We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Florida Keys”
Review of Kings Kamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Kamp
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I just returned from a great stay in Key Largo and a wonderful camping experience. We arrived after closing on a Friday and Margaret was so nice to explain where we would be able to go. Actually had a chance to pick our spot from three sites and was right on the water in a shady area with water and electric. We didn't need the electric because of the breeze and the cooler temperature. The bathrooms were a bit of a walk but well worth it, they were simply awesome and well kept with plenty of room. It was a quiet campground and people were there to fish-next time we will spend more than one night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElizabethM_37-45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Although the tent sites we stayed in had no electric or water at our site, they do have tent sites with amenities. Super incredibly nice after hours check-in camp host! She signed us in, no reservations, no questions... just the sweetest lady! A little steeply priced for a tent site with no amenities, $50, but with no place else in the area known to me, didn't really have a choice. Showers and bathrooms, only one each, but felt great! Would stay there again, if I had to do it again! Great for RV camping, plus boat dock and boat ramp available!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank eamai71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last minute trip to the Pink Conch House. Wonderful little cottage and fantastic screened in porch. Very quiet setting. Close to everything. Staff and guests were very friendly and extremely accomodating. Very pleasant experience and would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When I called to make my reservation, they had an extremely laid back attitude (which I appreciate.) However, they didn't ask for my credit card or phone number. In retrospect, I might have realized this could be a problem. They didn't mention that their office closes at 6 PM and is closed on Sunday - outside those hours, there is no way to reach them. So, when our flight from California was delayed 12 hours and we arrived at 8 PM on Saturday night on Key Largo instead of 8 AM, we were out of luck. And since it was President's Day Weekend and the beginning of a vacation week for many, there were no vacancies anywhere on Key Largo - we ended up having to stay on Tavernier, and getting gouged ($199 for motel room.) However, the place we stayed, even though the office was closed when we arrived, had a contact number and the staff member/manager drove over at 9:45 at night to check us in. Seems like a better/smarter way to do business!
I tried calling kingskamp before we left the airport in California, unfortunately their ancient website doesn't have a clickable link to read their phone number (I was browsing their site from my cell phone) and I misdialed the number. (Not that there is any indication they have any way to accomodate people who arrive outside their limited office hours.) However, having arrived late at night for other reservations before, the management always left out a key and directions to the room for us before. Perhaps because they're closed on Sundays, they didn't want to do that for us. But in that case, they ought to always mention to any potential guest making a reservation that they have very limited office hours, and are impossible to reach outside those hours.
I guess that laid back attitude is nice, until you actually need something. If you're not absolutely certain you'll arrive during their business hours (and how could you be - airline delays, traffic, vehicle trouble, illness) then I'd make my reservation somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank busterzdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suncruiser49, Owner at Kings Kamp, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We recently hired a new Manager, Margaret, and assure our Guest this will not happen again.
We are a small family business, thus our office is closed on Sundays and Tuesdays, however, if your arrival is for one of those days, accommodations will be made for you in advance.
We apologize for this inconvenience, but it is impossible for anyone to predict a 12 hour flight delay without advance notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Pink Conch House at Kings Kampground.

It was a beautiful setting. Very restful, stress-free. It was clean, located near good restaurants, Publix is down the road for you to get groceries. There is a outdoor BBQ grill to cook.

Our friend had a boat and we were able to quickly go out water skiing and fishing.

It was a great weekend in the keys and would definitely recommend Kings Kampground.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This campground / resort is a great place. Family owned and operated, RV sites are a great bargain. You basically can't stay anywhere like this in the keys without spending big bucks. I had a friend come down to meet us and spend the night in the hotel rooms. Clean, quiet, and the view says it all!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The park was. Jolt when smaller RVs were the norm. We have a 24 footer and it was a little tight getting in. 95% of the sites have permanent residents. Good news is that we got a spot right on the water. Bad. Was is that we were so tight to our neighbors that we couldn't extend our awning. A little more space would make it worth the $. We will look elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wejinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,571 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,585 reviews
4.3 mi away
Point of View Key Largo RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Riptide RV Park & Motel
Riptide RV Park & Motel
#14 of 20 in Key Largo
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
11.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Kamp

Address: 103620 US 1 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV Park, Tent Camping, 5 Hotel Rooms, 1 Rental RV, Bayfront Cottage ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Kamp Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing