We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imperfectly Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Imperfectly Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I just returned from a three night stay (my second). The compound is a little threadbare, but the rooms are comfortable and clean and the prices are reasonable. The staff is fabulous and very helpful and the bayside dock and tiki hut are a true respite from the daily grind. It's a very short drive to everything you need and you can even walk to several bars, restaurants and dive boats from the club. The sail boats are an added bonus. We really enjoyed our afternoon sail around the bay. The place is almost heaven just over one hour from the Miami airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whenareweleaving1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
57
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booking was easy. A little difficult to find even though it's right off highway 1. Just watch for mile marker 100 and then turn into the driven right across from Advance Auto Parts. Cottages are charming. They were clean and more than acceptable but don't expect the Hilton. It's an older place and in my opinion that adds to the charm. Staff greeted us with a smile and we promptly settled in. Staff are attentive but not obtrusive.

Boats appear to be in good condition. We didn't take advantage of the sailing due to the weather but it's my understanding that the cost includes the use of a sailboat after the captain verifies your skills. The captain was a great guy. Obviously sincerely loves what he is doing there with the sailing lessons.

If we don't get lessons before we go back down we will definitely use him on our next trip to Key Largo.

Room Tip: Sailfish gives best view of the bay. Jungle provides most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GusDog2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a great experience at Key Lime. Loved the resort and the great people that we met there. Very layed back atmosphere and relaxing. Enjoyed "our" sailboat and the cute cozy cottage. Staff was very helpful and accomodating. Look forward to returning some day soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JereG8763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from our stay at the Key Lime Sailing Club. Having previously lived in the Keys in Marathon we knew that this place could either be a hidden gem or just be plain bad. Based on the pictures online and the amenities that they provided and the fact they accepted pets we decided to give this place a try. We were not disappointed!
Driving into the place I'm not going to lie, we were a bit scared as they have a lot of "stuff" in front that they are repairing and such, but once we got past that it was as keysie as it gets.
We stayed in the Jungle Cottage for 6 nights with our 2 Shih Tzus. They were super friendly when we arrived providing us with doggie bags to clean up after our dogs and telling us about an upcoming sunset cruise.
We liked that we were not bothered by the staff but they were there if we were in need of something. They were all incredibly friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for a 4 star resort this isn't for you. But if you are looking for a true Florida Keys experience then I highly recommend this place. It is hard to find and truly a hidden gem!

Room Tip: Jungle Cottage is great for privacy as it has a fenced in backyard with a grill and a couple of hamm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Candy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Things could use a little revamping and spiffing up here and there, but it's a great place for divers and families. From a diving perspective the cottages have tile floors so it's easy to just bring in the gear and not worry too much about things, though they could use larger shower areas. The full kitchen is nice and really for us the winner was that we could bring our dog, but truthfully without the dog I'm not positive it would be my first pick. While we don't have kids though, I would think that with kids this would be ideal. The beach area they have made is super cute! Wi-fi wasn't working in our cottage, but full-size kitchen was nice to have.

Overall I think there were pluses and minuses, but for every minus I could find a plu to bump it back up, like free kayaks and sail boats (if you sail) and the fact that you can walk to a handful of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

FABULOUS! This is our second year staying in the Sailfish Cottage! The room was clean and had all the necessary amenities. Once again Paul's staff went out of their way to make our stay a fantastic experience! Kayaking and snorkeling were terrific! My only wish is that the sailing club had an ice machine or sold bags of ice. Ice melts so quickly in the Florida heat that we were buying ice almost every day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msnette12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I hate to be the odd man out, but in my opinion, the reviews I found here are WAY over rated and I just don’t get why. You read the reviews here and you think that this is the greatest place since sliced bread and that is SO NOT True. You read the other reviews and think, “Wow, this is a place I have to go to,” but that isn’t the case either. The place is nice, but nothing to rave about. We’ve lived and traveled all over the world and know better than to expect a lot, especially when a place gets so many positive reviews. Based on the TA reviews, we chose Key Lime Sailing Club to stay. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. You know the saying that if it is too good to be true, then it probably is…. We should have heeded this, but we didn’t. We spent a week here…

First off, the Keys were awesome!! We just wish we had stayed someplace else. There were no bugs or rodents in our cabin- The Dolphin Unit. This cabin was very clean and well maintained, but very small. I’d estimate the size of the Dolphin Unit to be 10 x20. It could accommodate 2 persons max. Anymore in the family and they’d be stepping all over each other. Bathroom had a shower and no tub. There is no privacy to be had, if that is what you’re looking for, and which we were looking for. In fact, before we had made our choice, we had asked Cindy which cabin offered privacy, which is why we chose the Dolphin. The Cabins are rustic duplexes. All the cabins, house and parking sit on about 1 to 2 acres. If you have dogs, there is no real place to walk them and not much space in the cabins for them. The web site says the cabins have cable, but they don’t. And regular TV reception is dependent on the weather. Not that we went for the TV, but it is nice to kick back after a busy day and just veg out sometime. Not everything on the web site is accurate, as it is not updated regularly. Staff was great and very accommodating. However, Caretaker staff and reservation staff don’t seem to talk or share emails. The day we drove down, there was a call to our house back home asking when we were going to arrive. We had sent two emails to Cindy giving her the time of arrival, but Gloria never got them.

There isn’t much of a beach-just a 10ft long sandy area. The Dolphin didn’t face the beach, but was comfortable. If luxury and privacy are what you are looking for, this is not the place for you. Compare this place to the 50’s and 60’s when families traveled to Florida and stayed in the “Florida Tropical Resort.” The place is well kept, but it is old and worn and it shows. It is not a vacation spot resort. Bring bug spray for the many mosquitoes-once you exit the cabin, you have to quickly choose what to do and where to go-car or beach before the bugs swarm you.

For scuba divers and snorkelers this would not be a good base for you. It wasn't for us. If you’re into sailing everyday then this might be place for you. The free boat with the room was a nice touch, but if you don't use it, not so much. I can’t even recommend it for families because the cabins are so small. Overall, the place was okay, but not the place for us when all we was in it for was diving. And it certainly wasn’t a gem or paradise as others have said it was. Sorry, for a difference in opinion, but that is what we thought. Would we recommend this place to others? Sorry, no.

Room Tip: Cabins are small duplexes. Dolphin has no view to beach, but has porch. Bring bug spray for the many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelinSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.4 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages

Property: Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages
Address: 99306 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Sailing Club and Cottages is located on the Bay side of Key Largo. What makes us unique is our cottage rentals come with a free designated 22' sailboat that you can use for your whole stay, also included is the free use of kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, dinghies, snorkel gear, fishing gear and bicycles. Sail to the Nest Key island and experience the mud bath on the beach, or sail towing your kayak, then kayak through the mangrove jungle into the hidden lake where you will see manatees. Plus we do Sunset Cruises on a 40' Catamaran for our guests once or twice a week at no extra cost! Rates starts as low as $175 a night on our low season, each of our uniquely decorated and themed cottages comes in different sizes with king or queen size bed as well as bunk beds, and a duplex which can be converted to 1 big cottage that can sleep up to maximum of 13 people. Please Note: We try to limit each cottage to 2 adults per cottage so if you have larger group, please book early so we can make appropriate accommodations, as we like to keep our place quaint and casual for all to enjoy, we have a total of 9 cozy cottages spread out over 1 1/2 acres of land and a back yard equaling 100's of square miles of islands and waterways to explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key Lime Sailing Club Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing