We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently rented a sailboat for a week from the Key Lime Sailing Club. The staff was very friendly and helpful and have lots of valuable input to share about the local waters. Capt. Sheldon was available 24-7 for questions and advice throughout the entire trip. It's worth mentioning that every room rental comes with access to their sail boats as well as lots of other aquatic recreational equipment. You can be as adventurous or relaxed as you please. The rooms are nice and the waterfront is right there. Convenient access to many restaurants as well. Great little slice of paradise tucked away on Key Largo, highly recommend checking them out!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    42
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
58
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Loved this place...we are not "sailors" but we LOVED this place!!! The value you get is exceptional, the owners and managers are amazing!!!! My husband and I are celebrating our 20th anniversary this year. After A LOT of research we finally decided on Key Lime Sailing Club. I am SO HAPPY that we chose this place!!! This is NOT the Hilton!! If you are looking for a turn down bed service and mints on your pillow just KEEP DRIVING!!! We were interested in a true "Florida Key Experience" and this was it!!! We stayed in the Sailfish cottage which is built for two adults and is steps away from the bay. It is a single open floor plan room. It was very peaceful on the grounds of the cottages. You could either stay there and enjoy the activities they offer right there or there are several places to go to in the area. We loved being there and have no complaints!!! I hope to return one day!!!!

Room Tip: Sailfish cottage has an awesome waterview!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Friendly staff, they came out to find us at midnight, peaceful place to rest and sail. I would go back again.
Thanks Cody for your help docking. Great sunset sail on Sunday night.
Lots of rec equipment. Made friends with all the other guess. A friendly, down to earth place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just left after our second visit to Key Lime and it was even better this time. This trip we decided to take sailing lessons and learned a tremendous amount from Captain Sheldon making this our best vacation ever. Between the sailing, big variety of kayaks, fishing equipment and other water toys, we couldn't ask for more. Yes, the accommodations are basic but perfect for a home base for sailing. Not a bad drive to Key West day trip. The staff was extremely helpful and Paul even had Cody deliver extra tackle to our boat while we were sailing! Gloria, Ken and Cody helped make our stay a great one...never intrusive but always available. Can't say enough about Captain Sheldon. Highly recommend taking lessons from him. Definitely made this an even better trip than the first time. We are already planning a three-peat!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Key Lime is the best "find" my husband and I have ever stumbled upon. You're as removed from society as you choose... you can plan to never leave the property, but fun attractions are right down the road.
The cottages are rustic but VERY comfortable. We have done both a "honeymoon" trip with just the two of us, and this past trip included our 2 boys (13 and 8) They never wanted to leave the property!
The owners and staff are more than accommodating, and you feel like family from the minute you check in. There is always someone around to help you with water toys, give you advice on attractions or just hang out and tell stories.
KLSC rates include so much: the cottages with kitchen (stocked with fridge, utensils, pots, pans, coffee maker, etc) a sailboat for each day you're there, stand up paddle boards, kayaks, masks/fins/snorkels, sunish, sunset cruises, tiki hut and grills.. the list goes on. We even brought out boat down this time and they had a slip for us at on one of the docks the entire time.

I can not say enough about Key Lime or the amazing people who run it. I appreciate what they do and look forward to coming back year after year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and friends stayed at KLSC for 3 days .and 4 nights. We got there Friday evening April 26 and left around lunchtime of Tuesday April 30, 2013. From the time we got there our experience was beyond great. Excellent staff!! Very accommodating and friendly, The place we stayed was very clean and homey as if I want to live there. The amenities, equipment and activities was way beyond my expectations. The Sunset Sailing Cruise was one of a kind experience , The panoramic view and a photography bonanza was another added bonus of the trip. I intend to share with my friends and colleagues this experience which was Beyond Great! Quoting Gen. MCarthur of WWII fame " I Shall Return" plus with a vengeance!!! Right!

Room Tip: Talk to Mayette. She can handle your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

First, try to find the Key Lime Sailing Club....If you are looking for the location DON'T expect a cute quaint group of Cottages with a old Key West style sign expect to look for a BOAT JUNK YARD and if you come in the dark GOOD LUCK since they move the mailbox in at night with the only address on it. Second, the accomadations WOW what can one say...an outside shower that is so scarey I would not wash my dog in it. Oh and speaking of dogs (I have two service dogs ) the advertisement states DOG FRIENDLY ~ but as soon as we arrived the management asked us to leave with YES licensed by the state insured for 1 million each service dogs. Oh and do not expect a refund after they ask you to leave (Denying a service dog is a Civil Crime of the Federal ADA laws, and a Criminal Crime under Florida State laws. Penalties can be compounded) Yes we had to call our lawyer to stay...CRAZY. A hygiene issue was in the bathroom sign posted stated not to put anything in the toilet to throw it into the waste basket...yes gross. I had to kill many a cock roaches every morning and the A/C unit barely kept the bedroom cool. please have a look at the pictures if you do not believe my words. What we liked best about this Key West Dump was that we could escape by sailing away on one of there 22 ft sailboats.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages

Property: Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages
Address: 99306 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages is located on the Bay side of Key Largo. What makes us unique is our cottage rentals come with a free designated 22' sailboat that you can use for your whole stay, also included is the free use of kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, dinghies, snorkel gear, fishing gear and bicycles. Sail to the Nest Key island and experience the mud bath on the beach, or sail towing your kayak, then kayak through the mangrove jungle into the hidden lake where you will see manatees. Plus we do Sunset Cruises on a 40' Catamaran for our guests once or twice a week at no extra cost! Rates starts as low as $175 a night on our low season, each of our uniquely decorated and themed cottages comes in different sizes with king or queen size bed as well as bunk beds, and a duplex which can be converted to 1 big cottage that can sleep up to maximum of 13 people. Please Note: We try to limit each cottage to 2 adults per cottage so if you have larger group, please book early so we can make appropriate accommodations, as we like to keep our place quaint and casual for all to enjoy, we have a total of 9 cozy cottages spread out over 1 1/2 acres of land and a back yard equaling 100's of square miles of islands and waterways to explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key Lime Sailing Club Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing