We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key Largo Inexpensive and Tropical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayside Inn Key Largo
Ranked #15 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Bayside Inn Key Largo. Two night stay over Easter weekend here was thoroughly enjoyed – Key Largo had literally no vacancies, so we had to try this hotel for the first time. We had two rooms on the seccond floor. The rate was much less than other hotels in the area. First impression is very good. Staff on check in /check out was friendly and efficient. Hotel exterior looks inviting, fresh and clean and surrounded by overgrown trees. This property has about 50 rooms in 3-story building. The rooms have no views, except for a two unit suite overlooking the (very small) pool which is right on the beach. (And one unit on the 1st floor with a balcony - although its not private since the stairwell passes directly to the side of its balcony.) However, if you walk from your room to the water you’ll see the hotel is situated directly on the bayside beach, with a first class (unbeatable) view for sunsets. A long sand jetty juts out into the bay making for quiet reading or napping space. Wonderful bayside views here! Serene in the morning to watch the sunrise, the boats at anchor and spot manatees feeding in the bay. Be forewarned there is no shade on the beach or jetty, no umbrellas and not much beach furniture. (The furniture on the beach is very worn.)

The good: The bay view from the beach! The large rooms, cute tropical décor, mini fridge, large flat screen TVs, AC and hot water work great and room seemed clean. Rooms are quiet for a good night sleep and with the shutters closed can be very dark if you like to sleep late. The brand of in room coffee was actually very good. Breakfast was included - its set up in the lobby on a buffet counter. You can eat outside the lobby on the patio where there's a nice grouping of new, contemporary outdoor furniture. Beds were fine. (I never like hotel pillows so will not criticize them for bad pillows.) The hotel lent us four good, oversized beach towels for the day. A 2-minute walk to 3 very good restaurants and Starbucks. Its next to a nice quiet neighborhood for a morning walk. Plenty of free parking, even when they were totally full. If you have a jetski or small boat trailer there is also parking in the back.

The downside: bathroom is small and the tub/shower hardware is old. The non skid bottom on the tub is stained and the shower head is not adjustable at all. The low water pressure (common in island areas) was a problem with this shower, so it was more like a mister. The toilets were very slow “flushes”. The sink drain was broken and not fixed after we reported it. Towels are not bleached white and look unclean. We assumed the hotel was making an effort to go "green" not using bleach. But they need new towels!

This hotel could easily be a four star hotel with new beach furniture and updated bathrooms. For an inexpensive stay, I would definitely stay here again BUT would bring my own linens.

PS: Snooks a very popular bar, located next door, burned down 2 weeks prior to our stay. You should ask if there is any construction noise if staying here in coming months.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aboutmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abesil, Management at Bayside Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2010

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your comments. We have reviewed all your feedback and will be working hard to adjust accordingly. We hope to earn a future opportunity with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

Came here recently with my 2 sons to have fun in the sun in key largo. We were extremely pleased with the Hotel and its staff. Clean rooms, helpful f. desk, and great sunsets on the bay. My sons were well occupied with the kayaks, ping pong and pool. The 42" Plasma helped too! I recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Key Largo - the price is right!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shula77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Only two good things about this hotel is that there is a big screen tv in the rooom and its walking distance to one of two Starbucks in the Keys (other in Key West about 100 miles away). The sheets were old, yellow, stretched out and would not stay on the mattress, the towels were thread bare and worn out. The bathroom is extremely small, noise all night from other guests walking and talking out side...there is NO view, no balconey. The floors are tile (at least they seemed clean)..it was a good sized room but very low end and when you pay the prices they charged I felt ripped off. The desk clerk in the morning was not Miss Congeniality... pass on this one unless you have no alternative. The pool is very small, the beach is even smaller and not inviting to swim...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeyWester061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abesil, Management at Bayside Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2010

We thank you for your recent stay with us and do apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We do work very hard to be a leading Hotel in this market and do hope we can earn a future opportunity to prove so. As a note, all rooms were renovated less than a year ago inclusive of mattress and all linens/towels. Though our standard rooms don't have a balcony - the rooms do have a nice garden view of the native trees indigenous to our destination. Additionally, we do offer rooms with balconies and waterviews (sold exclusively on our website). With regards to price, we certainly offer the most competitive pricing on a consistent basis for hotels in Key Largo. Though our beach area is small - it is clean, it is a natural flowing shoreline for swimming, and very tropical/relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We had to cancel our trip reservation due to a death in our family and the owner of the property would not credit us for the first night stay even though we did not stay with them one night. We even provided the Death Certificate. Would not recommend this property because of the owners lack of compassion. I work for the travel industry and most respected properities and companies would have refunded 100% of the Money.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank 332,676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abesil, Management at Bayside Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2010

On behalf of the entire staff at Bayside Inn, we do extend our regret for your loss. Please understand that we follow a 72-hour cancellation policy (similar to most hotels in this market) which is kept strict due to being a destination market which requires days to replace business. The decision to charge cancellation fees is made overall. We do hope we can earn a future opportunity to host you in 2010.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We reserved this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor. My expectations were in line with "Key Largo" and "non-chain/B&B" places. Still, I was disappointed. The entire hotel is situated perpendicular to the beach so unless you are in an end unit, the view out of the room is of a rainforest and the rundown place next door. The room windows have very dirty Jalousie shutters on them that let almost no light in. One of the shutters in our room was broken in the closed position. The room lighting is extremely dim, so coupled with non-existent ambient lighting, the room was very dark The beds were old and mattresses worn out, but this is more the norm in Key Largo so no markdown for that. The large flat screen TV didn't work. Some kind of problem with the remote so changing channels and volume was a hit or miss affair. The bathroom was the real problem. VERY dirty, so dirty that my daughter didn't want to take a shower "in there". When she did, the shower faucet stuck on so we couldn't turn off the water either from the faucet or the shower. Finally after pounding on it, I got the water turned off. We were only staying two nights and because we were diving, we left early and came home late, it wasn't worth arguing with the management. When we checked in we were given the no smiles, no welcome, give me your credit card checkin service. None of the issues in themselves were deal breakers and as experienced "down low" travelers, our expectiations aren't all that high... but taken all together, the experience was regretable. We are traveling down to Key Largo in the summer with 30 people as a part of a SCUBA club trip. We've taken this hotel off the list of "recommended" places.

Positives.....
Centrally located in walking distance to great restaurants
Bayside Grille, DJ's DIner and Sushi Nama, and Upper Crust Pizza are FABULOUS places to eat.
Cost is reasonable , but better cheaper places are available.

Negatives....
Dirty, dark, in need of repair, unfriendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warriordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abesil, Management at Bayside Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2010

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we do apologize for not meeting all your expectations during your visit to Key Largo. We work very hard to provide a flawless experience and do hope we can earn a future opportunity to leave you with an improved perspective of our Hotel and Key Largo. Worth noting is that we do offer direct bayview rooms (upgraded price) which can be bought directly on our website. Additionally, all rooms were renovated less than a year ago inclusive of replacement of all mattresses and appliances. We certainly recognize the importance of repeat and future business and encourage you to contact us directly so we may have an opportunity of working with you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This hotel was great. The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. The hotel rooms were great and clean. There is a great view of the gulf.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yig08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I have stayed at Bayside Inn Key Largo during Spring Break 2010.

1st night I was bitten by some bugs but did not realize that it was the bugs in the room. The 2nd night its's gotten really bad. I am covered with bug bites on my hands, feet and neck. And the bites are really really bad. Could not report it right away because i left at 3 am the next morning. I called them just now. They say it is not the bed bugs but it may be flea, as if it would make it any better.

A picture of my hand is included here.

They apologize but say there is nothing they can do now.

Don't stay there unless you want to be bitten by bugs and get an apology in return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank commenttwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
0.1 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn Key Largo

Address: 99490 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2460
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $143 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside Inn Key largo is located on a beautiful stretch of the Florida Bay in the heart of Key Largo. We offer some of the Keys most stunning sunsets from our private beach overlooking the beautiful Florida Bay. Bayside Inn Key Largo Florida is near the dolphin swim, fishing charters, boating, kayaking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, bedfinder AG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayside Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing