done that before in my life. But it was no big deal. If it creeps you out, you can take out your trash immediately, the bins are very close. You go #2? Yes, you can flush your toilet paper. Just don't use half a roll of tp like you do at home.

I will definitely be going back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

KLSC was written up in the August 2013 SAIL magazine. That article and all the previous reviewers are absolutely correct in their high rating of the experience. They just left out a few things. We stayed in the Mermaid Cottage and some huge cockroaches resided there with us. Some were so brazen as to come out in the daytime (they didn't last long), but at night we didn't dare get out of bed in the dark. Our friends stayed in the Owners Cottage and had a similar experience. Also the "kitchen" had no counter space and no place to plug in the toaster, coffee maker, etc. except directly over the sink. But getting past the "basic" accommodation, if you are sailors like us, this place is close to heaven. The swing keel Catalina 22 is the perfect boat to explore the area, and the introduction and advice from Captain Sheldon were excellent, as was the service from Cody, the "dock hand".

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallcuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband, myself and our youngest son (10) stayed in the Main house with another couple. The house was clean and comfortable, we had everything we needed and felt right at home. The sail boat was great as were the paddle boards, canoe and kayaks. We had a spectacular time paddling in the mango trails. We sailed over pulling our kayaks and paddled around all morning, ate lunch on the sail boat then went for a swim, only heading back in for a shower and nice dinner out. Perfect day. The staff was very helpful and always willing to give us ideas. We highly recommend both the accommodations and the trip. Great time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week in Nov 2012 and are planning on a return trip this year, just checking that things haven't changed.
First tip is that if you dont know where it is the entrance is very easy to pass the first time, even where you are beside it, just be careful.
Rooms and facilities are simple, (well AC, TV, fridge and well equipped kitchen sort of simple) and clean.
Walking close (but on the highway) to nice restaurants and I think it was a Walgreens type of store with basics.
Driving close to the fresh fish mart and supermarkets.
Very friendly staff.
Tip. We went to sail but there was a day when there was no wind (so we took canoes out) and a couple of days when there was too much so we had a car and went sight seeing. If you dont have a car its not so simple but there are shuttles up and down the Keys, just takes a little planning.

Room Tip: Heard that rooms closer to the shore are cooler by the breeze but ours (Manatee) was fine with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently rented a sailboat for a week from the Key Lime Sailing Club. The staff was very friendly and helpful and have lots of valuable input to share about the local waters. Capt. Sheldon was available 24-7 for questions and advice throughout the entire trip. It's worth mentioning that every room rental comes with access to their sail boats as well as lots of other aquatic recreational equipment. You can be as adventurous or relaxed as you please. The rooms are nice and the waterfront is right there. Convenient access to many restaurants as well. Great little slice of paradise tucked away on Key Largo, highly recommend checking them out!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Loved this place...we are not "sailors" but we LOVED this place!!! The value you get is exceptional, the owners and managers are amazing!!!! My husband and I are celebrating our 20th anniversary this year. After A LOT of research we finally decided on Key Lime Sailing Club. I am SO HAPPY that we chose this place!!! This is NOT the Hilton!! If you are looking for a turn down bed service and mints on your pillow just KEEP DRIVING!!! We were interested in a true "Florida Key Experience" and this was it!!! We stayed in the Sailfish cottage which is built for two adults and is steps away from the bay. It is a single open floor plan room. It was very peaceful on the grounds of the cottages. You could either stay there and enjoy the activities they offer right there or there are several places to go to in the area. We loved being there and have no complaints!!! I hope to return one day!!!!

Room Tip: Sailfish cottage has an awesome waterview!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,568 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
677 reviews
4.4 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Island Bay Resort
Island Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Tavernier
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages

Address: 99306 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range: $288 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages is located on the Bay side of Key Largo. What makes us unique is our cottage rentals come with a free designated 22' sailboat that you can use for your whole stay, also included is the free use of kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, dinghies, snorkel gear, fishing gear and bicycles. Sail to the Nest Key island and experience the mud bath on the beach, or sail towing your kayak, then kayak through the mangrove jungle into the hidden lake where you will see manatees. Rates starts as low as $175 a night on our low season, each of our uniquely decorated and themed cottages comes in different sizes with king or queen size bed as well as bunk beds, and a duplex which can be converted to 1 big cottage that can sleep up to maximum of 13 people. Please Note: We try to limit each cottage to 2 adults per cottage so if you have larger group, please book early so we can make appropriate accommodations, as we like to keep our place quaint and casual for all to enjoy, we have a total of 9 cozy cottages spread out over 1 1/2 acres of land and a back yard equaling 100's of square miles of islands and waterways to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Lime Sailing Club Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing