We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riptide RV Park & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riptide RV Park & Motel
sarasota
2 reviews
“great stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We made last minute reservations for motel room for the one night on way down to keys. and Milton(off. mgr.) was very kind and helpful with accommodations. We were skeptical from previous reviews but after arriving we were told there is new owners and Milton's excellent customer service skills proved us wrong. Milton let us park truck and boat trailer in a safe spot over night. He recommended a great local place for dinner and good place to snorkel by state park. The room was clean although bed was not the best quality, for the price the bed was worth the night stay and the kind people who work there, thank you Milton for all your help on our first trip to keys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott1015Sarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, Manager at Riptide RV Park & Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great time at the Riptide RV Resort and Motel.

We hope to see you again in the near future and would like to offer you a discount off your next stay for writing this review about us. Please contact us at 305-289-0011.

Sincerely,

Maria Simon
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    15
    9
    1
    12
See reviews for
15
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We made RV reservations in August 2012 for a stay in February 2013.
Upon arrival, they had a large promotional sign on the counter in the office stating "Good Sam" discounts. I also arrived with a "Carefree" $25.00 coupon.
The manager told me they DO NOT accept any discounts January through March because business is too good!
The Carefree web site advertises both the Good Sam 10% discount and the $25.00 Coupon stating NO BLACKOUT PERIODS.
False advertising.
The sites are difficult to park in, but the staff did assist and residents were friendly.
The park photos don't show the 4 story apartment next door looking down on you.
We asked about booking for a month next year and were discouraged because they want longer term, yet some sites were vacant.
Definitely will not return here or ANY Carefree Park in the future.
Let's see how Carefree's head office handles this when I contact them separately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maineguide38, Office Assistance at Riptide RV Park & Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
During our peak season, all discounts are based upon availability. This is a small park and is usually booked a year in advance for December-April. Please call ahead for reservations and state that you would like a discount at that time. The office will tell you if it can be used.

Our sites are larger that most RV parks in the area. There is room for your RV, vehicle, all your slide-outs and awnings. The staff is more than happy to get you into your site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was probably our worst experiences ever at an RV park. They make the pictures look great when in reality the sites have only a couple feet between them. It's difficult to park. There is ONLY ONE restroom/shower (unisex) for the whole campground. We have a small RV and use it as our daily transportation. Upon return to the RV park after a long day out we were dismayed to find a boat and truck parked in the space for which we had prepaid. Management refused to have the boat and trailer moved and insisted we use another campground run by Carefree which in fact had worse facilities than Riptide...such as NO restroom/shower for the entire campground. A poor overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtcur50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, Manager at Riptide RV Park & Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay at the Riptide RV Resort and Motel.

As of May 2013 the park has been re-staffed and many issues such as parking limitations, bathhouses issues and even boat ramp use have been corrected.

In addition, we have made numerous upgrades to the park to ensure that our guest have the Carefree experience that they expect.

I would love to have a chance to win back your business by offering you a change to try us again at a discounted rate. Please feel free to contact me directly at 305-289-0011.

Sincerely,

Maria Simon
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The riptide is a small RV park. The people that work there are nice and helpful. The spaces are small and difficult to park your rig. Staff does come out and spot you as you attempt to park. I have a 30ft travel trailer. Took three attempts to get into my space. There are a lot of people that are there for the winter. If you have kids they are not the best place for you. they have a boat dock and beach area. It was great for us and our kids, because our kids enjoyed the water/beach area. Overall it was a fun place as our home base to come and go. no complaints. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLARK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, Manager at Riptide RV Park & Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great time at the Riptide RV Resort and Motel.

We hope to see you again in the near future and would like to offer you a discount off your next stay for writing this review about us. Please contact us at 305-289-0011.

Sincerely,

Maria Simon
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Let me say that for the price, the Riptide beats every other motel in the keys! $49/ night in the summer!!! We stayed two nights and even had a $25 off coupon from the Carefree RV Resorts website, which made the stay even more affordable! The room itself had a large queen bed (slightly uncomfortable and worn), a large table/ chairs, a kitchen area with sink, hot plate, microwave, and fridge/ freezer. The only problem we had with the room is that someone with a dog stayed there before us and there was dog hair all over! The staff was extremely helpful in trying to fix the problem, but to no avail. Stan, the manager, also gave us some fishing tips from the dock on the bay, where we caught lots of Mangrove Snapper and even kept a few. YUM! He even gave us some tips to get lobsters from around the dock and offered to help us clean them! For the price, accommodations, and friendly staff, I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for room #4, since not all of the motel rooms were equipped like ours. Also, you could not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldstein2749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, Manager at Riptide RV Park & Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great time at the Riptide RV Resort and Motel.

We newly renovated our rooms in the motel and hope that you will come try us again in the near future.

As a thankyou for writing this review about us we would like to offer you a discount off your next stay. Please contact us at 305-289-0011.

Sincerely,

Maria Simon
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

I've been camping in the Keys of Florida for years, I've been to many different parks and had many mixed emotions. I heard through word of mouth from friends that had been to Riptide Rv camping/motels. I have a camper of my own and made reservations ahead of time for my husband, myself and my two older children to go on our last vaction we could we take for a while. My son has a boat and we were estatic about being able to bring our boat and have my son take us out. Stan the manager took very good care of us, helped us get the boat into the water and helped us park our Rv. (no other site we had ever been to ever offered this assitance to us and considering my husband and I are elderly we greatly appreciated the help of the staff) my first year here and my family had a great time. We surely will be returning to this park hopefully at least one more time. Great beach, great people and had an amazing experience with my husband and family. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RB1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, General Manager at Riptide RV Park & Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys! We are pleased that you had a great time and we hope to see you again in the very near future! Best Regards, Maria Simon, Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popmpano Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for the first time in July 2011 after giving up on another campground. We stayed each weekend in a travel trailer. We are staying for 2 months of weekends this year.
We understood the park to be in transition and from what we have seen, it is transitioning for the better. Carefree resorts took over just before the beginning of our first stay.
The manager was very helpful setting up our trailer as the sites are somewhat tight in places. We had a great view across the dock and gazebo, as well as some nice shade on our site last year. We had reserved a space at the dock for our boat. The first weekend being 4th of July, there were some hassles, a broken down boat took up extra space, etc. However, Stan (manager) worked with us to make up for any problems, even ascertaining that for the rest of our stay our vessel was secure in all weather situations while we were not in residence. Between he and I we found a secure spot for our son's waverunner, which we then made available for his stepson to give his grandkids rides. Our son did the same.
We made up for not having our own boat in the water by asking one of the former residents if he would take our son and his friend fishing with him the next day and we would throw in for gas. 6 am and they were gone!
For the five weekends we were there, we enjoyed nearly every minute of it. From sitting in the gazebo having a beer, to sitting on the little sand in the water area, to taking our own baot and family out. And everyone was helpful and friendly.
We are looking forward to the beginning of our summer Memorial Day weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, General Manager at Riptide RV Park & Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys! We are pleased that you had a great time and we hope to see you again in the very near future! Best Regards, Maria Simon, Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 18 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Reef Resort
Rock Reef Resort
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riptide RV Park & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide RV Park & Motel

Property: Riptide RV Park & Motel
Address: 97680 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2214
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing more relaxing than sitting by the warm waters of Florida Bay and listening to the seagulls while the sun sets magnificently over the bay. We have 37 RV sites and 5 Motel rooms. All sites include water, sewer, electric, cable tv and free wi-fi. We have a beach, boat launch and pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riptide RV Park & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Rv Park And Motel
Riptide Rv Park Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing