We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
SoDak
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was an average Hampton Inn, but the location made the stay pleasant. The beach was small (man-made?) but adequate. There was a manatee hanging out at the beach, getting drinks of fresh water from some guests. As mentioned by other guests, the view of sunset at the hotel beach was awesome. The pool was clean and nicely heated. Our room was poolside, so had very easy access. The lock on the patio door, as mentioned by another guest, was flimsy and the screws were pulling out of the door. The bathroom was pretty small for two people to use, not much counter space. The water pressure in the shower was very poor. Having the refrigerator in the room was great. Could have used more drawer space - 3 smallish drawers not enough for 2 people for a week worth of clothes.

We had visits from a few palmetto bugs - speediest critters I've ever seen, hard to catch and kill. I thought they were cockroaches, called the desk and was told that they were "palmetto bugs", common in the area because of the palmetto trees. Further research bears out that they are indeed cockroaches, so would have to think about whether would want to return because of them.

The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn breakfast fare. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. The location had easy access to many restaurants, shopping, attractions and recreation opportunities. Will definitely return to this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATSgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a nice review, we greatly appreciate you feedback. We recently have had our rooms refurnished and decorated. We are luckily located near many of the area attractions such as John Penne Camp and Dolphin's Cove. Our small beach is for convincing of our guest and we are happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed it! We would love to have you back!!!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manger
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    1,120
    309
    117
    60
See reviews for
1,159
1,698
66
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool. Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

For a Hampton Inn it was a bit expensive, but bearing in mind the position and the fact that it had its own beach, tiny though it was, the cost was understandable. The Tiki Bar in the early evening was very pleasant especially when Mango the parrot was in attendance. Our room on the ground floor overlooked the pool and the sunsets viewed from the beach were breath taking. A smaller room that usual Hampton's but the beds just as comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small.
But then one doesn't spend a great deal of time in the bathroom. The air conditioning made some interesting growls from time to time.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out to leave us such a great review! We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We have great restaurants that are very near to our hotel. If you ever in the area again don’t hesitate to stop by the front desk, we have discount offers for great restaurants in the area. Mango our parrot and the manatees are just a small glimpse of the wonders at our hotel! We do hope to see you back and again thanks for the Feedback!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wpg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is very nice. Tiki bar is good but is closed by about 8:30 or so. Not a big deal as there are a couple other bars close by for a nite cap. The pool though was too warm. Maybe it was because I had just came back form a 40 minute jog but it could have been a little less warm. Not too less though. Book early during peak season as I seen some were turned away as the hotel was full. I thought the room should have a better lock on the patio door. Too easy for someone to force it open.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us this nice review, its greatly appreciated. I’m happy to hear that you have enjoyed yourself at our hotel. Yes our pool is heated and may be a little warm on the hotter days, Depending on how busy the bar is we may have to shut it down a little earlier. The patio door locks are definitely something that will be looked into and reviewed by management, again thanks for your feedback we do appreciate it.

Kindest Regards
Public Service Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stopped here on our way to and from Key West. The location is right on the overseas hwy, but once in the hotel, pool or beach area you do not hear any road noises. The rooms are large, as is the pool. This hotel has its own white sandy beach, small and probably not great for swimming but a great place to sit and relax. The sunset from the beach is as good as Mallory square without the crowd. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. If we aare in this area again we would definately stay at this hotel. Across the street is a great seafood resturant called the fish house encore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out to leave us this review. We do understand that your time is very valuable and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We pride our self on our great customer service; also our great location is the icing on the cake. We do appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you back!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We always enjoy Hampton Inn & Suites, this Key Largo location was no different. Chandra, at the front desk was wonderful taking care of our every need and questions. The room was great as always, but the best was the glorious sunset that I saw from their own private beach. After the first night we went to Key West, but were so impressed with this Hampton that we returned to stay a second night. Unforttunately we arrived too late for the sunset, but enjoyed the stay anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out to leave us such a great review! We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We have great restaurants that are very near to our hotel. If you ever in the area again don’t hesitate to stop by the front desk, we have discount offers for great restaurants in the area. Mango our parrot and the manatees are just a small glimpse of the wonders at our hotel! We do hope to see you back and again thanks for the Feedback!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The front desk employees were so friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing and was ground floor by the beach area and the pool. The breakfast room is spacious with fresh food and great coffee . The employees kept everything clean and had great personalities. It sure seemed like everyone liked working there, which was evident by the friendly smiles and great attitudes. I wish we could've stayed longer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you found joy in staying in our property. We do value your time spent here with us as much as you enjoyed yourself! Our staff is fully equipped with information that you may need to have a blast in the Florida Keys! We would more than love to have you back with us again!

Sincerely,
Kymone Fuller
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford, ct
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked 5 nights at this hotel through Expedia. Because of the snow storm our flight was cancelled and was not able to be rebooked for another 3 days. We decided to cancel out trip.
We cancelled the hotel reservation the day before we were suppose to arrive and was told that there will be no refund- almost $900- because we booked it through Expedia and the payment already went through. Expedia was no help. So we are out the full amount.

This is really bad customer policy on the part of Expedia and Hampton Hill Key Largo.
The lesson here is that don't book through these travel sites.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank walkon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the experience you had while trying to cancel the reservation through a third-party site and apologize for your troubles due to the storm. Please contact us directly so we can discuss your situation in greater detail.

Kind regards,
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
9.9 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,306 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Key Largo

Property: Hampton Inn Key Largo
Address: 102400 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2747 (Formerly Key Largo Resort at Manatee Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Hotel
Key Largo Resort Manatee Bay
Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing