We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Key Largo for two nights on our way to Key West. Check in was fast and easy with a complimentary snack bag given to us for being a Hilton Honors member. We paid extra for the pool view room based on other Tripadvisor reviews. This was definitely NOT worth the extra money as far the first floor was concerned. The patio doors opened directly to the well-traveled walkway that went between the "beach", tiki bar, pool, and the lobby. Noisy swimmers as well as tipsy guests frequent this pathway and the noise woke us up a few times. The walls are very thin and we heard the upstairs guest's TV most of the time. The rooms also do not have an in-room safe so there were times where we felt like we had to travel with or valuables. The "beach" is really some imported large grain sand and although nice for watching the sunset and sunbathing, was prone to insects. The saving grace was the employees were all extremely friendly and the breakfast host was very attentive. We are loyal to the Hampton Inn brand but for the price we paid, we have experienced better accommodations at other Hampton Inns for a lot less. Next time, we will probably look for different Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: If upgrading to a pool view room, try to get the second floor, the first floor is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to leave us such a candid review and we do appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t completely enjoy your stay with us. Being Hilton Honors Members you are delivered snacks and drinks upon arrival. Pool view rooms are a nice choice if you want to get a nice view of the pool and easily access the pool; though down stairs this can be a high traffic area. Our small beach area is very small and man-man the nearest large natural made beach is in Miami or Key West. Sorry you didn’t fully enjoy your stay with us, but we do appreciate your business and we haope you continue staying with the Hilton Brand.

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manger
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,845
    1,090
    300
    115
    60
See reviews for
1,114
1,667
66
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this property and it was very nice, clean good breakfast and great staff. Chandra and Shanquall at the front desk were great to visit with and very helpful with ideas of where to eat and what to do. Christana the GM was great too. We cann't wait to return :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank white7607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave this great review we really do appreciate your time! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed yourselves with us. Breakfast is offered to each and every guest from 6-10am each morning. We are happy that you decided to stay with us and we can’t wait to have you back!!!!


Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel is great, heated pool, small beach adjacent. However, some sand fleas bit me and my friend up while outside for just 10 minutes. The manager was helpful at investigating if it was from the room and did provide some compensation. But I was marked up over a week. Hopefully this was a freak thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtheusa1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, General Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I want to apologize, again for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and I'm glad to know that you are well again and we could help rectify the issue. We work closely with a professional pest control company to rectify any pest situation that might occur and assure you it has been addressed. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to discuss this in further detail.

Sincerely,
Christina Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is very cozy hotel with quiet private beach inhabited by a composed manatee. It has enjoyably warm swimming pool; much appreciated by all kids and many adults. We were delighted by breakfast buffet and possibility to take a cup of coffee during the day. Mrs. Chondra and others behind the reception desk were most helpful in many ways (trip counseling, sending a forgotten bag to Europe :)). Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave this nice review. We do appreciate your feedback and your stay here with us. The staff here guarantees 100 percent satisfaction. Nice friendly faces with great comfort! A laundry facility is provided so each guest can do laundry at ease. We do have our own small beach area and boat dock for the guest to use, we are happy that you chose to stay with us and we would love to have you back!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manger
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this location four nights in January. We selected it because Ham, pton Inns are so reliable and this location was no different. Based on the last review I just saw, I must say that we received no bug bites of any kind nor did those we spoke with.

The hotel is clean. We liked the fact they have a kitchenette with fridge, sink, cupboards, microwave, etc. The hotel must have been recently renovated because it looks brand new in most respects, certainly the entire interior looks new. There is no tub, which doesn't bother me. The shower was good, but not strong pressure; adequate though.

We went to the Publix about a mile from the hotel and only ate out once a day. The breakfast is the standard and tastey Hampden Inn quality. When we did eat out it was at Fish House and Mrs. Macs - both outstanding at a cost of ~$70 for a couple.

As others have said, the staff is very helpful and friendly. They don't need to be tour guides, but they do it very willingly.

I worked out each day at the fitness center which was nice.

As for the wildlife at this place. We really enjoyed it. We saw the manatee and baby each day in the canal; there were several sized iguanas which we enjoyed watching. There were also gray squirrels, lots of fish and tropical white birds. Plus, as others have mentioned, Mango the parrot is there with the bartender.

They say the tiki bar is open 3 - 8, but remember it is island time. Being at the pool each day we saw the bartender and Mango walk in anytime between 3 and 5 p.m. We generally left the area after sunset from the beach - which is beautiful and the bar was still open then.

The pool - warm, clean, sufficiently sized for the guests there. The beach his small, but adquate. This was our first time to the Keys so we quickly learned there are no (or few) natural beaches. Any beaches at hotels are manmade, including this one. Again though, it was adequate with lots of chairs, palm trees and beautiful views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out to leave us such a great review! We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We have great restaurants that are very near to our hotel. If you ever in the area again don’t hesitate to stop by the front desk, we have discount offers for great restaurants in the area. Mango our parrot and the manatees are just a small glimpse of the wonders at our hotel! We do hope to see you back and again thanks for the Feedback!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I love this Hotel! Great staff,clean rooms, wonderful breakfast! The little beach and canal are always full of wildlife. Warm pool for a winter swim. I can't imagine staying any where better!!!
I like to stay near the pool... oh and make sure you catch a sunset!
We also had a local company bring over some paddle boards, FUN !!!

Room Tip: Like the rooms on the pool side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdonohoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank You for taking the tome out to leave us such a great review! We really do appreciate your repeated choice to visit our hotel. The wildlife at our hotel surprises even us sometimes! We thank for your stay and hope to see that you come back and visit us!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff goes out of its way to make you feel like part of the family. The property is ideally located on the bayside of the island with a creek alongside of it that was home to barracuda, a manatee cow and calf and lion fish (!!!) and a small iguana on one bank while we were there! GREAT SUNSETS!!! A very serene setting to which we WILL return!

Room Tip: Pool view rather than garden view gives you a quiet room with a nice balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out to leave us such a SWEET review!!!! All of Our staff is pleased to hear that all of you enjoyed your stay with us! I must say it was truly a blast to have you here! All the wild life and nature that you were able to see is a treat. The Hospitality and the drive of our workers are phenomenal! We appreciate your stay with us! Hope to have you back.

Best Wishes
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
4.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
557 reviews
9.9 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,264 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Key Largo

Property: Hampton Inn Key Largo
Address: 102400 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2747 (Formerly Key Largo Resort at Manatee Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Hotel
Key Largo Resort Manatee Bay
Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing