We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Office closes @ 6 PM, closed all day Sunday” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Kamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Kamp
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Office closes @ 6 PM, closed all day Sunday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

When I called to make my reservation, they had an extremely laid back attitude (which I appreciate.) However, they didn't ask for my credit card or phone number. In retrospect, I might have realized this could be a problem. They didn't mention that their office closes at 6 PM and is closed on Sunday - outside those hours, there is no way to reach them. So, when our flight from California was delayed 12 hours and we arrived at 8 PM on Saturday night on Key Largo instead of 8 AM, we were out of luck. And since it was President's Day Weekend and the beginning of a vacation week for many, there were no vacancies anywhere on Key Largo - we ended up having to stay on Tavernier, and getting gouged ($199 for motel room.) However, the place we stayed, even though the office was closed when we arrived, had a contact number and the staff member/manager drove over at 9:45 at night to check us in. Seems like a better/smarter way to do business!
I tried calling kingskamp before we left the airport in California, unfortunately their ancient website doesn't have a clickable link to read their phone number (I was browsing their site from my cell phone) and I misdialed the number. (Not that there is any indication they have any way to accomodate people who arrive outside their limited office hours.) However, having arrived late at night for other reservations before, the management always left out a key and directions to the room for us before. Perhaps because they're closed on Sundays, they didn't want to do that for us. But in that case, they ought to always mention to any potential guest making a reservation that they have very limited office hours, and are impossible to reach outside those hours.
I guess that laid back attitude is nice, until you actually need something. If you're not absolutely certain you'll arrive during their business hours (and how could you be - airline delays, traffic, vehicle trouble, illness) then I'd make my reservation somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterzdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suncruiser49, Owner at Kings Kamp, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We recently hired a new Manager, Margaret, and assure our Guest this will not happen again.
We are a small family business, thus our office is closed on Sundays and Tuesdays, however, if your arrival is for one of those days, accommodations will be made for you in advance.
We apologize for this inconvenience, but it is impossible for anyone to predict a 12 hour flight delay without advance notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Pink Conch House at Kings Kampground.

It was a beautiful setting. Very restful, stress-free. It was clean, located near good restaurants, Publix is down the road for you to get groceries. There is a outdoor BBQ grill to cook.

Our friend had a boat and we were able to quickly go out water skiing and fishing.

It was a great weekend in the keys and would definitely recommend Kings Kampground.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This campground / resort is a great place. Family owned and operated, RV sites are a great bargain. You basically can't stay anywhere like this in the keys without spending big bucks. I had a friend come down to meet us and spend the night in the hotel rooms. Clean, quiet, and the view says it all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The park was. Jolt when smaller RVs were the norm. We have a 24 footer and it was a little tight getting in. 95% of the sites have permanent residents. Good news is that we got a spot right on the water. Bad. Was is that we were so tight to our neighbors that we couldn't extend our awning. A little more space would make it worth the $. We will look elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wejinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We had our family stay in the cottage which was right on the water. It was wonderful to wake up and walk out on the screened in porch and have a cup of coffee and enjoy the sounds of nature. The nighttime sunset was gorgeous and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. What a bonus it was to just walk out onto our boat right in the marina and take it for a spin!!! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissylovesfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

It is not a first class resort, maybe a 2nd class. But it fits our needs nicely. The property is right next to Adams Cut for access to the reefs for diving and fishing. The ramp needs work, but is servicable. We RV, so don't use the bathrooms except to rinse off just before driving home after loading up the RV and boat. The waterfront location is wonderful. This is the Florida Keys. Campgrounds are tight. Sometimes the "Miami" folks stay up late on the weekends. That's why I wear earplugs (wherever I go). For Key Largo, the price is great and the dockage fee is a steal. We come here even when we don't bring the boat! We will be back many times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRideMyOwnHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at an apartment in King's Kamp at the beginning of May 2012. We made arrangements for a late check-in. We were told that the room would be open but no-one would be at the check-in desk. When we got there after mid-night, the room was locked based off the directions we were given. So, we had to get a different room for the night. We came back in the morning and were told that room was given to someone else and that a different apartment door was left open. However, they didn't call or leave us a note(anywhere) on the need to go to a different apartment. The apartment didn't include any kleenex or papertowels so if you plan on staying, make sure bring your own. The showers and laundry room the campground uses were right next to the apartment we rented. They are open 24 hours a day and so we were woken one night when there was a family using the laundry room around mid-night. Also, they don't tell you when you make reservations that there is a 4% surcharge for using credit cards.
I'm giving this an average rating because it fit our needs for having kitchen facilities in the area we needed. If we would have checked in earlier in the day, during normal business hours we could have avoided the situation and with the apartment and would have had time to get cash prior to our commitments, along with papertowels, etc. The loudness after hours however could not be avoided but there are apartments located away from the showers and laundry.

Room Tip: Request an apartment away from the laundry room and showers used by the rest of the campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lfhritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Amoray Dive Resort
Amoray Dive Resort
#3 of 17 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Kamp

Property: Kings Kamp
Address: 103620 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV Park, Tent Camping, 5 Hotel Rooms, 1 Rental RV, Bayfront Cottage ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Kamp Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing