We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We very much enjoyed our experience at Key Lime, celebrating our anniversary. The location is great with many tasty restaurants nearby and within driving distance of Key West. The accomodations are comfortable and have a funky charm. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Except for one night when a nearby bar blasted its music, it was very quiet. The other residents were all pleasant and a joy to talk with on the beach and during our sunset sail aboard the catamaran.
The main attraction of this place is the opportunity to sail your own boat. This was wonderful! While the boats are old and could use some cosmetic work, ours was solid and sailed well in a variety of conditions. The staff do a good job of keeping the boats in good mechanical condition. The setting is spectacular! We seldom encountered any power boats out on the water. The view during our sails was beautiful!. On our third day of sailing we had a wonderful encounter with a pod of dolphins!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    42
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
60
83
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Key Lime Sailing Club is a little bit of paradise! It is old Key Largo with quaint cottages, and a lot of ambiance. We stayed in the captains cottage all 3 times and love it! The staff is amazing and lots of fun. Friends joined us for a couple of days and we agreed that we'll all be back next year! As I write this, I'm sitting in front of our cottage overlooking the bay and sail boats on a beautiful warm sunny morning. The only downside is that we have to leave! There is so much to do here. They have water boards, kayaks, canoes and sunfish at our disposal. Last year 5 manatee came to the dock every day so we'd get into the water and play with them! what a cool experience. So we are saying a fond fairwell to the staff and see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Just went to Key Lime Sailing Club for the second time and will definitely be going back again! This time we stayed in the Owners Cottage and it was much bigger and nicer than we expected!

The first bedroom has, what my son was calling a tree house, which is really a small loft and a queen size bed in it. It has a ladder that goes up to it and was so cool my husband wanted to sleep in it and give the kids the master! Ha ha below the loft is a twin bed and enough room where we set up the pack n play for the baby.

The kitchen is huge! The pictures on the website really do no justice for this cottage! It has a front living room with a big screen tv and dvd playing that was nice for my 2yr old to watch finding nemo. We went with 2 other groups and ended up using our cottage for the cooking bbq and there was enough space at the bar, dining table and counter space that all 8 of us had lunch!

The location for our cottage was perfect! We are close to the tiki hut and for those with babies.. the monitor works fine if your sitting at the tiki hut and the baby is napping in the cottage.

Sailing was wonderful..all the boats are in good shape and again we had a wonderful time. The staff is always there when you need them (for anything) and Ken gives you his personal cell phone # just in case you need help parking the boat or whatever.
I honestly don't understand how anyone can leave a negative review for this place. If you look at their website and understand this is a place to relax, sail, and spend time with friends or family (not clubmed) .. You would actually be impressed by the cleanliness, friendliness, and size of the cottages!
Spend the money and have a great vacation! We might even see you there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just returned from a week at Key Lime. Stayed in the Main house with 5 adults. We had such a good time with perfect weather for taking the boat out everyday. The house was clean and had everything we could ask for. The staff at Key Lime are exceptional and so accommodating and helpful. We did the sunset cruise twice while there and it was great. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamer103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am a little late in writing this review ~but here goes...

I stayed at Key Lime in November 2012 and my visit (aside from allergy shenanigans) was everything I hoped it would be! My two gal pals and I stayed in the Jungle cottage (loved that it had it's own private backyard for our late evening drunken cackling) - let me reiterate that we were not there for sailing - although everyone that we met up with told us it was wonderful... I also loved that it was hidden from the main highway - being secluded from the rest of the world was great- the employees came and lit the tiki torches every night so we could see our way back to our cottage at the end of the evening. Everyone we ran into was very nice and helpful and I can't begin to say enough good things about my trip to the Keyes and the Key Lime Sailing Club.

With the exception of going kayaking - I did/saw everything that I planned on doing on this 4 day trip - including observing the manatees that were out frolicking off the end of the docks one evening - we faithfully spent every evening down at the tiki hut (or morning - enjoying the cafe con leche from Denny's latin cafe down the road), the Everglades animal farm / air ride was totally worth the price (use the coupon included in all the brochures too) and driving down to Key West was a beautiful day trip!

Thoroughly enjoyed the blue stone crab across the street at Mrs. Mac's and the the Hogfish dinner at Snook's Bar just north of the location was WONDERFUL!!

Don't waste your time at Shula's about 20 miles south of the location - horrible service - such a disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the best place to go on vacation with, and for, all kinds of people. My husband and I wanted a fun and close getaway that involved boating, relaxing, and our own house with kitchen. After almost a year of searching I found this place.
We have a 2yr old and a 7 month old and this place is very family friendly. We decided to invite my parents from Texas and we rented the main house for Thanksgiving weekend.
1st.. this place is super clean. The people who work there are so nice and really make you feel at home. we got there a little early (before checkin) and they were still cleaning our house. there was an unopened bottle of wine on the counter and the guy said we could have it if we wanted!
2nd..this place is safe. i know after the cleaning cost etc..it can really add up but honestly..it attracts nice people to the property. While we were there we met a man and his wife who owned their own business; a family from Washington who had traveled everywhere; a nice family who lived in Califoria as well as Florida half the year. This place is tucked away from the main road too so you'll never see any random people just walking around.

As far a the property goes..it looks like a junk yard at the entrance by the main road. Thankfully i had read this on a review before we went so I was actually looking for it to know when to turn. dont worry..its not like that once you go under the trees. the property is by far the marriot or hilton so dont expect that. its very 'key west' style with a tiki bar to sit and share a drink with someone. .bbq to have a cook out and boats to sail out and watch the sunset.
i'd say spend the money..take some friends and family..and have a wonderful time.
we are already going again next weekend but with 2 other groups of people!

Room Tip: we got the main house because it has 2 bathrooms and is the biggest for 2 families that want to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a fun and inexpensive place to vacation. I can only speak on behalf of us sailors because that's what we went to Key Lime Sailing Club for. To relax, sail and dine. The cottage we stayed in (The Owners) was clean and had just about everything to make breakfast, lunch and dinner each night. Bedding was nice and clean too. Sailboats (Catalina 22) was very clean and organized. A lot nice than I keep my personal boat. The Captain did a complete walk through of the boat and covered all safety equipment and water hazards. The boat included all maps for navigating the local waters down to Key West. Dining was limited but the places that were all in walking distance had great food. Although most of the places to drink don't have hard liquor. There's a bunch of gheko lizards running around and we saw a huge Iguana. Also, we had a few manatee's come do the docks in the morning and it was really amazing. Tons of fish like striper, stingray and barracuda.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeTheFlyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
958 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,519 reviews
6.9 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
574 reviews
4.4 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages

Property: Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages
Address: 99306 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages is located on the Bay side of Key Largo. What makes us unique is our cottage rentals come with a free designated 22' sailboat that you can use for your whole stay, also included is the free use of kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, dinghies, snorkel gear, fishing gear and bicycles. Sail to the Nest Key island and experience the mud bath on the beach, or sail towing your kayak, then kayak through the mangrove jungle into the hidden lake where you will see manatees. Rates starts as low as $175 a night on our low season, each of our uniquely decorated and themed cottages comes in different sizes with king or queen size bed as well as bunk beds, and a duplex which can be converted to 1 big cottage that can sleep up to maximum of 13 people. Please Note: We try to limit each cottage to 2 adults per cottage so if you have larger group, please book early so we can make appropriate accommodations, as we like to keep our place quaint and casual for all to enjoy, we have a total of 9 cozy cottages spread out over 1 1/2 acres of land and a back yard equaling 100's of square miles of islands and waterways to explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key Lime Sailing Club Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing