We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayside Inn combines old Florida with Key Largo beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayside Inn Key Largo
Ranked #15 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spending our last days and night in Key Largo, we partnered with the Florida Keys & Key West CVB (on a media trip/vacation) with them arranging our stay at the Bayside Inn. I'd never been and hadn't heard of it prior, but was pleasantly surprised by what we found.

It reminded me of my previous stay in Key Largo, 15 years ago, and the home I rent for a few weeks. That "old Florida" charm with an older setting, combined with Largo's classic old school restful beauty, and a homy feel.

We were given one of two "Suites" overlooking the water. The main building is a traditional hotel look and feel, but I cannot speak to the rooms, while ours was an apartment like setting with a living room area with additional bed able to be pulled down for more sleeping. There is a dining area and small kitchen. Additionally, a bedroom, bathroom and porch overlooking the pool and Florida Bay. A wonderful setting for sunsets and dinner.

Set near John Pennicamp, Diver's Direct and all of Key Largo's offerings, you're in an ideal setting for getting the most of your vacation. There is shopping right nearby for in-room cooking, plus restaurants you can either eat at or do as we did, bring back to the room and eat on the porch overlooking the water. We were even entertained by the next door bar as the singer was decent, but we particularly enjoyed "Key Largo" as we ate. The music ends at an early enough hour, but we were stunned at how little we could hear it in the suite.

This is an ideal location to settle in for a longer stay and feel like you've got a home base. Or for an overnight to just enjoy a little old school Florida. Many of those staying appeared to be outdoorsy, a main stay here in Key Largo, so diving, fishing and the like are popular with those staying.

I think what blew us away was the bed, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel room. I slept comfortably and soundly.

We will certainly look at Bayside Inn for any future visits, but having stayed in the suite, I think we'd try to make that our room of choice as it was ideal.

Room Tip: There are regular hotel room type rooms which I'm assuming are lower cost. You might want to che...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoriTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
There are newer reviews for Bayside Inn Key Largo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very accommodating. Liked the magager Adrian. Good location. Regular room was very good. Suite had a great view of the pool and the ocean, but lots of things needed repair: hair dryer, lamp in bedroom, mold in bathroom, dirty dust ruffle on bed in bedroom. Murphy bed was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionne_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We did not expect the Bayside Inn to be a 5-star property, so we were not disappointed! Our room was clean and comfortable- nice King bed, AC, big TV, refrigerator, microwave, and good water pressure. Although there was no view, we were close enough to the water. The "beach" and pool areas were a bit disappointing, but we did enjoy "hanging out" on the dock, watching the fish, listening to the music (and the sunset horn) next door at Snook's, and watching the beautiful sunset! The "continental breakfast" was available, and offered cereal, toast, small pastries, coffee and juice for the guests- nothing grand, but sufficient. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Bayside Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMTandJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My recent trip I encountered bed bugs and when the front desk was notified they said I must have brought them with me. I have multiple bites all over my body from the beds which did not appear until after we checked in. I will not suggest this hotel for my enemies as even they don't deserve the pain and discomfort I have endured especially for this price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kmchavez82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abesil, General Manager at Bayside Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

This posting is using a serious U.S. epidemic falsely which can be determintal to a Hotel's success. Falsely accusing a hotel to carry bed bugs is a serious matter. No such case has been reported to this hotel and no official records are on file.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My advice is to find another hotel. This one is old and shows it. Rooms dark, dingy and beds uncomfortable. The beach is an abandoned boat ramp. Rude desk/reservations personnel to boot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

On behalf of the entire staff at Bayside Inn, we do apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. We continue striving to be a leading independent mid-range hotel and have become quite popular over the last 3 years. The hotel had a full renovation in early 2009 which included replacement of furnishings and appliances. To clarify, the beach is not a dock and is actually a private beach area with sand and direct access to the water. Many times consumers are seeking a long strand of beach when they travel to our destination. The Florida Keys does not offer large strands of beaches other than a couple of state/county areas such as Anne's Beach and Bahia Honda State Park. We do hope readers of this consider such when searching for a beach in the Florida Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Don't believe the pix on the website. Checked into the dingy lobby when crack! Power outage. Which was probably a good thing because it silenced the thunder of the swamp cooler. Also don't count on sleeping in (who could? Who would want to?) because there's nothing but lacy gauze curtains on the window. Peering out the window at the filthy slats and cobwebs was horrifying. Like I said, right out of Psycho. Chelsea who checked us in could not have been more charming. But I couldn't shake the feeling "Mother" was somewhere in a rocking chair.

Room Tip: Get one anywhere but at this motel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Please note that over 4 miles of Key Largo lost power on the night in question due to a fatal car accident in the city. At the moment of impact, the Hotel notified local officials and the problem was rectified within 90 minutes of occurence. All photos on the website were taken with a simple digital camera and have not been altered in any way. We encourage any shoppers to contact us if they'd like to receive more pictures as we are always honest in our offering. To clarify the window comment, all rooms offer windows with views of landscaping (behind the hotel) and all windows have decorative curtains. All windows then have shutter blinds to close for those seeking more privacy/darkness. We do hope readers of this will consider a city power outage as something that is out of the control of the hotel.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The website of this property advertises a "new, state-of-the-art fitness center."I cannot recall ever seeing a hotel fitness center as pathetic as this one – it had three old machines that were rusted, one of which was broken altogether, they were in a room with no televisions, nothing whatsoever on the walls, no air conditioning running, and two giant dirty linen containers stored in the room.

Our room had a few newer pieces of furniture in it and the beds were comfortable. However, their website talked about the hotel having been recently renovated and remodeled – and in fact, our room was far from that. There was chipped paint on the walls, mold in the bathroom and on the doors, dead bugs on the walls, and substantial dirt buildup in the corners of the room, rust on many of the surfaces, etc. It was not worth anywhere near what we paid for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EGangloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

On behalf of Bayside Inn, we apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. The fitness center is a free service to all hotel guests and consists of 4 pieces of equipment. All rooms were renovated in early 2009 inclusive of new furnishings and appliances. We do hope to earn a future opportunity with you to re-prove our product as we continue being a leading mid-range hotel in Key Largo.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
0.1 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Key West Inn - Key Largo
Key West Inn - Key Largo
#18 of 20 in Key Largo
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn Key Largo

Address: 99490 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2460
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $93 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside Inn Key largo is located on a beautiful stretch of the Florida Bay in the heart of Key Largo. We offer some of the Keys most stunning sunsets from our private beach overlooking the beautiful Florida Bay. Bayside Inn Key Largo Florida is near the dolphin swim, fishing charters, boating, kayaking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayside Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing